Hilton Head National Golf Club

4.5831117647 4.6 stars from 5 (734)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6730 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6730 yards 72.8 133
Blue 71 6160 yards 70.0 126
White 71 5628 yards 67.3 118
Red (W) 71 4682 yards 66.4 112

Sprawling across 300 acres of lush, Carolina Lowcountry, Hilton Head National Golf Club has gained a reputation as being one of the area's best public courses. The course was a collaboration between Gary Player and Bobby Weed, who each designed a nine. Weed designed the front nine with the intention of creating a complement to the Player-designed back nine rather than making them too similar. He included larger greens with more dramatic undulations. The signature hole is the tricky sixth, which features the largest lake on the golf course bordering its entire right side and deep pot bunkers along the greensides. The back nine has many challenging holes as well, including the course's number one handicap hole, the par-5 seventh. It is the ninth that might be Hilton Head National's toughest though, with a deep marsh along the right side of a narrow fairway.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 734 Reviews
5 stars:
444
4 stars:
247
3 stars:
30
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

708 out of 732 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"HH Nat day"


johnsgolf1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions very good and greens pretty fast but fair. Staff there is very friendly & accomodative . we had a tee time but we were delayed and they gave an adjusted later tee time to accommodate us. Good value for the money but they do want You to move fast, suggesting our foursome should finish in 4 hrs and when you are running behind you get a warning on the GPS on the cart. The GPS provided on the cart is something that similar priced courses in the HH area do not provide and is very nice. THe course has some nice features and some challenging holes and the grass just off the fairway(Brillo. Pad like grass that some pros call " I'll. Kill ya"). The latter allows the ball to drop to the bottom and it is hard to find( sometimes you need to step on it to find it) much less hit it. You need to stay on the fairway!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/20/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great facility"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course layout was fun. Challenging but not overwhelming. Greens and fairways in great shape. Friendly staff. Course was empty for twilight round at 4pm. Worth the $65


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"HH National"


u000004227215's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playief HH National 20 years ago and decided to go back to see if it was as good as I remembered. It is and continues to be a favorite on HH island. Highly recommend it. Will definitely play again when in this area. Good condition. Great layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


skscha31's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was in good condition. Greens were all free of disease & brown spots. The grass in the fairways had come back & balls were rolling well. It’s a pretty straightforward course with few water hazards & not too many bunkers. Bunkers were in good condition.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great time. Loved the course layout"


Pradke1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens and fairway were in awesome shape. I will be back to play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/17/2018:

Hi Pradke1, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the great feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Things have changed at HHN"


Charles9423207's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always in good shape. This week it was in the best shape I can remember in the past 4 years. Awesome Course, Awesome Greens. The greens are crowned and are very difficult but in perfect condition. My only complaint? $110 because of the time of year.

In the past I have criticized this course for the attitude of the people that work there. I believe I said they thought they were the Pebble Beach of HIlton Head. Well they have heard the complaints and fixed the problem. Everyone in the pro shop and on the course was super friendly and treated the golfers with respect.

We played 6 courses in 3 days and this was my personal favorite. HIghly recommended.

If you can schedule for the afternoon you can get a decent price for the round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/17/2018:

Hi Charles9423207, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and appreciate the kind comments about our staff and conditions. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Not overly impressed"


hacksalot03's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Layout and scenery are nice and like the course ambiance and character. Also like that there are no homes around, but feel the conditions of the course don't warrant what they're charging for green fees. If you can get a discounted tee time, I'd play the track again, but wouldn't pay regular rate.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/17/2018:

Hi hacksalot03, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about the course's ambiance and character and are happy to hear you enjoyed your round. If you'd like to stay up to date on any specials we're running, follow us on Facebook and subscribe to our email database here: http://www.hiltonheadnational.com/e-club. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


uQJIA6501QJ's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/12/2018:

Hello, thanks for the great feedback! We appreciate the 5-star review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National and we hope to see you again soon.


Mark4723892's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/11/2018:

Hi Mark4723892, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"A Great Value Proposition."


U0000012208660's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed everything about the course, from being greeted promptly and cheerfully by the bag attendant, pace of greens,and solid course layout. Firm conditions allow you to step. Ack a set of tees if you want to challenge get yourself a bit more. Tips are only 6700, so not to long. Anywhere between 20-40% less than courses on Hilton Head proper.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/09/2018:

Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and appreciate your great feedback! We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


RobynBates's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/10/2018:

Hi RobynBates, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your round with us wasn't 5-stars. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


u986086273's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/09/2018:

Hello, we appreciate the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


LiLJDawg's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/09/2018:

Hi LiLJDawg, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Always enjoyable"


u100060719's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When my friends come to town, they always want to play this course. Really nice layout, and always great condition. Staff is very professional and helpful. A real nice variety of holes. Very fair for all levels.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/09/2018:

Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you're able to enjoy our course with your friends! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


Judith918's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/09/2018:

Hi Judith918, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about your round and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National


mckeoghw's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/06/2018:

Hi mckeoghw, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear your round with us was 5-stars and hope to see you again for another one soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


u000006132303's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 04/04/2018:

Thanks for the 5-star review! We're appreciate your feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Not a ranger friendly course"


u00000564671's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our round would have been much more enjoyable if the rangers hadn’t tried to PUSH us through our round. There was one group behind us at least 1 1/2 holes behind so we didn’t know why we were being pushed. The ranger even asked that we split our foursome into two groups so we would play faster. We refused. We were 12 minutes behind an unreasonably 2 hr time limit when two of the par 4 holes were cart path only. When we finished nine the ranger told us there was a nine hole group going off behind us and we should let them go through. So the reason we were pushed was to let the nine hole group play faster. They never did catch up so the constant bullying was unnecessary.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Must Play on HHI"


u000004040382's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the best conditioned " a;; access" course in the HHI area. Unless you want to pay $200 or more in Sea Pines, this is the one that gives you the same quality greens and course conditioning, especially in March.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 03/28/2018:

Hello, thanks for the kind words and great review! We appreciate your feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Another enjoyable visit"


Golfer727272's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Have come to Hilton Head in each of the last four years and always include Hilton Head National as a must play.

Again in 2018 - Always a Treat.

Greens were true and in special shape for March.

These folks put money into Maintenance and it's so appreciated.

Heard a dirty rumour the property has been sold and a real estate project is on the horizon.

Please tell me the horizon is a long way in the future.

Do yourself a favour and enjoy Hilton Head National before it's too late.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 03/22/2018:

Hi Golfer727272, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the time to leave us a review and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Staff Harrasment"


gridiron32's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Ranger harassed my group (4 foursomes) at least 6 times even though we were at the heels of the group ahead of us. he didn't even know what our starting time was, and when he found out, he did not let up, but continued to bother us. Will never play there again. we have played Hilton Head yearly for 28 years, and have never been treated this badly - there or any other course. They are trying to rezone the course to residential development which explains the rudeness of the entire staff.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed