Gulf Shores Golf Club

4.5714823529 4.6 stars from 5 (344)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6856 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

  • 520 Clubhouse Dr, Gulf Shores, Alabama 36547, Baldwin County
  • (251) 968-7366
  • www.gulfshoresgolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 1967
Architect(s): Earl Stone, Jay Morrish (2005), Carter Morrish (2005)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Traditional
Greens: Bermuda Mini Verde
Fairways: Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6856 yards 72.9 127
Blue 71 6410 yards 70.7 121
White 71 6006 yards 68.8 119
Teal 71 5420 yards 66.0 114
Teal (W) 71 5420 yards 71.3 121
Red 71 4822 yards 63.3 107
Red (W) 71 4822 yards 67.9 114

The 18-hole Gulf Shores Golf Club (formerly known as Golf Club of The Wharf) in Gulf Shores, Alabama is a public golf course that opened in 1967. Designed by Earl Stone, the previously named Gulf Shores Golf Club went in 2005 through a renovation that lengthened the course by 300 yards. Gulf Shores Golf Club plays for 6,812 yards from the championship tees and has a slope rating of 110 and a 70.2 USGA rating. The course features 4 sets of tees for different skill levels.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 344 Reviews
5 stars:
215
4 stars:
113
3 stars:
11
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

335 out of 344 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers plays long   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good value"


blondtornado's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had fun playing here again. There should be instructions on the website how to get there since there is new development built near by and gps will take everybody to the other side of the golf course. Staff was friendly and greens were ok for this time of the year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


Tbagolf's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape aside from the bunkers that weren’t raked. Staff was very friendly as well. The lady starter asked if I had played here before and I had not, so she gave me a yardage book to use. Would return for another round


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Impressed"


u000007437448's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Plenty of room to spray it around a little, large greens, water on a lot of holes, but no worries. Played the whites, it was a fun course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Too many other options in the area...."


bgkslk's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I booked online and when I walked in the pro shop, I wasn't greeted by the friendliest of people. After asking my tee time, the man quickly told me how packed they were, the range was closed, it was cart path only and there probably wouldn't be a beverage cart. The course took on a little rain, but no more than the two courses I played the day before...but the range is closed and it's cart path only?? Were they trying to keep me from paying to play? The marshals on the course came by several times and asked about pace of play, but never helped to speed the round up. The course was in great shape, which is the only reason this review warrants three stars. With all the courses to play (Craft Farms, Peninsula, Soldier Creek, Kiva Dunes) all in the same area, these guys better step their game up. Maybe they don't need the public's money since they do have members, but if that's the case, become private. Don't turn off the guests that want to give you more money than your course is worth to play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Track"


Kent4681198's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Weather was an issue. Cart path only and extremely soft. But it’s weather no control. This track is a real diamond in the ruff. No pun intended. :))


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u2869278's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Track"


Kent4681198's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent condition even with the green being punched.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Must Play in Gulf Shores"


FranMulhall's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent shape. Nice practice range and chipping and putting green. All the staff were professional, friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u3842072's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in best shape of any in our area! Excellent deal.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great lay out"


bda2334's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this course. It is challenging but very fair. Check before you hit a shot, water is on a lot of holes but not always visible. Greens were punched 2 weeks ago but still roled smooth


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very Nice Course"


hasnider's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I actually played both 5/23 and 5/24. This was my first time here and I was delighted with both rounds. The weather was hot and humid as usual this time of year and the course had experienced a lot of rain in the previous days but held up well. The greens had been aerated around a week before but I was aware of that when I booked the times. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Make sure you get one of the course guides as there is water throughout the course and it can't always be seen. Great course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Disappointing"


lazakhack's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like this track. Good layout and typically in good shape. I was willing to take a chance on the greens being recently punched because they offered a reduced rate that I thought I was getting on golfnow. When we arrived the two people behind the counter charged the regular rate and basically said take it or leave it. Very unfriendly. Since we drove a long way and I like the course I shrugged it off and hoped for the best. The greens were in fact pretty bad - not even close to being back to normal. But even worse than that was the condition of the bunkers. We had a fairly early tee time and it was obvious the traps had not been raked that morning. Footprints, divots, even gator tracks on pretty much every hole. And the sand in the fairway bunkers is so soft and deep, there’s no hope for a decent lie. I honestly don’t know if I’ll be back, but I get the impression they don’t care.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Course had been punched & sanded, putting was difficul"


u917890318's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best coy for money at all times except when greens are being worked.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



rbruhnjr's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course in great condition. The Club Sandwich from their grill was one of the best I have ever had. They use a very special bacon that they are very proud of.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"5–22-18"


u917890318's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens had been punched & sanded,,so putting was difficult.still good course & we knew about greens in advance .,perfired Gulf Shores.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great folks. Nice track"


u00000995179's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff. Course in great shape. Fast greens. Going back tomorrow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Wayne2133's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was perfect. Fairways and Tee boxes in great shape greens were punched a few weeks ago and just about back to perfection. Sand traps in great shape.The course is very well maintained The staff .at the course could not have been any better. This is one of the best courses in the area for the money. I liked it so much I had to play a second round the next day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Has nice layout"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Has a nice layout the people are friendly and make u feel welcomed

George Hughes


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000001768836's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time I played this course this week. Pace of play was outstanding! Teed off just before 8 and was done by 11:30. Course is in great shape and the greens are fast and true. Worth playing if you get a chance.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



stevewdavis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First Time"


DonnLH's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played course twice while on vacation. Enjoyed it quite a bit.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed