Willow/Oak at Hunter's Creek Plantation

3.0180352941 3.0 stars from 5 (39)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6837 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 73.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6837 yards 73.2 133
Green 72 6301 yards 70.6 128
Yellow 72 5704 yards 67.5 121
Red (W) 72 4968 yards 68.3 124

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.6 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 39 Reviews
5 stars:
4
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

28 out of 39 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hunters Creek All 3 Nines"


u782066360's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having played this course many times I was surprised at the condition of all 3 nines. The greens were terrible. No grass on them at all. The tee boxes were not even cut. The fairways were terrible. Overall very bad condition. Are they getting ready to sell? I won’t be back anytime soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Wish it was better"


u000001275069's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played Hunters Creek about a month ago and thought that the new ownership had turned the corner on improving the condition of the course. I was disappointed, however, to see clover in the fairways, longish grass in some of the fairways, and uneven greens (some of them had both extremely bumpy places and skinned places on them). This course could be excellent; it's a good layout with a good variety of holes. I hope to see improvement in conditions.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



anovilla's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u5483085's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The guy at the club house over charged me. I had a highlighted section on my golf now confirmation that said how much was due at the golf course, and I showed it to him. He had a bad attitude and he argued with me.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Good Ccurse. Needs some polish"



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course and Staff were good. Just need some attention to detail. Only water on course were a couple of old fountains. Sand trap sand needs work. Bridges look to be ready to fall apart.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Hunters Creek Greenwood, SC"


19dhaehnle46's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is a very nice layout with challenging holes. They have improved the fairways and greens which needed TLC. Fun course to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Somebody please buy this course!!"


todd1263's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This at one time was one of the best courses in the state but the last owners just ran it into the ground and the new cooperation that bought the course is trying to get course back into shape but it seems they just do not want to put the money into the course to get it back into shape. This is a awesome 27 holes of golf, three great nines that each present their own challenges. The maple nine is insanely tough!! This could once again before a wonderful course but it needs help. Not worth the money right now, it is a cow pasture.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Moderately Challenging"


Ddees's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was a little bettter than average. Greens were challenging; the bunkers were not well kept nor well sanded.

Plenty of open space even though the fairways need a little sprucing up.

For the money, I'd play this course again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



RG654651651654894859's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed playing there. But, it would help if more direction signs were displayed. Got confused about which hole we were on and which course we were playing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course - maple/oak"


Fortheloveofgolf71's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice little course. Reviews were correct on the bunkers. Rough! Course needs some overall maintenance to be a four star+. Out of logo balls. Disappointing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u1464873's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hunters's Creek"


whw121253's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Great layout, every hole different from others, lot of uneven lies, sand traps mostly hardpan, not made for walking, greens are bumpy, but are improving.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/12/2016

Thanks for the review! It's nice to see the work we're putting in on the course is appreciated, so we're glad you said something. It's getting better as time goes on, so we'd happily have you back for another round in the future if you ever get the itch. Hope to see you soon, and thanks again for the review.


"Lessons Learned"


salukimike's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Usually when I decide to play a new course I check the reviews, especially when I use Golf Now. I failed to do so when I booked my tee time for Hunter's Creek. What a mistake. The recent reviewers clearly portrayed the course as "wasteland". I don't think I played a course in this poor condition for years. You might expect some backwoods muni that is headed for extinction to be in this condition, but not an upscale housing development course. The people who live in those nice houses must be pulling their hair out. I know the golf course business is in a funk, and golf courses are money pits for investors. But how did this place get in that poor of a condition. It will take millions to redo this track. The greens are atrocious, the fairways harder than the cart paths and the sand traps like concrete. To think I drove over an hour to play there is amazing. Lesson learned, always check the reviews before you book a new course. I will.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/11/2016

We're sorry to hear you didn't have a great visit to our course. We are well aware of the conditions, and we're working on finding a solution. We invite you to return in the future, as we're sure you'll have a much better round. Please stay tuned for more updates. Thank you.


"Very Challenging Course"


rapiddonkeygolfclub's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

You'll be welcomed by an abundance of overgrown & weeded tee boxes, a mixture of heavily weeded and clover covered concrete fairways & greens that reassemble the surface of the moon where the ball bounces as it rolls across because it just can't contain the excitement of it's most recent lunar landing. Will this course provide you with all the challenges that you thought were never possible?As the mens wearhouse spokesman says " I guarantee it !" The horrible condition screams financial troubles. I wouldn't be surprised if this course isn't for sale or in foreclosure.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/03/2016

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your round at our course. If you consult earlier reviews, you'll see that we're well aware of the course conditions and have plans for maintenance in the future. The season is really just getting started for us, and we're working as hard as we can to get things ready for a great summer at our course. We hope you'll come back in a few weeks, as we're certain you'll have a much better round. Thanks!


"Hunters Creek is GONE TO WEEDS !"


Kchepy's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Unbelievable that this beautiful 27 holes of golf is almost completely gone to weeds with greens that are mostly mud. No water fountains, rangers, etc. etc.

Do not waste your money


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/29/2016

Sorry to hear you didn't have a great visit to our course, Kechepy. We are quite aware of the situation on our course and are in the process of scheduling maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience the conditions caused for you. We invite you to come back sometime in the future, as we guarantee you'll have a much better experience.


"Terrible Do Not Waste Your Money"


clunis's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course is going downhill fast. There were more weeds in the fairways than grass. Charged us full rate, was advised that seniors rate is the same as standard rate. Do not waste your money and time on this course!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/12/2016

We're sorry to hear the course wasn't quite up to your standards, clunis! We know he course conditions aren't exactly desirable right now, but the truth is that with our season is just getting started we haven't had a chance to get our scheduled maintenance in before the seasonal rush of golfers. We'll be getting started soon, though! As for the pricing, we were running our Masters rates because the tournament was going on, which means every golfer was charged the same rate. None of this is meant to serve as an excuse for your experience, which we regret was not what you'd hoped for, but to provide context for your situation. We wholeheartedly apologize if these things were not made clear to you the day you played. We'll make sure we communicate more clearly next time. All-in-all, we think you'd have a much better visit a little later on in the season. If you find yourself in this neck of the woods again, please feel free to stop by!


"Nice layout."


mbpargolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has 27 holes. Nice layout. Still has a lot of winter weeds and greens are a little sparse. Should get better with the warm weather.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/31/2016

We're glad you enjoyed the course! With regard to the greens and weeds, you hit the nail on the head. They should be getting better in no time! Feel free to stop by in a couple weeks. We'd be happy to have you again!


"Good layout bad shape"


ronkay's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good golf holes but even for dormant times in rough shape


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Six plus hours of fun!"


Robert9989467's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I strongly suggest playing all 27 holes. Each of the 3 sets of 9 have a great deal of similarities and differences.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2015

We're so thrilled you enjoyed all 27 holes, Robert! Thanks for leaving us the great feedback about your visit. Can't wait to have you back again!


"Great course"


rick7221972's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was In outstanding condition staff was awesome staff went out of its way for me course is very beautiful and challenging


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/02/2015

We couldn't be happier you had such an enjoyable visit to our course, Rick! Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed