Gulf Shores Golf Club

4.5795058824 4.6 stars from 5 (363)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6856 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

  • 520 Clubhouse Dr, Gulf Shores, Alabama 36547, Baldwin County
  • (251) 968-7366
  • www.gulfshoresgolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 1967
Architect(s): Earl Stone, Jay Morrish (2005), Carter Morrish (2005)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Traditional
Greens: Bermuda Mini Verde
Fairways: Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6856 yards 72.9 127
Blue 71 6410 yards 70.7 121
White 71 6006 yards 68.8 119
Teal 71 5420 yards 66.0 114
Teal (W) 71 5420 yards 71.3 121
Red 71 4822 yards 63.3 107
Red (W) 71 4822 yards 67.9 114

The 18-hole Gulf Shores Golf Club (formerly known as Golf Club of The Wharf) in Gulf Shores, Alabama is a public golf course that opened in 1967. Designed by Earl Stone, the previously named Gulf Shores Golf Club went in 2005 through a renovation that lengthened the course by 300 yards. Gulf Shores Golf Club plays for 6,812 yards from the championship tees and has a slope rating of 110 and a 70.2 USGA rating. The course features 4 sets of tees for different skill levels.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 363 Reviews
5 stars:
230
4 stars:
116
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

354 out of 363 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers plays long   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great folks. Nice track"


u00000995179's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff. Course in great shape. Fast greens. Going back tomorrow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"4” of rain 2 days before."


Matt6538777's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart path only but was to be expected. Range was closed which was a downer but understandable. Course had taken water well considering the amount just a few day before. Conditions were great, found no bare areas. Pace was rather slow but as a single and being paired with another group of 3 was no issue. Great guys to play with. Being a 2-3 hcp and my group and the 2 groups ahead were not very skilled. Leading to a 4:30 round. Wish courses could pair based on skill level.

I will return as always to this course. One the the few gulf coast courses that has a more southern feel with more tree lined fairways and hole shape from the tee box.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome course."


u644053799's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Coming from a 2-4 handicap, this course plays longer than the score Card says. Most shots require 1.5 more club. Greens were in perfect condition. Will play again next year


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Ron9321938's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


jcoope29's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a beautiful course that anyone will enjoy. Just watch out for the crows. They flew off with my snickers. Other than that, everything was great!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Vacation jewel"


bilderback's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is great course. , excellent layout ,friendly staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Another great round!!"


uXAUA9085XA's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A must play if in Gulf Shores!! Just a true hidden Gem!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



jmorvant's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u913366462's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great layout and condition."


raybark1952's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall exellence, staff very friendly and I recommend all those in the area to enjoy this course. Marshall Harry was awesome and made us feel very welcome.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Ltdmagic"


Ltdmagic's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course! Longer than card says. Gnats are so bad!!! But fun course!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice golf course"


uQRVY6483QR's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's a nice golf course to play when you in this area, like any other golf course it's a car path only when the rain poured buckets. I would play this golf course again and will recommend to other golfers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very Nice Course"


Kirkd22's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course several times over the last few years while here on vacation. Always in nice shape. Greens firm & fast. Fairways lush and soft, mostly from several days of rain, but not too soggy. Will always play here when I visit gulf shores.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Loved this course"


u00000113607's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This course was recommended by some members we met last year. The course is in excellent shape and the staff was just as nice and helpful. The squirrels were a pleasant surprise. Hence the course mascot. A great value and we will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good course,"


u917890318's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Need more water for drinking,when heat index is upper 90 to over 100 .safty issue.first time I have ever had a complaint.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice track"


u2235985's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course several times when in Gulf Shores. It is a somewhat overpriced but has a great location in the middle of town. We had a very early tee time so pace of play was not an issue. Greens had been aerified and were still healing so they were a bit bumpy and were slow. The course is challenging and has some good holes. Be sure and take your bug spray when you play any course in the Gulf Shore area. Those pesky gnats will drive you crazy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great outing."


SIWolfe's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kind staff. Accomidating on tee times. Cold water on course and great grass conditions. Played at our own unpressed pace for 99% of the day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


byutiger49's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was in great shape, fairways, greens, traps. Nice mix of straight fairways, dog legs, and par threes. If I lived near enough, I would be a member. Only negative was a six-some that the marshal failed to break up that slowed play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A must play!!"


uXAUA9085XA's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lived in the area for almost 3 years now. This was the first time to play this course, boy oh boy....what took me so long!?!?!? Will play here again soon!! I might have just found a new favorite in the area!! Treat yourself.....GO PLAY


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


Tbagolf's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape aside from the bunkers that weren’t raked. Staff was very friendly as well. The lady starter asked if I had played here before and I had not, so she gave me a yardage book to use. Would return for another round


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed