Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.5
41 Reviews (41)
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
7
Conditions
2.3
Value
3.0
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
3.7
Pace
4.3
Amenities
2.8
55.9%
Recommend this course
29 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.5
2 Reviews (2)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.0
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
5.0
50.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6920 yards
Slope 133
Rating 73.3
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6920 yards 73.3 133
Green 72 6376 yards 70.7 133
Yellow 72 5765 yards 67.9 118
Red (W) 72 5037 yards 69.5 116
Scorecard for Oak/Maple
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.3/133 506 159 373 497 360 464 189 409 422 3379 383 565 371 191 402 401 629 162 437 3541 6920
Green M: 70.7/131 475 128 352 471 329 437 164 380 399 3135 356 526 343 158 377 374 595 130 382 3241 6376
Gold M: 67.9/118 452 105 297 442 317 394 134 353 379 2873 316 499 305 133 329 345 547 91 327 2892 5765
Red W: 69.5/126 415 71 238 401 279 330 84 314 345 2477 266 432 271 101 310 297 491 63 292 2523 5000
Handicap 17 9 11 3 5 13 1 7 15 16 8 10 2 4 12 18 6 14
Par 5 3 4 5 4 4 3 4 4 36 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tom Jackson

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Yes

Reviews

2.5
41 Reviews (41)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Bad Shape

The greens have gotten out of control. The best way to play is just knock it on the green and give yourself a two putt. I'm sure that the greens will come around but if wont be anytime soon. I like playing here. But just putting a warning out there for fellow golfers that now is not the time to play there if you are trying to score.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excellent course

Friendly staff, course is in great shape & challenging

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Hunters Creek All 3 Nines

Having played this course many times I was surprised at the condition of all 3 nines. The greens were terrible. No grass on them at all. The tee boxes were not even cut. The fairways were terrible. Overall very bad condition. Are they getting ready to sell? I won’t be back anytime soon.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Wish it was better

I played Hunters Creek about a month ago and thought that the new ownership had turned the corner on improving the condition of the course. I was disappointed, however, to see clover in the fairways, longish grass in some of the fairways, and uneven greens (some of them had both extremely bumpy places and skinned places on them). This course could be excellent; it's a good layout with a good variety of holes. I hope to see improvement in conditions.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The guy at the club house over charged me. I had a highlighted section on my golf now confirmation that said how much was due at the golf course, and I showed it to him. He had a bad attitude and he argued with me.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good Ccurse. Needs some polish

Course and Staff were good. Just need some attention to detail. Only water on course were a couple of old fountains. Sand trap sand needs work. Bridges look to be ready to fall apart.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Hunters Creek Greenwood, SC

The course is a very nice layout with challenging holes. They have improved the fairways and greens which needed TLC. Fun course to play.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Somebody please buy this course!!

This at one time was one of the best courses in the state but the last owners just ran it into the ground and the new cooperation that bought the course is trying to get course back into shape but it seems they just do not want to put the money into the course to get it back into shape. This is a awesome 27 holes of golf, three great nines that each present their own challenges. The maple nine is insanely tough!! This could once again before a wonderful course but it needs help. Not worth the money right now, it is a cow pasture.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Moderately Challenging

Course was a little bettter than average. Greens were challenging; the bunkers were not well kept nor well sanded.
Plenty of open space even though the fairways need a little sprucing up.
For the money, I'd play this course again.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Enjoyed playing there. But, it would help if more direction signs were displayed. Got confused about which hole we were on and which course we were playing.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser

Course - maple/oak

Nice little course. Reviews were correct on the bunkers. Rough! Course needs some overall maintenance to be a four star+. Out of logo balls. Disappointing.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Hunters's Creek

Great layout, every hole different from others, lot of uneven lies, sand traps mostly hardpan, not made for walking, greens are bumpy, but are improving.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
hunterscreekgolfsc
Commented On 07/12/2016

Thanks for the review! It's nice to see the work we're putting in on the course is appreciated, so we're glad you said something. It's getting better as time goes on, so we'd happily have you back for another round in the future if you ever get the itch. Hope to see you soon, and thanks again for the review.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Lessons Learned

Usually when I decide to play a new course I check the reviews, especially when I use Golf Now. I failed to do so when I booked my tee time for Hunter's Creek. What a mistake. The recent reviewers clearly portrayed the course as "wasteland". I don't think I played a course in this poor condition for years. You might expect some backwoods muni that is headed for extinction to be in this condition, but not an upscale housing development course. The people who live in those nice houses must be pulling their hair out. I know the golf course business is in a funk, and golf courses are money pits for investors. But how did this place get in that poor of a condition. It will take millions to redo this track. The greens are atrocious, the fairways harder than the cart paths and the sand traps like concrete. To think I drove over an hour to play there is amazing. Lesson learned, always check the reviews before you book a new course. I will.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
hunterscreekgolfsc
Commented On 05/11/2016

We're sorry to hear you didn't have a great visit to our course. We are well aware of the conditions, and we're working on finding a solution. We invite you to return in the future, as we're sure you'll have a much better round. Please stay tuned for more updates. Thank you.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Very Challenging Course

You'll be welcomed by an abundance of overgrown & weeded tee boxes, a mixture of heavily weeded and clover covered concrete fairways & greens that reassemble the surface of the moon where the ball bounces as it rolls across because it just can't contain the excitement of it's most recent lunar landing. Will this course provide you with all the challenges that you thought were never possible?As the mens wearhouse spokesman says " I guarantee it !" The horrible condition screams financial troubles. I wouldn't be surprised if this course isn't for sale or in foreclosure.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
hunterscreekgolfsc
Commented On 05/03/2016

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your round at our course. If you consult earlier reviews, you'll see that we're well aware of the course conditions and have plans for maintenance in the future. The season is really just getting started for us, and we're working as hard as we can to get things ready for a great summer at our course. We hope you'll come back in a few weeks, as we're certain you'll have a much better round. Thanks!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
1.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Hunters Creek is GONE TO WEEDS !

Unbelievable that this beautiful 27 holes of golf is almost completely gone to weeds with greens that are mostly mud. No water fountains, rangers, etc. etc.

Do not waste your money

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
hunterscreekgolfsc
Commented On 04/29/2016

Sorry to hear you didn't have a great visit to our course, Kechepy. We are quite aware of the situation on our course and are in the process of scheduling maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience the conditions caused for you. We invite you to come back sometime in the future, as we guarantee you'll have a much better experience.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Terrible Do Not Waste Your Money

This course is going downhill fast. There were more weeds in the fairways than grass. Charged us full rate, was advised that seniors rate is the same as standard rate. Do not waste your money and time on this course!!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Default User Image
hunterscreekgolfsc
Commented On 04/12/2016

We're sorry to hear the course wasn't quite up to your standards, clunis! We know he course conditions aren't exactly desirable right now, but the truth is that with our season is just getting started we haven't had a chance to get our scheduled maintenance in before the seasonal rush of golfers. We'll be getting started soon, though! As for the pricing, we were running our Masters rates because the tournament was going on, which means every golfer was charged the same rate. None of this is meant to serve as an excuse for your experience, which we regret was not what you'd hoped for, but to provide context for your situation. We wholeheartedly apologize if these things were not made clear to you the day you played. We'll make sure we communicate more clearly next time. All-in-all, we think you'd have a much better visit a little later on in the season. If you find yourself in this neck of the woods again, please feel free to stop by!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice layout.

Course has 27 holes. Nice layout. Still has a lot of winter weeds and greens are a little sparse. Should get better with the warm weather.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
hunterscreekgolfsc
Commented On 03/31/2016

We're glad you enjoyed the course! With regard to the greens and weeds, you hit the nail on the head. They should be getting better in no time! Feel free to stop by in a couple weeks. We'd be happy to have you again!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good layout bad shape

Good golf holes but even for dormant times in rough shape

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Nearby Courses
Greenwood, South Carolina
2.5441176471
41
Greenwood, South Carolina
2.5441176471
41
Greenwood, South Carolina
4.5104529412
46
Greenwood, South Carolina
4.0
1
Hodges, South Carolina
2.0
1
Greenwood, South Carolina
0.0
0
Greenwood, South Carolina
4.5724176471
92
Abbeville, South Carolina
0.0
0
Ninety Six, South Carolina
3.8859352941
124
Ware Shoals, South Carolina
1.0
1
Waterloo, South Carolina
0.0
0
Ninety Six, South Carolina
3.0
2

Stay & Play Offers

$84 Starting price
Valid dates: May 24, 2019 - Oct 13, 2019
Save on lodging and Canyons Golf! Give your drive the adventure it deserve this summer at Canyons Golf.
Stay and Play
Stay & Play Escape at Eagle Eye!
$155 Starting price
Stay and Play
Stay & Play this Summer at Hawk Hollow!
$125 Starting price
Stay and Play
Unlimited Golf Stay and Play at St James Bay Golf Club
$110 Starting price
Stay and Play
Grand Geneva Resort - Golf Addict Package
$500 Starting price
702 Hunter's Creek Blvd, Greenwood, South Carolina 29649, Greenwood County
(864) 223-9286
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE