Villa de Paz Golf Course

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
420
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
137
3 Stars
121
2 Stars
75
1 Stars
60
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.5
Layout
3.6
Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.1
65.5%
Recommend this course
281 out of 419 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
2.7
7
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.1
Value
3.0
Layout
3.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.3
42.9%
Recommend this course
3 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.0
101
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
20
Conditions
2.4
Value
3.5
Layout
3.6
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.1
StaffFriendliness
4.1
64.4%
Recommend this course
65 out of 101 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6641
Slope 123
Rating 70.1
Type Public
Editor's Note: Course closed for business in Apr 2018. Villa de Paz Golf Course was voted the top affordable 18-hole course in the Valley of the Sun, according to the Arizona Republic. The parkland course challenges top golfers, though it's not so difficult that beginners will wish they'd golfed elsewhere. After a 2002 remodel, the par-71 course measures 6,700 yards and offers water on 10 holes. If Phoenix in summertime intimidates, fear not: at Villa de Paz Golf Course, shade abounds, due to mature trees lining several fairways. Shoot for birdies or eagles, do so, but wisely. Reward has risk. Shooting sharply is especially required on holes like the fourth, a par-4 450-yarder with a severe right dogleg. Hitters dig the seventh, eighth and 15th, par 4s that can be nailed from the tee. The 18th mixes distance and skill. The par-4 470-yarder doglegs right and requires a carry over a lake to reach the three-tiered green. Fancy a warm-up before the Villa de Paz Golf Course? Use the handy practice area, with its range, two-tiered hitting zones and highlighted target areas at different yardages so you can check your length -- and the wind.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Back 72 6641 yards 70.1 123
Middle 72 6181 yards 67.9 117
Champ (W) 72 6146 yards 73.3 125
Senior 72 5558 yards 65.6 109
Forward (W) 72 5458 yards 69.5 115
Scorecard for Villa De Paz Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Back M: 70.1/123 415 160 505 450 334 225 341 343 559 3332 523 172 371 385 396 329 236 427 470 3309 6641
Middle M: 67.9/117 W: 73.3/125 378 140 485 440 319 200 312 322 509 3105 503 135 351 365 388 317 220 382 415 3076 6181
Senior M: 65.6/109 341 85 419 405 294 172 269 299 451 2735 463 105 326 341 358 307 196 352 375 2823 5558
Forward W: 69.5/115 341 85 419 305 294 172 269 299 451 2635 463 105 326 341 358 307 196 352 375 2823 5458
Handicap 11 15 3 1 9 17 13 5 7 6 18 2 8 10 14 16 12 4
Par 4 3 5 5 4 3 4 4 5 37 5 3 4 4 4 4 3 4 4 35 72
Handicap (W) 7 17 5 1 11 13 15 9 3 6 18 2 14 8 16 10 12 4

Course Details

Year Built 1976
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Greg Nash (1976) Jeff Hardin (1976)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code No tank tops or cutoffs.

Reviews

3.0
420

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 20
Watching the Game 11
19th Hole Specials 9
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 50
Bunkers 27
Forced Carries 18
This course/club is great for:
Locals 49
Seniors 31
Beginners 29
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 42
In the 'Burbs 26
Worth the Drive 13
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are glad that you enjoyed our course and found it challenging. We appreciate you playing at Villa de Paz Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Dissapointed

This course is an older one which has been under maintained. There are many many areas where there is no grass and the greens were dry and burnt. T off boxes were also in bad condition. There are dead trees that need to be removed and many areas that are strewn with leaves making it hard to find balls. The course layout is good but unfortunately the facility is in a downward spiral of poor maintenance. We will not be golfing there again and we recommend that the course be avoided. There are so many courses that cost the same but are in excellent shape the value for the money is poor. The high point was the restaurant that had great homemade burgers and hot dogs for 1.50 and 1.00 respectively.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/26/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found our course in poor shape. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope to earn your business again in the future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/25/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to see that you enjoyed our course layout and found it good value for your money. We appreciate you stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Friendly and Inexpensive but Needs Work

People were nice and the lunch was very inexpensive as was the golf, however, the course needs attention. A lot of dirt patches and the greens were not in great shape.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback regarding your experience. We are sorry that you found our course in poor shape, but we hope that you were still able to enjoy your round.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/23/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are glad to hear that you had a great time out there and found our staff friendly. We hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Previously Played

Don t waste your money

Course is in pretty bad shape mostly dirt hardly any grass bunkers are like concrete. I was disappointed with the course conditions seems like no one takes care of the course so many other places with the same prices that have way better course conditions

So I recommend not playing here.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/19/2018:
Hello Zach, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that you found our course in substandard condition. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The roughest

This was the worst shape course I have ever played and I have played some rough courses. Most of the fairways were dirt and mud. Only a few of the greens were in decent condition.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/19/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that you found our course in bad shape. Your feedback is important to us!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/17/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are glad to hear that you had a fun experience with us the other day. Thanks for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/11/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to hear that you found our course good value for your money. We appreciate you stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Poor shape & Slow pace

Course conditions were poor other than the greens. The fairways are half dirt and half grass. The pace of play was the worst I’ve experienced. Other than the staff that was nice to deal with, everything else was below average.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/11/2018:
Hello Bryan, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that you found our course in poor shape and that there was slow pace of play. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience with our staff, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/10/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are happy to see that you had an enjoyable golfing experience with us the other day. We appreciate you stopping by, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

value golf

Round was ok, but course was in rough shape open irrigation lines, and rock hard traps, Too many bare patch for the time of year.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/10/2018:
Hello Nick and Charles, thank you for the three-star review. We are sorry to hear that you found our course in poor shape. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Great layout but slow

The pace of play is very slow especially in the front nine due to the par 5 being back to back. The players are waiting hoping they could hit further then their eyes could see.

This course has great layout and challenging.

The fairways needs some work.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/10/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four-star review. We are sorry to hear that the pace of play was slow, but we are glad that you enjoyed our course layout. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time out there! Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good value

I am just starting to play golf, so my comments are based onI that. Staff is very friendly. Course is a little tired is how I would describe it. If you are looking for a good value and non-resort golf course you will enjoy it.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for the three-star review. We are happy to hear that you started playing golf! We are glad that you had a pleasant experience with our staff and that you found it good value for your money. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs a lot of attention

We have played this course several times and found it to be in its worse shape this time. Played as a twosome so expected that it would be slow. We were not told there was a tournament underway. One group let us through at the turn then caught up to next group who told us about the tournament. The fairways are very dry. Edges and off fairways look awful. The greens were super slow. There was a refreshment cart and the girl was super nice. There were some kids playing behind one of the greens, climbing a tree. Course is in between houses and backyards are not very nice to look at either.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/09/2018:
Hello Louise, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that you found our course in bad shape. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A few interesting holes

Not bad for the price. A few too many geese reminders

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/09/2018:
Hello Jesse, thank you for the three-star review. We are glad to hear that you found our course good value for your money. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/05/2018:
Hello Andy, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to see that you had a pleasant experience with us the other day. We appreciate you stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to see that you found our course enjoyable. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First time

Well being my first time there and booking online it was really sucky. First my tee time was at 1:5opm and there was a tournament going on at 2pm. So stuck in traffic not knowing how long it would take me to get there. To make the story short I got there 10 min late. So we started playing the back 9 while the tournament played the front 9. By the time I got around the front I was waiting at the tee for maybe 18 min each hole. Their were probably 3 foursome and 2 other players in front of us. So I decided to call the front end to see if I could maybe come play the front 9 another day or maybe pay less next time. Wasn't asking for money back at all. The gentleman that answere was not professional at all and repeatedly said well your were late and that I should of been there on time. We ended up leaving my friend and i, so I won't probably come back to this course again.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Villa de Paz Golf Club on 04/03/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience when you arrived late. It seems that timing between your late arrival and the tournament made the experience less enjoyable. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope that you will have a better experience next time around.
Nearby Courses
Glendale, Arizona
2.9178941176
120
Litchfield Park, Arizona
4.0931764706
255
Litchfield Park, Arizona
4.2241352941
429
Avondale, Arizona
3.9535411765
665
Peoria, Arizona
3.5812470588
345
Goodyear, Arizona
3.9611176471
173
Litchfield Park, Arizona
4.0737823529
269
Goodyear, Arizona
3.4594176471
61
Sun City, Arizona
3.6523470588
181
Phoenix, Arizona
3.8874411765
552
Litchfield Park, Arizona
3.2422411765
403
Sun City, Arizona
4.0194882353
258

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE