Toka Sticks Golf Club

3.7830529412 3.8 stars from 5 (482)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6922 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No tank tops or cutoffs.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6922 yards 72.5 123
Black/Gold 72 6626 yards 70.9 119
Gold 72 6366 yards 69.7 116
Gold (W) 72 6366 yards 75.6 131
Silver 72 5882 yards 67.2 112
Silver (W) 72 5882 yards 72.9 123
Jade 72 5185 yards 64.1 104
Jade (W) 72 5185 yards 69.3 113

Unlike many other courses in Phoenix, the course at the Toka Sticks Golf Club was not done in a traditional desert-style. It is known amongst locals for having very fast greens, many of which are elevated. The old Toka Sticks course was originally a nine-hole course built in 1945 but in addition to making it an 18-hole, championship course, it has had many renovations in the years since to make it a more challenging and interesting course. There are stately trees present on the course call for straight shots in order to reach the narrow fairways. Two lakes are situated on the course that create water hazards that come into play on sever holes. There are also several well-placed sand bunkers throughout. Toka Stick Golf Club also offers a short game area, a putting green and a driving range.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 482 Reviews
5 stars:
74
4 stars:
257
3 stars:
102
2 stars:
41
1 stars:
8

recommend this course

408 out of 480 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is near the airport convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals walkers seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks 19th hole specials patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fun course"


francoatcgolf's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape...Sunday afternoon, waiting on every shot, still finished in 4 1/2 hours...greens are very good, fairways too...I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Fun track that will challenge your short game"


u000002879802's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love the added contours to some of the greens that were made fairly recently. Greens will challenge the short game chipping and putting, they are pretty quick. I'm about a 10 handicap and I've been playing this course since it was the old Williams Air Force Base and it continues to be one of my favorites to play. Course condition never disappoints me, always in great shape! Usually play first thing in the morning, I like a quick round. Expect a long round the later you play. Great track for the price this time of year!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"average course"


terber2006's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course was in pretty good condition. It's a pretty straight forward course and wide open. Many holes can be played from the adjoining fairway.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


u788466178's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Probably one of the longest rounds of gold I’ve ever played. We roughly had to wait 10 minutes each hole on the front 9 which took 3 hours to complete. Not only did we have a twosome waiting behind us every hole but also the threesome behind them. Did not see a Marshall the entire day and the cart girl only came by once, that was on the 7th hole. The back none opened up a little more but we were stuck behind the foursome the entire time. The twosome replayed the front 9 and the trheesome left. Was not a pleasant golf outing. Sincerely, Eric


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Better Times at Toka"


stancar's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It’s been a year since I played this course- which is just a few minutes from home. I probably won’t be back for another year or two. This course is deteriorating pretty quickly. Simple things like ball washers and trash receptacles are gone. Tree limbs and general trash littered the fairways. Not a Marshall or groundskeeper in sight. Lots of neglected trees and grounds. Not you’re typical tribal-owned golf course. I thought with the new hotel close by this place would be looking up. Thankfully the refreshment cart was operating. Pace was okay. People were pleasant. Playing partners interesting as usual. Thankfully there are lots of other choices close by.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"fun day"


Shypoke55's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cource was in great condition greens rolled fast and true!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Toka sticks"


themurph86's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good condition. One foursome held up the entire course we were waiting on tee boxes with the group infront of us and the group behind us multiple times. 3 holes ahead wete empty. All groups called the shop and were told that they were on a 4 hour 30 minute pace. That wpuld make sense if it wasnt wide open infront of them at 7am. The group even refused requests by others to play through. Its 4:30 hours pace and keep up with the group in front of you not one or the other. In addition no marshall to handle the bev cart tried to help not her job.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great value"


splatt0's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played saturday morning. Walked in less then 4 hours.

Course conditions were decent. Teeboxes and fairways nice. Greens are pretty good.

Layout is a good challenge from the back tees.

This has always been a favorite course because it is more traditional and definitely not a desert course. Reminds me a bit of San Marcos.

Will always come back when I need a reliably good and economical round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course was in good condition"


bluenite5's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course as a threesome on Wednesday and the pace of play was acceptable. It was in good condition but the greens were hard and wouldn't hold a shot. You have to bounce it on but so many of the courses here are like that. Good value for the money.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000006261033's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Wonderful day at Toka Sticks"


billkasler's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was great. The weather,the pace,the coarse. The one thing with this coarse is that the fairways run perpendicular to one another and my GPS can't get it right. When I'm teeing off on one my GPS says I'm on hole number ten. Because of that I'm missing many pars because I use the wrong club. Guess I need to get another GPS devise.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice Greens"


Rob1575011's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens fast and true.

Fairways generous.

Pace was great @ 3:55.

New electric carts.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



DonLambert's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



u685010491's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very flat and not very exiting scenery.... even for the average golfer. 60 dollars for this course is 30 too much.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



miuliano's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fast Greens"


Bucky9998's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall course in decent condition with very fast greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



bobkav's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



MJ2018's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


Gilbert12's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played this course a few times but was disappointed this time. Bathrooms were dirty and course in mediocre condition. pace of play was painful and beverage cart was non existent on back 9. Very unusual at 3 in aft. Phoned club house at 430 to ask why and got recording that it was closed. Probably not coming back.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



Keith1422855's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Over Priced"


u541510230's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in decent condition. Restroom was terrible. Floor was wet , drain backed up. Fees were high for a very average course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed