Old South Golf Links

4.3803470588 4.4 stars from 5 (777)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6772 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

  • 50 Buckingham Plantation Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • 1 (800) 275-8997, (843) 785-5353
  • (843) 837-7375
  • www.oldsouthgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No cutoffs, gym or jogging shorts, bathing suits, tank tops, halter or tube tops, tee shirts and blue jeans or any other denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6772 yards 72.7 138
Blue 72 6354 yards 70.4 132
White 72 5779 yards 68.6 116
Red (W) 71 4776 yards 68.2 117

The 18-hole Old South Golf Links in Bluffton, S.C. is a public course that opened in 1991. Designed by Clyde Johnston, Old South Golf Links measures 6,772 yards from the longest tees and has a slope rating of 129 and a 72.4 USGA rating. The course features four sets of tees for different skill levels.

Johnston designed Old South Golf Links in keeping with the beautiful Lowcountry's natural landscape. "Old South Golf Links was designed not only to provide an enjoyable yet challenging golf game, but also to preserve the natural beauty of the land," he said. "I felt that this was an opportunity to allow the golfer to experience up close the uniqueness of the site, its natural amenities and spectacular views."

The variety of the setting from oak forest to open pasture to tidal salt marsh, provided an opportunity to vary the design elements and strategy of play.

Old South Golf Links is open to the public seven days a week. There is a clubhouse, restaurant and full-line pro shop on site.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 777 Reviews
5 stars:
349
4 stars:
354
3 stars:
55
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

742 out of 773 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include water hazards forced carries bunkers   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Beautiful Course"


weekend1014's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Old South has a beautiful scenic layout especially the 16th hole! Course was in great shape although the greens were a little slow! Will fed play again!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

The sixteenth hole is spectacular...especially at high tide. We hope you become one of our many "regulars".


"Fun Track"


u00000570239's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course to play. My first time so they gave me a yardage book when I checked in which was helpful. We we're also smartly paired with another twosome who had played before and that really helped. Loved the greens which held and rolled true. White tees get the most play and it showed on a few where it was hard to find a level spot with grass though it was fine. Bunkers were inconsistent so don't hit in them is the advice I would give to myself. Staff was great!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/24/2018

Old South is fun and friendly! We are glad you enjoyed your day. Tee boxes are on the agenda for some repairs and bunkers are maintained with new sand regularly. We hope you play again and appreciate the 4-star review.


"Good course with challenging holes"


tracyeds's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a nice time playing this course. Got off early and played with two out of town guys who were wonderful to have his partners. Each hole presented a challenge with lots of marsh to go over, greens were rolling wonderful and fairways were decent. A few holes were true dog legs that made you think on the shot to take. Would definitely play again. Oh and there was wind! Lots of it the day we played!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/24/2018

We're glad you enjoyed your day at Old South and appreciate the 5-star review. The breeze usually kicks up in the afternoon because we are along the intra-coastal waterway. We hope you get to play again.


"Fun and forgiving"


bhudgin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great place to play if you have a group with varying handicaps.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/23/2018

Our 5 sets of tees gives everyone an opportunity to enjoy the course according to their skill level. Thanks for your review and we hope you return for another round.


"Avid Golfer"


u709617289's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Conditions good, greens ok. Incredibly slow pace. Played the round in 5 hours and 30 minutes. Rangers did nothing. Dissapointed.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/23/2018

We have had some incredibly busy days but pace of play should have been better. We appreciate the 4-star review and hope to see you again.



ernieh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Vary happy with course. Staff overly friendly. Will play again. Layout good. Condition very good..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/23/2018

Thanks for your 5-star review. We try our best to offer great conditions and friendly staff. We hope to see you again!



Cardfan1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for the money. Have played the course each time I come to Hilton Head. Greens were in excellent condition, but fairways could have been better. A couple of tricky holes on the front side present challenge to the mid handicapper.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/23/2018

We appreciate your review and are glad you play each time you visit Hilton Head.


"Great experience off Island"


u000005922407's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

very fair course, greens a little slow but run true. It is for all handicaps, my girlfriend and I really enjoyed out experience. We would play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/25/2018

We appreciate your 4-star review. Old South is a fair test with 5 sets of tees so everyone can enjoy their day. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


"Very Enjoyable"


Darrell52's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We always start on this course and finish 6 rounds later on the last day of our stay. Great driving range with chipping and putting. Best breakfast around to begin your morning.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of my area favorites"


Ursula1869757's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in excellent shape. Beautiful fairway grass. Very few areas where grass is slim. Greens are in great shape

There is quite a bit of marsh to get over on some holes but not bad for the ladies! Could be challenging for higher handicapped men.

We played 3 different courses this trip and by far Old South has the most exceptional staff.

This course never disappoints me.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/17/2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your day of golf at Old South and appreciate the 5-star review. Please tell your friends and be sure to play again soon!


"Gotta play Old South"


Dascoman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was advised by a local to check out Old South. Sure glad we did. Might have been the best course out of 9 rounds that we played in Hilton Head. Beautiful course and scenery. Go play Old South!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course in great condition"


joezak's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very hard course to play for somebody with a 23 handicap lots of marsh to hit over.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2018

We appreciate the 4 star review. The marshes are a challenge but only on a couple of holes.



u7517298's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

Thanks for your 4-star review. We hope to see you again.


"Unique layout, well maintained"


u000008196084's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friend and I really enjoyed this course. The layout was very unique. On a few holes I wish I could have seen the landing area before I hit my tee shot (get a free yardage book from the cart guys and follow the suggestions)

The course was well maintained and strikingly beautiful.

This course just got added to my must play when I’m in Hilton Head list


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We are glad you enjoyed your first round at Old South and hope to see again and again. We appreciate the 5-star review.



Digger01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

Thanks for the 4-star review.


"Staff was best we encountered"


zchris90's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

This was our first stop of four and the staff at OS was by far the friendliest. Everyone we encountered was great. The course was very unique with some beautiful holes framed by the marsh. Our only complaint was the green speeds. They were very slow compared to the other courses we played. They did roll true but were just extremely slow. This being said I would definitely play again due to the layout and the staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We love to be known as the friendliest staff in HH. Thanks for your review and your business. Please be sure to come back!


"Old South was soild"


Nolffie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played Old South multiple times during my trips to Hilton Head and the course was in pretty good shape. The greens were slower than what I'm usually accustomed to but over all it is a great layout and great course for the money you have shell at Hilton Head


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We really need some consistent warm weather to get the course in prime condition. Thanks for being a repeat customer and for your continued support.


"Old South Repeats Itself"


sparty1894's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Another excellent experience on Old South. Conditions were not quite at the level they have been in the past but that may be due to weather.

Course layout is fun and has some interesting holes. (Target golf at times.)

Staff is helpful and friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/10/2018

We appreciate the 5-star review and do all we can to make the experience at Old South excellent for all who play. Come back again soon!


"Good Course Conditions and Good Value"


u000007566181's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played here a half-dozen or so times over the last few years. Good layout, conditions and value, especially in comparison to courses on the Island.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/04/2018

We appreciate your positive feed-back. A quick trip over the bridge to Old South is well worth the short drive.


"Course not being kept up"


paulmacdonell's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I think the owners are giving up on the course because the climbing real estate value means this property will be houses in a year or two. Too bad because it was always a course I would take visitors to show them good golf in the lowlands.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/03/2018

The structure of our ownership is very unique and although the course next door wants to a real estate development the chances of that happening at Old South are SLIM to NONE. Old South Golf Links will continue to be a beautiful, fun golf course.


"2nd round"


u000005752441's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly attitude and good conditions for the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/02/2018

We appreciate your 5 star review. Yesterday was a perfect day to enjoy golf and the friendly staff at Old South Golf Links. We hope to see you again.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed