The Heather at Boyne Highlands Resort

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
16
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
4.8
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.4
Layout
4.4
100.0%
Recommend this course
16 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
16
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
5.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
16
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
5.0
Value
4.3
Layout
4.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
4 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7143
Slope 147
Rating 75.4
Type Resort
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Brown 72 7143 yards 75.4 147
Purple 72 6647 yards 72.7 143
Orange 72 6207 yards 70.3 139
Green 72 5743 yards 68.3 130
Green (W) 72 5743 yards 73.9 137
Silver 72 4845 yards 64.0 120
Silver (W) 72 4845 yards 68.6 123
Scorecard for Heather
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Brown M: 75.4/147 383 397 403 202 560 161 406 450 617 3579 416 550 174 419 418 506 196 403 482 3564 7143
Purple M: 72.7/143 373 376 373 182 539 151 371 387 561 3313 384 510 170 414 385 482 181 374 434 3334 6647
Orange M: 70.3/139 342 362 341 162 467 139 353 363 521 3050 379 496 153 386 354 466 162 346 415 3157 6207
Green M: 68.3/130 W: 73.9/137 328 322 325 133 424 129 333 338 482 2814 350 448 130 364 339 447 149 310 392 2929 5743
Silver M: 64.0/120 W: 68.6/123 311 302 287 112 370 96 288 281 401 2448 329 382 78 252 293 359 137 270 297 2397 4845
Handicap 13 9 7 15 1 17 11 5 3 14 2 16 8 6 10 18 12 4
Par 4 4 4 3 5 3 4 4 5 36 4 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 5 9 13 11 3 17 15 7 1 6 2 18 14 8 4 16 10 12

Course Details

Year Built 1966
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 5/12 Closed: 10/8
Architect Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1966)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire is required for all players.

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.7
16

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 2
19th Hole Scenic Views 1
Amazing Food 1
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 3
Elevation Changes 1
Thick Rough 1
This course/club is great for:
Group Getaways 6
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 5
A Weekend Splurge 4
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 4
Near Local Attractions 1
Worth the Drive 1
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Experience

Best golf resort in the Mid West. Courses are in PGA condition. Very playable, greens are quick and true, for sure. I can hardly wait to play these courses again. Fall golf is a great time to play Boyne and enjoy the colors.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Golf Advisor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

My favorite at Boyne

The first Boyne course is still the best. RTJ Sr.'s ode to northern Michigan is a pure treat to play. The par 3s are tricky tough, so be sure to take an extra club whenever you see water in front. The doglegs provide different looks and good variety. It all builds up to the climax of the 18th tee when the nerves kick it up a notch. No matter how good your tee shot is, the irrigation pond guarding the green looks more like a lake. Forget about par. Staying dry is the only goal to finish the round in style.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Golf Advisor
Previously Played

One of my Boyne favorites

I love this golf course. Not enough to give it five stars, but almost. Here's what I like: All the holes are interesting and most are memorable. It's not overly difficult, but isn't a pushover either. It's almost always in great shape. The scenery is terrific. And I love the par 4 18th. With the irrigation lake on the tee shot and approach, its formidable. Always plays longer than advertised. Overall, super enjoyable.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Solid original resort course

The Heathers is a nice, solid classic resort course, and the first one built at the Highlands, I believe. My round was enjoyable, if not a touch slow. And while this track is worth a play, I wouldn't suggest it over the other courses on-site, except maybe the Moors. However, it is fairly well kept and is cut through a nice piece of land. A great addition to a golf vacation, assuming you also get to try the Ross Memorial and Aurthur Hills while there, as those two are more favorable plays in my opinion. Service was excellent as expected at Boyne.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Michigan Advisor
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
The Heather was the second course our group of 52 took on at Boyne Highlands. The course is located right next to the Main Lodge which makes getting to it the easiet of all the course but you also get to see it every time you go in and out of the Lodge and I, personally, couldn't wait to play it as it was just gorgeous to look at. The course was again in immaculate shape, as they all are at Boyne Highlands. Nothing tricky just a real good basic layout.. Once in trouble just take one shot to get out of it safely or you will pay dearly on every hole. Greens were very true and quick. The Heathers golf staff was equal to their counterparts at the Moor and Ross complex. Everyone was extremely courteous, eager to help anyone in our group. Was nice to see a staff so customer friendly and professional. While every hole gets your attention the finishing holes on each nine are remarkable. Number 9 is a par 5 with a steep uphill required to get to the green. A very demanding hole. Number 18 is a great par 4 that has a huge body of water fronting the green. There is ample fairway to go around it but the green calls you to give it a go over the water. Take of plenty of club when you give in to that call. What a wonderful finishing hole. Our group thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the 19th tee. A mostly outdoor patio overlooking the 18 hole with sandwiches and snacks. No offense or disrespect to the other course but the Heather was my favorite. Play them all yourself and then you judge.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Classic Layout

This Robert Trent Jones Sr. design nestled in Northern Michigan is truly a gem. A classic, tree-lined north woods layout. A lot of doglegs, but the course is right in front of you. Rewards solid golf shots but can be very penal if you get sideways. Bring your short game too.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Good weather

Great round

My group opted for the caddy service, which added to the exceptional experience
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Good weather

Historic Charm, Awesome Track

First off, the location couldn't be better, it was right next to the Boyne Highlands lodge so boom, easy to get to. This has to be one of my favorite Robert Trent Jones design i've ever played, my buddies and I really had a wonderful time. Conditions were fantastic, pace of play was pretty darn good, just overall a wonderful experience. It was a good start to our Michigan buddies golf trip as we have a lot of different skill levels, so everyone had a fun time.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

The Heather is all that's great about northern Michigan Golf

Played on a gorgeous fall day, not too humid, perfect breeze. The course was immaculate and conveniently located right next to the Boyne Highlands Lodge. It was unlike so many other courses with multiple forced carries for women. I had a great time!!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Request A Vacation Quote From BOYNE Golf
Please provide your information below and a staff member at BOYNE Golf will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE