Boulder Oaks Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
315
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
137
3 Stars
54
2 Stars
26
1 Stars
19
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.3
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.6
84.9%
Recommend this course
261 out of 315 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.5
32
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.4
Value
4.0
Layout
3.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.1
81.2%
Recommend this course
26 out of 32 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
87
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
7
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.3
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.3
86.2%
Recommend this course
75 out of 87 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 70
Length 6162 yards
Slope 116
Rating 67.3
Book a Tee Time at
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6162 yards 67.3 116
Blue 70 5124 yards 64.5 110
White 70 4584 yards 62.0 103
Red (W) 70 3936 yards 59.4 96
Scorecard for Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 68.3/118 W: 73.0/127 409 163 316 239 304 173 318 400 173 2495 525 469 602 218 441 159 620 322 311 3667 6162
Blue M: 65.5/112 W: 69.8/121 327 129 241 127 266 157 270 350 140 2007 414 413 501 184 409 140 492 296 268 3117 5124
White M: 62.7/105 W: 66.1/112 294 103 206 119 257 144 237 302 97 1759 381 373 495 147 370 125 451 250 233 2825 4584
Red M: 60.1/97 W: 62.3/99 257 82 179 91 186 123 205 269 91 1483 342 334 423 112 341 116 371 214 200 2453 3936
Handicap 2 18 10 6 12 14 8 4 16 5 11 1 9 7 17 3 15 13
Par 4 3 4 3 4 3 4 4 3 32 5 5 5 3 4 3 5 4 4 38 70
Handicap (W) 1 13 3 15 5 7 11 9 17 12 16 10 14 8 4 18 2 6

Course Details

Year Built 1965
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tom Sanderson (1965) Dave Fleming (2016)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $15
Clubs Yes - $30/set
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2016 #6)

Reviews

3.8
315

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 12
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 22
Bunkers 20
Narrow Fairways 19
This course/club is great for:
Locals 27
Seniors 17
Beginners 12
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 14
Convenient to the City 9
In the 'Burbs 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-02-15T13:37:48.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to see that you had a great round of golf at Boulder Oaks Golf Club. Thanks for stopping by, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

They were closed today

I booked my tee time (a hot deal) on Sunday, but was concerned that they might have cart path restrictions because of all the rain, so I called early this morning to check on it. The guy who answered the phone gruffly told me they were closed. Didn’t offer any explanation. Since they were closed, I cancelled my hot deal expecting to not be charged but the charge is still showing as pending on my VISA card.

Friendliness Poor
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-02-05T19:59:39.000+00:00

Hi Rex, we are sorry to hear that you did not get to play that day. We checked with GolfNow and they confirmed that you were issued a refund, but that it will take 3-5 business days to show up on your bank statement. We hope this helps!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Best Bang for the buck !!!

The gentelmen at the front desk was a funny and very helpful. The course was in great shape. Just give it a few weeks once its stops raining , the greens where in good shape. Better then some of the JC resorts !

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-02-04T13:54:50.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are thrilled that you had a pleasant experience with our staff. Thanks for stopping by, and we'll see you out there!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Winter Fairways

Course is fun & challenging! Lot of blind tee shots & slopes on fairways & greens. I was lucky today, as I played with someone who knew the course & made suggestions as to where to hit the ball. They could use a rye grass overseed during the winter as there was an abundance of cover & weeds growing on the fairways. All-in-all, I love to play this course because of the challenges & the staff help is great as well!

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-02-04T13:50:06.000+00:00

Hi, thank you so much for the four-star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our layout. We appreciate your feedback, and we can't wait to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Cold Winter Morning

Started off at 6:45. Frost on th eground. Starter was a good sport being out so early. Pace of play was great. 2.5 hour round before work. Shorter course since we played from the whites for speed. Lots of fun if you don't take yourself too seriously.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-25T13:54:47.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our layout and had a fun time out there. We'll see you on the tee box! #boulderoaksgolf

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very Poor Conditions, Nice Layout Though

This course is sadly not great. The staff members were essentially non existent, and the front desk guy didn't seem to care much about anyone's experience. The golf course was in horrendous condition. The greens were very inconsistent, the fairways were not well maintained, the bunkers are unplayable, and the course is just a dirt patch everywhere you go. There are not really any cart paths you drive on, its mostly dirt paths. I will say that the layout is a nice design, but that's the only good thing I can say about the course. Not a course to play in the winter, due to their horrible drainage system. So while the design is good, the conditions make this course almost unplayable, and not worth the money. Very sad!!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-14T16:30:51.000+00:00

Hi, we are so sorry that you did not have a good time out there the other day. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope that you will come back again soon to give it another try.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course has nice layout

Bunkers are in need of improvement as are tee boxes.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
BoulderOaks
Commented On 2019-01-11T16:53:45.000+00:00

Thank you for the four stars. we are glad to hear your comment about improvement of our golf course. Bunkers are working on next project on the list.

Please come back and enjoy!!!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-11T13:28:05.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We appreciate your feedback regarding the bunkers and hope that you had a great round out there. We'll see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-10T17:04:20.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to see that you had a good time at Boulder Oaks Golf Club. We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good time...

the course was in good shape today. they had a frost warning early in the morning which delayed a good portion of the afternoon tee-times but still pace-of-play was okay. will definitely come back and play another round soon

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-10T16:59:58.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are glad that you had a good time out there the other day. Come back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love the course-need a Marshall!

It was a beautiful day, a little chilly, the course was in great shape, staff was very friendly, even drove a cart to our car. Pace of play was burtal because of the foursome ahead of us! We desperately needed a Marshall, no Marshall to be found!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-10T16:34:56.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four-star review! We are glad that you found our course in great shape and had a friendly experience with our staff. Sorry to hear about the pace of play. We do our best to monitor it. We'll see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Early Morning Round

Great little course if you are looking for something not too difficult but still fun to play. If you tee off from the whites it takes about 5 strokes off your average since it is a shorter course. Course was in good condition and early morning had a great pace of play.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2019-01-10T16:39:34.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience with us the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Up with the roosters

I was curious how it would go because my tee time was before sunrise. Had to wait a few minutes to pair up with someone because they were going to be busy. That worked out because there was more light by then. Had a blast. Greens were good. Pace was awesome

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2018-12-27T16:16:08.000+00:00

Hi, thank you for the five stars! We are so glad that you had a great round of golf at Boulder Oaks Golf Club the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we'll see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Boulder Oaks Golf Club
Commented On 2018-12-26T21:41:19.000+00:00

Hi Joe, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to see that you had a good time at Boulder Oaks Golf Club the other day. We'll see you out there!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Another beautiful day

Uncrowded. Greens have been punched a few days ago and are not terrific. Rest of course no problem.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Boulder Oaks Golf Club on 11/30/2018:
Hi, thank you for the four stars! We are glad that you had a good time for the most part. We appreciate your feedback.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from Boulder Oaks Golf Club on 11/30/2018:
Hi, thank you for the three stars. We hope that you had a good time out there. Come back and see us again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Boulder Oaks Golf Club on 11/30/2018:
Hi, thank you for the three stars. We hope that you had a good time out there. Come back again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Still a poor course

Tried this course again... not any better. Course conditions fair to poor with lousy greens and patchy fairways. This is a glorified executive course with little challenge, other than oddities and poorly placed bunkers. Don't waste your time until they decide hope to manage their course and it's layout. No matter what the price!!

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Boulder Oaks Golf Club on 11/30/2018:
Hi John, we are sorry to hear that you had another bad experience here. Our course is different from a lot of the other ones, making it quirky. But, we appreciate your feedback.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Rough greens

The course is in fair shape. The greens were real bumpy. They punched the recently so thats understandable. Overall it's a fun course to play. Nothing fancy, just a fun course.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from Boulder Oaks Golf Club on 11/30/2018:
Hi Steve, thank you for the three stars. We are glad that you enjoyed the course layout. Thank you for the feedback regarding the greens. We hope that you'll be back soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Boulder Oaks Golf Club on 11/09/2018:
Hi, thanks for the four-star review! We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly. Come back again soon!
Nearby Courses
Escondido, California
4.0352941176
62
Escondido, California
4.1148352941
103
Escondido, California
2.8399529412
539
San Marcos, California
3.4847411765
155
Valley Center, California
3.7911294118
311
Vista, California
4.0
1
Vista, California
3.5882352941
3
Fallbrook, California
0.0
0
Lake San Marcos, California
3.7752588235
327
Escondido, California
3.5075705882
590
San Marcos, California
4.4626294118
243

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE