Hilton Head National Golf Club

4.6097823529 4.6 stars from 5 (696)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6730 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6730 yards 72.8 133
Blue 71 6160 yards 70.0 126
White 71 5628 yards 67.3 118
Red (W) 71 4682 yards 66.4 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 696 Reviews
5 stars:
421
4 stars:
239
3 stars:
27
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

676 out of 694 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Consistently great"


u072750340's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course is in constant great condition. Would highly recommend course to anyone. Best value for golf on the island


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/30/2017:

We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!

"Friendly staff and nice conditions"


u209010833's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape, especially for February. Staff was friendly as well. Golf carts had GPS which helped keep pace of play fast. Gnats/‘No see ‘ems’ were bad; recommend taking some bug spray... would have been nice if course had put some towels in the carts like other courses in area. Will definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Dos Lagos Golf Course on 02/22/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and appreciate your feedback about putting towels in our carts. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Dos Lagos Golf Course.

"Fun course"


u000003674578's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wide fairways in good condition, very nice greens and very fair and fun course for average players!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head Natioanl on 02/22/2018:

Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!


mschmalhurst's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 02/20/2018:

Thanks for the 5-star review, mschmalhurst! We appreciate your feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again for another round soon at #HiltonHeadNational!


Tom101515's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course, very good facilities. It was a good value and we will return again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 02/12/2018:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Tom101515! We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!


u5609908's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice public course in fantastic shape! Greens were around 10-11 on stimp and rolled well! Green complexs were tough with several false fronts. Would definitely play again!


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/31/2018:

We appreciate the kind words and great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!

"Excellent"


Brucebraun's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I always enjoy this course. Course is challenging and Staff are great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/30/2018:

Thanks for the great review, Brucebraun! We appreciate your kind words - your feedback is very important to us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Greens in good shape."


petegreenmt's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in good shape. Green and roll

well. The rest of the course is yellow of course during winter. Not bad considering the price and the pace of play was great. Friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/30/2018:

We appreciate the kind words and great review, petegreenmt. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the conditions of our greens, the pace of play and the experience with our staff. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Much improved"


RUFJR's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played this course frequently this summer, but not in about 4 months. Stumbled on this Hot Deal and jumped on it. They course is in outstanding condition -- and was a joy to play. Greens were medium speed as they have been overseeded -- but not too slow. Ball rolled true...fairways rough were in solid winter shape. Bunkers have been improved since the summer...

This is not the hardest course -- wide fairways make driving easier...but it is a fun course and green complexes can be challenging. We had a wonderful afternoon of winter golf...with a temp of about 73.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/25/2018:

Thanks for the great review, RUFJR! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great Course"


Allendr06's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Love the layout of Hilton Head National. In the area, it's my favorite daily fee public course. Other courses may have more scenery or better amenities, but from a hole-by-hole design perspective, it's a great layout. Condition of the course is always good. If you're in the area, it's definitely worth the effort to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 02/14/2018:

Hi Allendr06, we appreciate the great review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!

"Very good golf course"


u000005180930's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played by myself on a very cold day, so course not crowded. Plenty of challenges but not overly hard. Many very attractive holes. Nice staff. Recommended !!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/17/2018:

Thanks for the kind words and great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round, despite the cold weather. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Great course, cold weather made it empty"


pauldbarnhart's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was pretty chilly and Breezy so I pretty much had the course to myself. Conditions of the course were very good for January, and of course layout is nice. Although shot placement in Club selection is important, this course doesn't provide an overly punishing set of Hazards if you aren't on your best game. Greens were in fantastic condition, rolled true and fast.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/16/2018:

We appreciate the great review, pauldbarnhart! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Pleasure to play"


u3920051's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played Hilton Head National many times over the years and have NEVER been disappointed. Always a pleasure!

Joe V


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/16/2018:

Thanks for the great review, Joe! We appreciate the kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed another round with us. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


craigmiddleton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/16/2018:

Thanks for the great review, craigmiddleton! We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for choosing Hilton Head National!


LamarM's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/12/2018:

Thanks for the great review, LamarM! We appreciate your feedback about our course conditions. Our staff has been working hard to preserve the course with the recent winter weather. We hope to see you again soon once the weather warms up! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/03/2018:

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again for another round at Hilton Head National.

"An honest test of golf"


barttennis's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The National is an honest test of golf. It’s a very fair course an kept in excellent condition. The greens ran well and true good speed on them. Recommend it to anyone we were the only ones on our nine they started us on the tenth so we flew round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/03/2018:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed your round. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National and we hope to see you again soon!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/03/2018:

Thanks for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


Sergei7890704's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/27/2017:

We appreciate the 5-star review, Sergei7890704 and hope to see you again soon at Hilton Head National. Thanks for playing!


u000006908226's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/20/2017:

We appreciate the 5-star review! Come back and see us again soon at Hilton Head National.

"Great course"


Brucebraun's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For December the course is in great shape. So many challenging shots await. And not lined with condos. Course isn't long but requires good shotmaking to score well. Greens are great, sand traps need attention.

I got a hole in one at 13 here last February. After that round I asked in the pro shop if they had any trinkets or a little paper to complete to commemorate the feat. The answer was no, but I could buy a plaque. I've had the privilege of several aces in 50 years of golfing, all at different courses. Each course did something or had something, from a 1/2 sheet of paper with the course logo that the pro shop attendant completed, a call to the local paper, and/or a complimentary green fee. I just would be a nice touch for such a nice course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/18/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Brucebraun. We're happy to hear about your hole in one last February and appreciate your feedback about our course. We hope to see you again soon at Hilton Head National. Thanks for playing!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed