Coronado Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
130
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
21
1 Stars
22
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.6
Layout
3.2
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.1
69.8%
Recommend this course
92 out of 130 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.3
4
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.5
Layout
3.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.5
75.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.0
18
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.5
Layout
3.4
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.4
72.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Public
Style Traditional/Executive
Par 31
Length 1850
Slope 75
Rating 28.8
Coronado Golf Course is as excellent place for golfers to work on their short game and it is also great for beginners. The course is relatively flat making it pleasantly walkable. The greens are large and the fairways are lined with trees, but still have generous landing areas. The holes are quite challenging with water hazards and bunkers coming into play. The relaxed atmosphere and affordability of the course have made it popular among locals, yet the course is still surprisingly not crowded most of the time. Coronado Golf Course has convenient practice facilities, including a lighted driving range that stays open until 9 every night.
Book a Tee Time at
Coronado Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White (W) 31 1850 yards 28.8 75
White 31 1850 yards 28.4 80
Scorecard for Coronado
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
White M: 29.8/96 W: 30.4/98 255 111 362 148 160 278 130 145 261 1850 1850
Handicap 3 9 1 6 5 2 8 7 4
Par 4 3 4 3 3 4 3 3 4 31 31

Course Details

Year Built 1966
Golf Season Year round
Architect Milt Coggins (1966) Jeff Hardin (1966) Greg Nash (1966)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted No
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.0
130

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 10
Bunkers 9
This course/club is great for:
9-Hole Rounds 25
Walkers 20
Beginners 18
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 20
Near Local Attractions 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great roll out!

There was hardly anything that looked like grass in the fairways. The greens had a boarder of grass around them. It was best to use a putter from anywhere 30 feet off the green. I took my grandson but we won’t be back.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fair 9 hole course

My wife and I enjoyed the course, she is a beginner, so for her the course was good,Greens were in good shape and fast, for the money it was worth playing.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Perfect for a family

Great weather. Nice greens. Affordable. what more can you ask.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Best Deal Ever

For as cheap as it is to golf at Coronado, you wouldn’t expect the course to be extremely playable, staff to be friendly, and driving range to be fun, but all the above is true!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Simple and friendly course that suits our (my wife and I) level. Very friendly staff and one can play a very relaxing, yet challenging round.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rip off

For 9 holes on this course for what we paid should’ve included a cart. Showed up and paid an additional $14 for a cart and the course was in very bad shape with a lot of dirt spots and dead grass. This could be a really nice course if it was taken care of.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 04/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Coronado Golf Course, in the Scottsdale, Arizona area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather

Great Course for Beginners

Friendly staff, fair prices and great course that offers just what a beginner golfer needs.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather

Primitive golf course

Poorly maintained golf course in the heart of Scottsdale...what a shame. Fairways were mostly dirt, minimal grass, fair greens and no protection from errant driving range balls on 9th hole. Cannot believe no one has seriously been hurt on the 9th hole with only partial netting. Be very careful when playing the last hole.. The owners of course are just begging for a lawsuit.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Mkimmins
Commented On 2018-04-06T14:53:38.000+00:00

I have met the owners a few times, they have been trying for over a year to redo the netting, but the neighbors and the city haven't been letting them. Don't jump to conclusions. The course provides a niche. Not every course fits every person.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Quick / Fun course

Staff is friendly, course is fun (greens are not Augusta though, but again this is an executive course).

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Friendly staff

My tennis friend and I love to play golf at Coronado for a number of reasons. The friendly staff is always a plus and we can play quickly. I would recommend this course to most hackers like us. Perfect.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

No fairways

The course is an executive 9 hole with short par 4s and longer par 3 holes. Outside of #1 and #9 , the fairways are nothing but dead grass. The greens are in good shape and the tee boxes are also fair. They seem to be the only places watered outside of 1and 9. There are no ball washers at all. There is a lighted driving range which seems to be popular. If you have a learning golfer, it is a good place to begin.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/07/2018:
Thank you for visiting us at Coronado Golf Course and taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience didn't quite live up to your expectations, but we hope that you still had an enjoyable round. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your future experiences at our course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather

Just Do It!

If you have no expectations, and you just want to go have some fun with friends, on a very cheap budget this is the course for you in Scottsdale. Greens are fast and mowed correctly. Fairways are bad but challenging nonetheless. If you're picky don't go off here. The 7.99 price says it all. Go have some laughs and fun with friends. I walked in my friends road in Card. short course par 31. I shot 73 were 18

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/01/2018:
Thanks so much for the review! We are very pleased to hear that our staff treated you so well and that the pace and course layout met your standards. We appreciate your feedback, so we will share your views regarding the course conditions. Thanks so much for visiting Coronado Golf Course!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Joke of a course

Don’t waste your money. Not nice at all. Huge mud puddles where gravel and dirt cart path used to be. You’re taking your life in your hands on hole 9 - next to range and fence is either non- existent or so many holes that there were about 150 golf balls in the fairway and several balls came close to hitting us in the fairway. One hit our cart. Just an awful course!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/01/2018:
We are sorry you did not enjoy the facility. We had a massive storm overnight and our crew did the best they could to get the clean-up finished. We never want our guests to feel in danger on hole nine, so we hope you spoke with the pro-shop about the situation. We will also make a concerted effort to keep a better eye on the driving range patrons. We never want to see a customer unhappy, but not every facility can satisfy every customer! Best wishes in your future golfing ventures!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Value for money

Course was well laid out as we did not have any trouble knowing where to go. Staff was friendly. Would be nice to have yardage markers, fortunately the women we golfed with had a device. Course was quite dry but this is the first time we have golfed in Arizona for BC. Received a very good deal on Golfnow.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/05/2018:
Hello Dan, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Coronado Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you will see improvements in the course conditions the next time you are with us. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Coronado Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Scottsdale, Arizona area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Nice level course

Course keep in good shape with greens in excellent condition. Good value.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Poor. Fairways

The course is an executive 9 hole course. The greens are well clipped and watered, but outside of holes one and nine, there is no grass on the fairways. It appears that they are not watering them or they have not been over seeded. Hole number two, three and nine there is a danger of being hit by a range ball as they are in the process of replacing the old nets with taller ones. However, this seems to be a five year project as I have played there the past two years and only the posts are in place. The course is a good beginner course with very reasonable rates, but for an experience golfer, it would not be a challenge.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/22/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Nearby Courses
Scottsdale, Arizona
3.4145294118
335
Scottsdale, Arizona
5.0
1
Scottsdale, Arizona
3.6314470588
738
Phoenix, Arizona
0.0
0
Phoenix, Arizona
4.0710588235
325
Tempe, Arizona
4.0187823529
409
Tempe, Arizona
3.3589294118
349
Scottsdale, Arizona
4.1176588235
995
Paradise Valley, Arizona
4.1530352941
444
Scottsdale, Arizona
3.4519352941
845
Mesa, Arizona
5.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

$331 Starting price
Valid dates: Mar 01, 2019 - Apr 21, 2019
Get a head start on Spring and experience true southern hospitality with championship golf and charming villas in beautiful South Carolina Lowcountry with the Spring Getaway.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE