Ko'olau Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
239
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
85
3 Stars
49
2 Stars
27
1 Stars
30
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.3
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.4
67.8%
Recommend this course
167 out of 239 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.7
17
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.4
Value
3.8
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.6
76.5%
Recommend this course
13 out of 17 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.4
41
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.5
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.5
70.7%
Recommend this course
29 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7310
Slope 153
Rating 78.2
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Ko'olau Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7310 yards 78.2 153
Gold 72 6797 yards 75.4 150
Blue 72 6406 yards 73.7 141
White (W) 72 5735 yards 75.2 144
White 72 5735 yards 70.5 131
Red 72 5102 yards 72.3 129
Scorecard for Koolau Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 78.2/153 593 410 442 193 433 435 586 210 411 3713 426 530 364 209 421 373 567 231 476 3597 7310
Gold M: 75.4/150 567 381 416 161 399 410 554 183 380 3451 390 518 339 176 390 338 544 203 448 3346 6797
Blue M: 73.7/141 534 351 390 145 382 385 543 168 357 3255 376 508 310 159 365 312 511 178 432 3151 6406
White M: 70.5/131 W: 75.2/144 460 351 390 145 382 385 392 168 301 2974 376 417 310 159 214 312 511 178 284 2761 5735
Red W: 72.3/129 460 305 327 104 309 329 392 141 301 2668 321 417 267 101 214 232 446 152 284 2434 5102
Handicap 8 12 4 18 10 2 14 16 6 5 9 11 17 7 15 3 13 1
Par 5 4 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 4 12 6 18 8 2 14 16 10 3 7 9 17 13 11 5 15 1

Course Details

Year Built 1992
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Seashore Paspalum Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover, JCB Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2017 #2)

Reviews

3.3
239

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 8
Drinks 6
Course Challenges Include:
Forced Carries 36
Narrow Fairways 33
Elevation Changes 23
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 31
Advanced Golfers 28
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 18
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 18
Convenient to the City 17
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Casual water everywhere

This course do to weather conditions is almost unplayable. The views are breathtaking layout unlike anywhere else.. sloppy, muddy, balls absolutely disappear in fairways.. footing is again unplayable.. price should reflect conditions! Greens were also not maintained due to conditions.. sorry wish I could give better review

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 10/11/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Ko'olau Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Amazing scenery

While the course condition wasn’t “pristine”, it was ok, but that’s not the reason to play this course. The scenery is the most amazing I’ve ever seen in my 35 years of golf, and the layout is challenging but a lot of fun because you have to be tactical about your shots. Staff was great too!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Unfair Course

Front nine was in good shape. Back nine is always cart path only because there is no way to get a cart to the fairway on almost all holes. So you do a lot of walking up and down hills from the cart path to find or get to your ball. If you don't hit in the fairway, you are either in a deep ravine in rough so unmanageable that it takes forever to find you ball, if in fact you can. Lots of muddy conditions, and no REAL grass in the fairways. Again, front nine was OK, but back nine makes this course a downer.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 09/20/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ko'olau Golf Club, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the back 9 of the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will use it to make the necessary improvements to the course. Thank you for your choosing our course, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Beautiful, but tough

I understand now why this course is ranked the third most challenging in the world. It is tough to carry the ravines and there is virtually no chance of finding your ball in the lush jungle. The views of the mountains are absolutely stunning. My biggest complaint: I called over a week in advance to confirm that they had women's left-handed clubs to rent and reserved a set. When I showed up, they had none available - didn't even stock them! They gave me a LH set of senior clubs for half price. Apparently, their main phone number goes to a reservation center in Chicago, and that was who gave me the incorrect information.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 09/13/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ko'olau Golf Club, in the Honolulu County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

not as good as I remembered it

staff on site was very nice but snack bar was closed and no cart girl

course is not being kept up very well. any time I was just off the fairway I couldnt see he ball untill it was 3ft or less away on all of the front 9. back 9 was better but not great

all fairways are quite lumpy although fairway cut was good most of the time on back 9.

the 5 or 6 times I was in a trap I had to get it out of mud not wet sand.

havnt played there in about 4 years and will not again

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 09/06/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great time at Koolau - Golfing in Jurassic Park

I played Koolau yesterday, shortly after a major rain storm, while there were a few bunkers with water and wet fairway spots, the course for the most part was in excellent condition. While it is a demanding track, we found it to be a very fair layout. Every hole is unique creating its own challenge, 18 holes of WOW! The scenery is simply amazing, carved through a rainforest and up against the mountains. We had the course to ourselves, probably due to the rain the night before. Summing it up, I think this is the best golfing experience in Oahu, creating a truly unique golf memory. The owners have put a lot on money into the course, cleaning up some of the forest, redoing the bunkers, making play a bit easier and more open. The greens are in good condition, but slow, maybe a 6 or 7, but that seems normal for this type of course. I am a 13 HCP, played from the blues and had a blast, my son 3HCP, shot lights out. They have moved the white tees up to avoid the long carries making it playable for the high HCPers. I played Royal Hawaiian last week and this course if so much better. Truly a memorable unique golf experience

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Spectacular scenery

Overall the course was in good shape. It rained hard the night before which resulted in the occasional mud ball but overall the fairways were good. The greens were very slow. The course was well maintained overall. The scenery was fantastic on every hole and the people working there were very friendly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun Day

What a beautiful course. It plays tough as the isn’t a lot of room for error off the fairway.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Strong Layout with Challenging Holes

Ko'olau is a very challenging golf course. You must be striking the ball well to score here. Greens are good with consistent speeds, a few had some rough spots but it didn't effect play that much. Course was very wet and sloppy in places, cleaned mud off ball nearly every shot. Pace of play was very slow, had a local Sunday morning group with 6 plus groups in front of me and they were struggling. A number of holes are target style, so you must know your carry distances. Would like rate to be a little lower, but would definitely play again.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Awesome course

This course is beautiful, difficulty, and worth it.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Golfing in Hawai

Played from the white tees, not my best round but the views were fantastic. Course and staff were very helpful. I would play this course again. Aloha

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Play Once but move on

This course has been rated as Golf Digests top courses to play and is rated as Oahu’s tip course. The course over all I would give it only a three star rating. The scenery, location, and vistas that this course contains are remarkable. The course itself needs a little greenskeeper attention. The fairways were in rough shape and very uneven with multiple types of turf or “weeds”. I was disappointed in the fairways. Many fairways on the back nine showed exposed mud and dirt and minimal fairway turf. The greens were ok but were recently sanded and included many dry out spots. This made the putting surface very bouncy. I played over Memorial Day weekend thus I would have thought that the course would have been in remarkable condition. It also appeared that the grass only gets cut every so often and was recently cut because there was a lot of clumps I’d mowed grass covering a lot of the approach locations. Made the course aesthetically unpleasant. #13 is a par three. It hit the ball from the tee only five feet off the fringe but lost the ball because how soggy and unkept they kept the grass around the greens. I felt this was unfair for golf to hit a close shot and only

Have to lose it because of unkept grass.

The Practice facilities also needed a little attention. For this being the number one course on Oahu I was surprised by the upkeep or lack there of. Played, Checked off the list, probably wouldn’t be my preference to play again.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 05/29/2018:
Hello, on behalf of the Ko'olau Golf Club staff, we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

awesome scenery

This course has truly some of the most fantastic vistas of any course. The condition of the course was that it was very wet and muddy. The ball would plug in the fairway, rough and around the greens, It made for a very tough course even more tough.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 05/17/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Ko'olau Golf Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Definitely one of the best and difficult course to play

Thanks Golf Now for the hot deal. Made our vacation one to remember. Beautiful Course

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bring a lot of balls

Beautiful location and views. The course is not in great shape. Greens have a mix of grasses. The fairways were very wet and muddy and rough. Balls hit in the fairway were very difficult to find of were lost, covered I mud if hidden in the grass. If it weren't for the scenic views or would have been a miserable round.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 04/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Ko'olau Golf Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

play it for the amazing views

I was hesitant to play this course after reading the reviews but rolled the dice anyway. I’m glad I did. The staff were amazing and very knowledgeable. I’ve never had the marshal at the first tee spend so much time giving us his knowledge of the course and what to look out for and how to play it, Bill is a credit to the club.

Use google maps to get there not Apple maps!

The front nine played well even though it was supposed to be wet which it was and the ball didn’t carry on the bounce as much as you’d like but you learn to play with it.

The back nine was wet and we did lose quite a few balls but like the pair behind us said, they would’ve payed just to drbe be the cart around the course and take in the views.

If you play off the white tees that’s like your municpal level course and the golds are championship level. Ravines will play with your mind so pretend they’re not there.

All in all I really enjoyed the round and the experience so go and try it.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Ko’olau Golf

A fantastic golf course with awesome views of the mountains and ocean. Each hole was challenging and you had to use all your clubs. Would love to play it again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Spectacular scenery, challenging layout, just OK conditions

This is a true Jurassic golf experience. The scenery is spectacular - mountains directly line the course. The layout is challenging - be straight or bring a lot if extra balls. The conditions were ok - slow muni-esque greens and very long, uneven fairway grass. I lost balls that would just disappear even on the fairway. That said, I think the rough conditions contribute to the "jungle" experience: stay away if you're looking for perfect greens, but overall this is a unique, worthwhile golf experience.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Extremely Wet

Although the course was very attractive, on the day of play is was extremely wet. Even the fairways were very soggy, to the point where it was practically impossible to find a dry spot to hit the ball. On that day, it was not worth the money paid!!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Ko'olau Golf Club on 03/07/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to see how much you enjoyed the course layout. We hope that you still had an enjoyable round despite the residual weather conditions. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we will share it with our staff so that we can improve your future experiences at our course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us here at Ko'olau Golf Club. We hope to see you again soon!
Nearby Courses
Kaneohe, Hawaii
3.9523058824
40
Kailua, Hawaii
3.9615117647
148
Honolulu, Hawaii
0.0
0
Waimanalo, Hawaii
3.0721176471
86
Kaneohe Bay, Hawaii
4.0588235294
8
Honolulu, Hawaii
3.2857
7
Honolulu, Hawaii
0.0
0
Honolulu, Hawaii
4.0
1
Honolulu, Hawaii
5.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
45-550 Kionaole Rd, Kaneohe, Oahu, Hawaii 96744, Honolulu County, USA
(808) 236-4653
Latest Articles
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE