Coronado Golf Course

2.8223176471 2.8 stars from 5 (124)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 31
  • Length: 1850 yards
  • Slope: 75
  • Rating: 28.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White (W) 31 1850 yards 28.8 75
White 31 1850 yards 28.4 80

Coronado Golf Course is as excellent place for golfers to work on their short game and it is also great for beginners. The course is relatively flat making it pleasantly walkable. The greens are large and the fairways are lined with trees, but still have generous landing areas. The holes are quite challenging with water hazards and bunkers coming into play. The relaxed atmosphere and affordability of the course have made it popular among locals, yet the course is still surprisingly not crowded most of the time. Coronado Golf Course has convenient practice facilities, including a lighted driving range that stays open until 9 every night.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 124 Reviews
5 stars:
12
4 stars:
34
3 stars:
36
2 stars:
20
1 stars:
22

recommend this course

87 out of 122 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for 9-hole rounds walkers beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Rip off"


mebert23's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For 9 holes on this course for what we paid should’ve included a cart. Showed up and paid an additional $14 for a cart and the course was in very bad shape with a lot of dirt spots and dead grass. This could be a really nice course if it was taken care of.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



Madone51's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Great Course for Beginners"


Eguti's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

Friendly staff, fair prices and great course that offers just what a beginner golfer needs.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Primitive golf course"


Vago's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Poorly maintained golf course in the heart of Scottsdale...what a shame. Fairways were mostly dirt, minimal grass, fair greens and no protection from errant driving range balls on 9th hole. Cannot believe no one has seriously been hurt on the 9th hole with only partial netting. Be very careful when playing the last hole.. The owners of course are just begging for a lawsuit.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/06/2018

I have met the owners a few times, they have been trying for over a year to redo the netting, but the neighbors and the city haven't been letting them. Don't jump to conclusions. The course provides a niche. Not every course fits every person.


"Quick / Fun course"


Crushemnow's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is friendly, course is fun (greens are not Augusta though, but again this is an executive course).


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Friendly staff"


u249387230's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

My tennis friend and I love to play golf at Coronado for a number of reasons. The friendly staff is always a plus and we can play quickly. I would recommend this course to most hackers like us. Perfect.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"No fairways"


Kangaroo1's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is an executive 9 hole with short par 4s and longer par 3 holes. Outside of #1 and #9 , the fairways are nothing but dead grass. The greens are in good shape and the tee boxes are also fair. They seem to be the only places watered outside of 1and 9. There are no ball washers at all. There is a lighted driving range which seems to be popular. If you have a learning golfer, it is a good place to begin.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/07/2018:

Thank you for visiting us at Coronado Golf Course and taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience didn't quite live up to your expectations, but we hope that you still had an enjoyable round. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your future experiences at our course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us. We hope to see you again soon!

"Just Do It!"


ruelect's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2018
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you have no expectations, and you just want to go have some fun with friends, on a very cheap budget this is the course for you in Scottsdale. Greens are fast and mowed correctly. Fairways are bad but challenging nonetheless. If you're picky don't go off here. The 7.99 price says it all. Go have some laughs and fun with friends. I walked in my friends road in Card. short course par 31. I shot 73 were 18


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.


tnlfeutz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/01/2018:

Thanks so much for the review! We are very pleased to hear that our staff treated you so well and that the pace and course layout met your standards. We appreciate your feedback, so we will share your views regarding the course conditions. Thanks so much for visiting Coronado Golf Course!

"Joke of a course"


jkbeger41golf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Don’t waste your money. Not nice at all. Huge mud puddles where gravel and dirt cart path used to be. You’re taking your life in your hands on hole 9 - next to range and fence is either non- existent or so many holes that there were about 150 golf balls in the fairway and several balls came close to hitting us in the fairway. One hit our cart. Just an awful course!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/01/2018:

We are sorry you did not enjoy the facility. We had a massive storm overnight and our crew did the best they could to get the clean-up finished. We never want our guests to feel in danger on hole nine, so we hope you spoke with the pro-shop about the situation. We will also make a concerted effort to keep a better eye on the driving range patrons.

We never want to see a customer unhappy, but not every facility can satisfy every customer! Best wishes in your future golfing ventures!

"Value for money"


DanSher's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was well laid out as we did not have any trouble knowing where to go. Staff was friendly. Would be nice to have yardage markers, fortunately the women we golfed with had a device. Course was quite dry but this is the first time we have golfed in Arizona for BC. Received a very good deal on Golfnow.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/05/2018:

Hello Dan, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Coronado Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you will see improvements in the course conditions the next time you are with us. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


jjetal's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Coronado Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Scottsdale, Arizona area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Nice level course"


Tedk49's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course keep in good shape with greens in excellent condition. Good value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Poor. Fairways"


Kangaroo1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is an executive 9 hole course. The greens are well clipped and watered, but outside of holes one and nine, there is no grass on the fairways. It appears that they are not watering them or they have not been over seeded. Hole number two, three and nine there is a danger of being hit by a range ball as they are in the process of replacing the old nets with taller ones. However, this seems to be a five year project as I have played there the past two years and only the posts are in place. The course is a good beginner course with very reasonable rates, but for an experience golfer, it would not be a challenge.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Coronado Golf Course on 03/22/2018:

Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The man at the front desk was going to refuse to let me play 18, stating that he doesn’t offer 18 hole play. I had to show him various proof of purchases at which point he allowed 18 but required us to check back after the 1st 9.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"fun 9 hole course to polish game"


madmax7's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/23/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout and fun holes. Perfect for when you don't have time to play a full 18 holes and want to play in under 2 hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Horrible customer service"


u953936856's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff extremely unfriendly. I’m a regular here at the range and play the course every so often. Never had any issues with getting the online rate in person. Staff would not set this up and gave us an extremely difficult time telling us we had to book I️t online. So we did. After doing so he informed us I️t was an additional fee to have a cart. Extremely unhelpful and rude. Then our cart died on us on the 6th hole. Would not rewccomend this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Old Course"


u103537431's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is an old course that has not been updated in 35 years or more. If you want to waste your time and money, go play this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



u8812043's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Value course"


Luis6280999's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A quick 9, reasonable course conditions. Cash only. Lighted driving range open till 9pm.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed