Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
535 Reviews (535)
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
183
3 Stars
191
2 Stars
69
1 Stars
52
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.5
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.0
92.9%
Recommend this course
403 out of 535 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Traditional
Par 72
Length 6751 yards
Slope 119
Rating 71.2

Southern Ridge Golf Club, formerly known as Bougainvillea Golf Club, offers some of the most stunning views anywhere in the valley. The South and Estrella Mountains provide a dramatic backdrop to the golf course. Southern Ridge is known for more than its views though, it has a unique layout that combines six par 3s, par 4s, and par 5s. The championship course plays to 6,751 yards. It offers a good amount of length for long hitters but it is still player-friendly enough for beginners thanks to generous fairways and large, undulating greens. Although the fairways are wide, don't be lulled into a sense of security. They are flanked with more than 50 strategically placed bunkers. There are enough challenges for an interesting round but it's not an overly difficult golf course.

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Fairways Bermuda/Rye Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt required

Food & Beverage

Bar, Snacks, Grill

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.9
535 Reviews (535)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 33
Patio Dining 24
19th Hole Specials 14
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 52
Undulating Greens 30
Water Hazards 16
This course/club is great for:
Locals 61
Beginners 52
Seniors 42
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 42
Worth the Drive 37
In the 'Burbs 32

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 07/17/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are thrilled to see that you had a fun time out there. We hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Reviews 81
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

improving course

course in very good shape considering that it was recently aerated. bunkers that I observed had real sand.... thank god I avoided them..... I expect a lot of play in the winter if the freeway is completed... 112 temps, so not many golfers but this course always seems to move well.....

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 07/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to hear that you found our course in good shape and had an overall good time out there. Thanks for the feedback, and we'll see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from on 07/02/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are glad to hear that you found our course good value for your money. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 51
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing

Fun track

Really enjoyed playing the course, kind of a Vegas style track. Will play again

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from on 06/08/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our course and had a fun time. Thanks for stopping by, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 13
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from on 05/30/2018:
Hello Larry, thank you for the five-star review! We are happy to see that you had a good time out there. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

For the price you can't go wrong!

Great place to play especial if your a intermediate or beginner player. Greens are nice and fairways are wide.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 05/23/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad that you found this good value for your money and that the course was in good shape. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very good value.Greens were excellent for this area of Az.

Conditions Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 05/01/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to hear that you found our course good value for your money and that you enjoyed our greens. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The staff in the clubhouse was not up to par. In the snack area she was not very pleasant so we decided not to eat there.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 04/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at the snack bar. We hope that you will give us another shot in the future.
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Course Condition

This course need a lot of maintenance especially watering, there was a lot of standing water on course and there has been no rain for weeks. Fairways are cut too close. There is no difference if fairways and greens. I like fairways with grass that manicures so I can take a divot with the grass just exploding into oblivion.
However for $14.45 you can't complain, but with weather like we have, there is no excuse to not have plush fairways.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Response from on 04/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our course in good shape. We hope that you were still able to enjoy your round. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Better hit it straight.

The tees, fairways and greens were decent. But just off the fairway is an infestation of holes and uneven rough so the course is unplayable from off the fairway. I do not recommend. Unless you hit all the fairways.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from on 04/24/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three stars. We appreciate your feedback regarding the conditions of our course. Thanks for playing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs help

Too many uneven areas where you tee off, muddy in many areas, could be better taken care of.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Response from on 04/24/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good time out there. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 49
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Getting better.

Use to not like the course. To much dirt and mud. It has improved greatly the last 2 years and you can’t beat the price. Wish they did meal tie ins.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 04/19/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to hear that you have noticed the improvements and found it great value for your money. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from on 04/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are thrilled to see that you had a wonderful time out there. We appreciate you stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Default User Image
Commented on 04/17/2018

Greens were in great condition! That was where it ends. 18 holes of golf and all ball washers were empty except one! Midday tee time and there were only 5 cars in parking lot. Hope the management can get the course back on track.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice greens

This was a awsome day for my bro and i thee greens were great and course was great i will let my mens club know of this and will play there more often thanks for the great day and great service !!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 04/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for the awesome five stars! We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable round of golf and that you will be back again soon.
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Course was wet from all the watering. Greens seemed good, but were bumpy. Biggest complaint was standing water and muddy areas.

For the money if you want a course to practice on, this is your course. Not long so as long as you can hit the ball fairly straight you should be able to score decent. Right now with slow greens you can go for the pins and stop the ball. You will not get much roll in the fairways, but since it's not long, that's not a big problem. This is your $10-$20 course, but in time will be that $30 course.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 04/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced substandard conditions out there. We hope that you were still able to enjoy your round, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fair & Playable conditions. No marshal.

Play here everyweek. Good value. Fair condition. This time a fivesome (rare) of young men, two without shirts, one in a tank top & another two in T-shirts. Drinking and very loud. The starter should have known better. No Marshall on the course ever. Hopefully Southern Ridge does not turn into a Ghetto course. Management "BEWARE".

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from on 04/06/2018:
Hello John, thank you for the three-star review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some golfers who were not adhering to proper golf etiquette. We are glad that you found our course good value for your money. Your feedback is important to us and we assure you that our course is in good hands.
Played On
Reviews 64
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Improved conditions.

Hadn't played this course in about 18 months and was happy to see the conditions ad improved. It still needs some TLC, but it has much improved. Pace of play was great.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from on 04/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are glad to hear that you noticed our improvements to the course and that you experienced a satisfactory pace of play. We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 04/04/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are glad to hear that you found our course good value for your money. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 286
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 25 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 04/03/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to see that you enjoyed our course layout and found it to be in overall good shape. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from on 03/29/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a rating. We are sorry to see that you did not have a good experience with us. Come back again soon.
Nearby Courses
Laveen, Arizona
Public/Municipal
4.3129
69
Laveen, Arizona
Public/Municipal
4.0312941176
589
Phoenix, Arizona
Public
0.0
0
Phoenix, Arizona
Public
4.0018823529
848
Phoenix, Arizona
Public/Municipal
4.0791941176
67
Phoenix, Arizona
Public/Municipal
3.9743588235
403
Avondale, Arizona
Public
4.0519764706
964
Phoenix, Arizona
Public/Resort
4.4437235294
1466
Phoenix, Arizona
Private
0.0
0
Phoenix, Arizona
Public
3.5311529412
1160
Phoenix, Arizona
Public
4.4512176471
715
Glendale, Arizona
Public
4.0483294118
190

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE