Sunbird Golf Resort

3.4101666667 3.4 stars from 5 (87)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 66
  • Length: 4353 yards
  • Slope: 102
  • Rating: 62.0
  • Layout

  • 6240 S Sunbird Blvd, Chandler, Arizona 85249, Maricopa County
  • (480) 883-0820
  • (480) 883-0918
  • www.sunbirdgolf.com

Year built: 1987
Architect(s): Gary Panks (1987)
Type: Semi-Private/Resort
Style: Desert/Executive
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue/White 66 4353 yards 62.0 102
Blue/White (W) 66 4353 yards 64.7 112
White 66 4083 yards 60.9 100
White (W) 66 4083 yards 62.7 105
Red 66 3714 yards 61.0 97
Red (W) 66 3714 yards 59.9 97
Yellow 63 3036 yards 58.0 90
Yellow (W) 63 3036 yards 56.7 85

The course at the Sunbird Golf Resort is a desert-style course that offers three sets of tee boxes to accommodate most skill levels. This executive length golf course has a country club-type atmosphere and offers a good round of golf. The greens are medium sized with some that are multi-tiered and narrow fairways. Bunkers and trees are also present on the course, adding some challenge since they can greatly affect shots. Water hazards also come into play on a few holes. In addition to the executive course at Sunbird Golf Resort, the facility also offers a putting area and chipping green as well as a fully stocked pro shop.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 87 Reviews
5 stars:
21
4 stars:
46
3 stars:
11
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

75 out of 84 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs   Great for seniors locals beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers narrow fairways   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Beautiful"


JcdemJim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/19/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The courts is in great shape. The play was slow due to a crowd of golfers on this sunny Jan. Day. Had patience and had fun.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


AZcanuck's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a shorter par 66 course but still has a par 5. A couple of challenging holes (especially #7). Was in transition to summer grass so still had a couple of rough spots, and one temporary green but should fill in nicely in a week or 2. We had no one ahead or behind us and finished the round very quickly so would recommend if you don't want to take all day to play. Plus check out the very nice and cheap 19th hole.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"The greens are in poor condition"


handballhead's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course before and enjoyed it but this is the first time this year. I played in the afternoon and there were only a few other players on the course so I played a really fast pace. It could be due to the summer heat but the greens are in poor condition. Hole number one was a temporary. The other 17 greens were dried out, had lots of bare spots and patches that have been sanded. I will not play here again until the greens have been repaired.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Just Play for Fun type of Course"


LoganRhind's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in a retirement complex and was not very challenging. The staff was friendly and the course was cheap. Not a bad place to tune some of your shots.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Fun track, good value"


chucktrefts's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun little exec course. Not terribly challenging but I always enjoy playing here. The lakes are currently covered by a criss cross of what looks like fishing line in some odd attempt to keep the ducks away, which seems odd to me and maybe cruel. I saw a duck hit one of the wires while landing on a lake. Hope they remove this. The 8th hole has a sign offering food to order at the turn but they never seem to be open or just offer the fish fry, whatever that is. Staff is great, very nice every time I've played here. Course condition is so so, but it isn't selling a great layout but rather a fun course. Can't hit driver much so you get a nice test of low irons off the tees. Pace of play is ok. Lots of local residents there, it's a 55+ place, but relax and have fun. Greens and don't hold and don't fairways can be pretty dry and tight but the real danger is getting into the dirt off the fairway which can make approaches to par 4s a little tough.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Challenging Mid Executive"


Ed3616512's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have not played this course for a few years and glad we got to try it again. Front staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Course itself was in very good condition, much better than many others in the East Valley. Some fairways are tight and trees are in play on many holes. This is in between a true executive and a full course, with a par of 66. This allows you to use both driver and fairway wood on a few holes. All in all a good track and worth playing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000005341408's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the cost of the course I expected a 3 star level course but the resulting 2 star rating given reflects the condition of the greens. Not good.


I don't recommend this course


"Maintenance an issue"


awilcox's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Seems to me they need a greens keeper who knows what he/she is doing. The greens are getting worse as the weather improves not better. They have replace grass on some greens in patches but it is not the same grass. Dead patches spot most of the greens and getting worse.

Nice little layout - great staff, good facilities but many of the greens are (almost) unputtable if you land in the wrong spot.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Nice cource"


u997495884's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Would recommend this to my friends great staff. I would play there again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



howardschneiderman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



izzylipscomb's avatar
Age:  65+
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017

Reviewed on


I don't recommend this course


"great course"


Trevor1428443's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice, well cared for and very challenging. Lots of bunkers, water and rolling greens. I was very surprised on how well maintained the course was and how many balls I lost.

I went back and played again the next day, it was that much fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great 18 hole Executive Course"


stmd1289's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

This a is a great 18 hole executive course in the greater Phoenix area. A par 66 with more par 4s and 5's than most exec courses, along with good use of bunkers and sprinkled in water hazards, make it an enjoyable, fun, and still challenging course. Will play here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Sunny day at Sunbird"


jteneyck123456's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sunbird is my go to short course when I want to get in a quick round or am playing with someone who won't tolerate a longer round. The service is friendly. I recommend Sunbird for beginning golfers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"It Rain on My Golf Game"


arizonadude41's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Poor weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff are extremely friendly. The course was in good shape, but couldn't enjoy it because downpour came out of nowhere. I will definitely come back and play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Little Longer Executive"


u941300542's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2015
First time playing Played as a single Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course will hold your interest because it has more par 4's than the average executive, plus it has its fair amount of water and bunkers. One dog leg to the right defies keeping it on the fairway, unless you have a natural fade in your game. This course also has a par 5 with a blind water hazard on the left side of the green that cannot be seen from the fairway. Good luck, and have fun.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Very nice executive course"


u712864636's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This executive course is well laid out and plays well to improve iron shots.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"for slow players maybe"


HotPinkGolfBall's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2015
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course in good condition, houses are very close to fairways must have sure shots or your ball is either hitting someones house or car passing by


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Well worth playing again!"


jayaitch's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyable afternoon with another couple we met on the first tee. Mostly par 3's and 4's with one par 5. Water comes into play on several holes and well placed bunkers and undulating greens will get your attention. Fairways are mostly generous but some of the par 3's are tightly aligned with community residences. If you value your clubs, don't bother hitting any misplaced shots from the sandy/pebbly waste areas. The carvings of various animals, birds, etc. throughout the course are a neat attraction. Would definitely recommend it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice Course, Slow Play"


Ed3616512's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape, but four hours for an executive course is too long. Staff is always friendly.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Sunbird Golf course."


laketdub's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

very well maintained, pace of play was very good. placement of shots more a priority than distance.. a very good value. tee boxes, greens & fairways in great shape 4 this time of the year.. i would definetly play it again..very friendly staff..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed