Old South Golf Links

4.3363764706 4.3 stars from 5 (721)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6772 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

  • 50 Buckingham Plantation Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • 1 (800) 275-8997, (843) 785-5353
  • (843) 837-7375
  • www.oldsouthgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No cutoffs, gym or jogging shorts, bathing suits, tank tops, halter or tube tops, tee shirts and blue jeans or any other denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6772 yards 72.7 138
Blue 72 6354 yards 70.4 132
White 72 5779 yards 68.6 116
Red (W) 71 4776 yards 68.2 117

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 721 Reviews
5 stars:
317
4 stars:
333
3 stars:
53
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

687 out of 717 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include water hazards forced carries bunkers   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

yungr1's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 11/20/2017:

Thank you for the 5 Star review! We appreciate you coming out to see us.

"Great day of golf."


u000003542461's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was is good shape but the greens were slow despite very being ver green. Back nine was much slower than front nine. Bar closes by about 5 pm but the lady was very nice to stay and get us a cold one. Lots of noseeum bugs biting when closest to the water/marsh on both front and back nine. Overall fun course to,play for under $40.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice course, but greens somewhat inconsistent"


u185939687's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good shape. Pace of play was pretty good for a busy Friday. The greens were in good shape, but somewhat inconsistent because of the time of year, they were letting the greens grow in so some were fast while others were very slow. You really had to look at the grain closely to tell how the putts were going to roll. I think the greens keeper will get this straightened out in the next couple of weeks.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/19/2018

We appreciate your thoughts and yes...the greens will get more consistent now that the weather is more consistently warmer. Please be sure to play again soon.


"Old South was an excellent course named well. It was definitely in the Old South atmospheric"


u313691079's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Will play it again. & Again. A course that was challenging but not that it beats you up. Had fun


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/19/2018

Old South is a fun course and we are glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the 5 star review!



jpride44's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 02/21/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review!


Bcampb00's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/19/2018

Thanks for the 4 star review!



u520401744's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/19/2018

We are glad you played and enjoyed your day. We hope to see you again.


"Beautifully Challenging"


jpride44's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a beautiful and very challenging several holes require shorter finesse shots on 90 degree dog-legs. All at a great price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 02/21/2018:

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you were able to work on your short game shots, the course definitely has some trick holes. Thank you for the review, please come back and see us again in the near future.


Gene9831929's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 02/13/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review! Please come back and see us again soon.

"Very nice course"


u000004962696's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very decent shape considering it was February and their winter was bad this year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 02/21/2018:

Thank you for you review, we did receive several inches of snow this year which is out of the norm for our area. We appreciate you patience during the winter and hope to see you again once the weather warms up. Thanks for coming out!

"Very good golf course for the money"


u000001746115's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well maintained -- good greens -- a couple tricky holes -- some marsh views -- water and sand to challenge you. Dependable off island golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/12/2018

Thanks for your 4 star review. The Old South layout offers lots of variety, great conditions and a friendly staff. We hope you play again.


"good course for the cost"


cs123456789's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course with some challenging holes along the intercoastal waterway. The course can play difficult according to the tee box you choose.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 02/09/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review! Thank you for coming out and giving us a try, so glad you enjoyed all of our scenic holes!


JackDclark's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Old south was a very enjoyable play. The layout was unique and challenging with a nice variety of holes. The greens were good and true but it is hard to give 5stars in the winter when airways are all dormant. Similarly I did not use other amenities so did not rate them.. value for the money was outstanding through Golf Now. I would clearly play here again even at a more expensive price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 02/13/2018:

Thank you for the excellent review, we are so glad you enjoyed your day with us during our winter dormant season. The grill room is excellent! Breakfast and Lunch served for most of the day, check it out on your next visit!

"Old South – fun to play – great course"


DavidBertschi's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Compared to other courses we played in the last few weeks, old South was in great shape for winter conditions. The tee boxes and greens were far better than the other courses we played on the island or near Bluffton. The staff are always friendly. Great value for the money paid.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/29/2018

Thanks for the great review and for letting others know Old South is in great condition. We hope to see you again soon!


Commented on 01/29/2018

Thanks for the five star review! We are glad you enjoyed your day at Old South and hope to see you again.


"Excellent Course"


ajprietz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Old South is an excellent golf course with a great staff. We are visiting the area for the first time and this is the third course we’ve played. We like Old South the best of all so far. We will definitely play here again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 01/25/2018:

Thank you for the awesome review! We love being your favorite golf course so far in the Hilton Head area. We appreciate you coming out to see us and hope to have you a few more times before you leave.

"Wet and windy,but in great shape"


jerrybuck's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always like playing this course when in the area,lot's of wind the day I played,makes it a lot more of a challenging,greens where in good shape considering the weather they have had,price was good on golf now.will play again in a few days.staff was friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 01/18/2018:

Thank you for the awesome review! We appreciate the great feedback and apologize if mother nature did not cooperate on the day you played. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and we hope to see you again in the near future.

"Greens, although a bit slow, were in excellent condition."


Honorman's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens could not be cut shorter because of weather conditions and risk of loss. The course was in very good condition and very playable even though it was off-season, January. The staff was very friendly and very amenable. I will try to play this course again during my current visit to this area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/16/2018

We appreciate your great review and hope you let your friends know about Old South. We look forward to having you play here again.



Dalehines's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/16/2018

Thanks for your five star review!


"Nice course . Some interesting holes"


RSchutsky's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My second time here. Fairways brown like most down here this winter. Greens are fine. A couple of tricky holes with long carries over marsh areas. Plenty of water hazards. Pretty and interesting course


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/05/2018

Thanks for your great review and your continued patronage. We hope to see you back again soon.


"Greens rolled great"


Dennidc's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been playing old south during the winter for approximately 10 years and this is as good as I have seen the greens roll. They are usually a bit on the slower side but they had a really nice pace for my first round there this winter. I always bring friends who come to visit from PA to play here it is one of the more interesting layouts in the area. Good challenge from the tips even though it's not very long I love that I get to hit nearly every club in my bag.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/05/2018

We appreciate the 5 star review and hope to see you again soon.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed