Old South Golf Links

4.3812882353 4.4 stars from 5 (770)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6772 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

  • 50 Buckingham Plantation Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • 1 (800) 275-8997, (843) 785-5353
  • (843) 837-7375
  • www.oldsouthgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No cutoffs, gym or jogging shorts, bathing suits, tank tops, halter or tube tops, tee shirts and blue jeans or any other denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6772 yards 72.7 138
Blue 72 6354 yards 70.4 132
White 72 5779 yards 68.6 116
Red (W) 71 4776 yards 68.2 117

The 18-hole Old South Golf Links in Bluffton, S.C. is a public course that opened in 1991. Designed by Clyde Johnston, Old South Golf Links measures 6,772 yards from the longest tees and has a slope rating of 129 and a 72.4 USGA rating. The course features four sets of tees for different skill levels.

Johnston designed Old South Golf Links in keeping with the beautiful Lowcountry's natural landscape. "Old South Golf Links was designed not only to provide an enjoyable yet challenging golf game, but also to preserve the natural beauty of the land," he said. "I felt that this was an opportunity to allow the golfer to experience up close the uniqueness of the site, its natural amenities and spectacular views."

The variety of the setting from oak forest to open pasture to tidal salt marsh, provided an opportunity to vary the design elements and strategy of play.

Old South Golf Links is open to the public seven days a week. There is a clubhouse, restaurant and full-line pro shop on site.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 770 Reviews
5 stars:
346
4 stars:
350
3 stars:
55
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

735 out of 766 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include water hazards forced carries bunkers   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Beautiful Course"


Brandon2002's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the most scenic courses I have played in the Hilton Head area. It was in great shape and I had my best round of the year. My only complaint is minor. There should be a little more info for first time players since the double carry dog leg holes #7 & #16.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your round with us today. There are Markers for each hole showing the layout and any water hazards that you may encounter. Depending on what tees you played you may have missed it. Now you know the dog legs for future visits and we hope you will come back soon.


ernieh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Vary happy with course. Staff overly friendly. Will play again. Layout good. Condition very good..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Cardfan1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for the money. Have played the course each time I come to Hilton Head. Greens were in excellent condition, but fairways could have been better. A couple of tricky holes on the front side present challenge to the mid handicapper.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"One of my area favorites"


Ursula1869757's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in excellent shape. Beautiful fairway grass. Very few areas where grass is slim. Greens are in great shape

There is quite a bit of marsh to get over on some holes but not bad for the ladies! Could be challenging for higher handicapped men.

We played 3 different courses this trip and by far Old South has the most exceptional staff.

This course never disappoints me.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/17/2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your day of golf at Old South and appreciate the 5-star review. Please tell your friends and be sure to play again soon!


"Course in great condition"


joezak's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very hard course to play for somebody with a 23 handicap lots of marsh to hit over.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2018

We appreciate the 4 star review. The marshes are a challenge but only on a couple of holes.



u7517298's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

Thanks for your 4-star review. We hope to see you again.


"Unique layout, well maintained"


u000008196084's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friend and I really enjoyed this course. The layout was very unique. On a few holes I wish I could have seen the landing area before I hit my tee shot (get a free yardage book from the cart guys and follow the suggestions)

The course was well maintained and strikingly beautiful.

This course just got added to my must play when I’m in Hilton Head list


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We are glad you enjoyed your first round at Old South and hope to see again and again. We appreciate the 5-star review.



Digger01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

Thanks for the 4-star review.


"Staff was best we encountered"


zchris90's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

This was our first stop of four and the staff at OS was by far the friendliest. Everyone we encountered was great. The course was very unique with some beautiful holes framed by the marsh. Our only complaint was the green speeds. They were very slow compared to the other courses we played. They did roll true but were just extremely slow. This being said I would definitely play again due to the layout and the staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We love to be known as the friendliest staff in HH. Thanks for your review and your business. Please be sure to come back!


"Old South was soild"


Nolffie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played Old South multiple times during my trips to Hilton Head and the course was in pretty good shape. The greens were slower than what I'm usually accustomed to but over all it is a great layout and great course for the money you have shell at Hilton Head


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We really need some consistent warm weather to get the course in prime condition. Thanks for being a repeat customer and for your continued support.


"Old South Repeats Itself"


sparty1894's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Another excellent experience on Old South. Conditions were not quite at the level they have been in the past but that may be due to weather.

Course layout is fun and has some interesting holes. (Target golf at times.)

Staff is helpful and friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We appreciate the 5-star review and do all we can to make the experience at Old South excellent for all who play. Come back again soon!


"Good Course Conditions and Good Value"


u000007566181's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played here a half-dozen or so times over the last few years. Good layout, conditions and value, especially in comparison to courses on the Island.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/04/2018

We appreciate your positive feed-back. A quick trip over the bridge to Old South is well worth the short drive.


"Course not being kept up"


paulmacdonell's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I think the owners are giving up on the course because the climbing real estate value means this property will be houses in a year or two. Too bad because it was always a course I would take visitors to show them good golf in the lowlands.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/03/2018

The structure of our ownership is very unique and although the course next door wants to a real estate development the chances of that happening at Old South are SLIM to NONE. Old South Golf Links will continue to be a beautiful, fun golf course.


"2nd round"


u000005752441's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly attitude and good conditions for the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/02/2018

We appreciate your 5 star review. Yesterday was a perfect day to enjoy golf and the friendly staff at Old South Golf Links. We hope to see you again.



smurfitt's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Old South Golf Links on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review!


BryantWithrow's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 03/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review!

"challenging design"


u7928556's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is not long or narrow, but the course proved a challenge for a 17 handicap. Fairways and greens in great shape and overall the place was a good value for the money. Would play there again without question


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/28/2018

We are glad you enjoyed your day of golf at Old South and hope to see you again.



u000005752441's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 03/27/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review! Please come back and see us again soon.

"Old southern charm"


Charles9423207's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is very unique and has a whole southern feel. It is a wonderful course Tucktaway just hoping that island. Easy to get to the office super friendly and course layout is very special. Would highly recommend this. You can play with a Hot Deal if you wait until two days before you want to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2018

Old South is unique and fun to play. Thanks for your 5 star review and be sure to play again soon!



Gene9831929's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/26/2018

We appreciate your 5-star review.



u000005320841's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time I played this course. Loved it!

People who worked there could not have been more accomadating or helpful! Will definitely play again when in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/26/2018

We appreciate the 5 star review and hope to see you again in the near future!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed