Comstock/River at Empire Ranch Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
103
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
2.9
Value
4.0
Layout
0
76.9%
Recommend this course
90 out of 103 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
103
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.0
Conditions
2.8
Value
3.9
Layout
3.3
70.0%
Recommend this course
7 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
103
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.4
Conditions
2.9
Value
4.1
Layout
3.4
81.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6840
Slope 125
Rating 71.4
Type Public
Empire Ranch Golf Course, situated in the picturesque Carson Valley, features 27 holes of golf that overlook the Carson River. Located just minutes from downtown Carson City, Empire Ranch's three individual nines offer three different 18-hole combinations that have a convenient location but still provide a challenging golf getaway. The Comstock/River layout features lakes and wetlands coming into play throughout. The fairways are also well guarded by strategically placed bunkers. It provides a fair test, but the golf course is forgiving enough for beginning and intermediate players. In addition to the three courses, Empire Ranch also offers extensive practice facilities and a staff of PGA Professionals who can provide golf instruction.
Book a Tee Time at
Empire Ranch Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6840 yards 71.4 125
Blue 72 6392 yards 69.5 120
White 72 5923 yards 67.2 116
Green 72 5409 yards 64.9 107
Green (W) 72 5409 yards 70.5 131
Red (W) 72 4854 yards 67.3 122
Scorecard for Comstock/River
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 71.4/125 384 510 184 512 446 375 381 192 356 3340 341 523 444 207 355 542 434 194 460 3500 6840
Blue M: 69.5/120 349 490 177 475 411 350 351 178 337 3118 330 487 407 198 313 511 403 181 444 3274 6392
White M: 67.2/116 336 469 155 448 403 304 334 162 309 2920 299 452 394 173 277 464 378 161 405 3003 5923
Green M: 64.9/107 W: 70.5/128 311 453 135 407 378 293 292 128 287 2684 259 430 351 141 250 440 337 144 373 2725 5409
Red W: 67.6/120 256 415 98 393 349 267 268 112 187 2345 236 406 339 124 229 401 325 127 322 2509 4854
Handicap 13 11 3 9 1 17 15 7 5 14 12 4 10 2 18 16 8 6
Par 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 3 4 36 4 5 4 3 4 5 4 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Golf Season Year round
Architect Cary Bickler

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.3
103

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 13
Brunch 9
Patio Dining 8
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 17
Bunkers 10
Forced Carries 10
This course/club is great for:
Locals 19
Seniors 19
Playing Multiple Courses 14
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 16
Worth the Drive 10
Near Local Attractions 5
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Fair
Response from Empire Ranch Golf Club on 06/26/2018:
Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed your round with us but we apologize that our sand traps didn't meet your expectations. We hope to have you back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Course had been flooded and unplayable except the blue 9.

Weather was perfect but the course was not. Been flooded badly and still the damages were being repaired but they seemed to take their time doing it with only a handful of people actually working on the repairs. Even before the flood the red course didn’t have a good condition with a couple of holes not playable. Had to jump from the red course to the white course, This was the third time we played there and never finished. This time we were forced to quit after playing 11 holes. Even with the GolfNow discount, it was not worth. Sorry but we will stay away from this course the remainder of the year.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

After all of the flooding and other unfortunate events with Mother Nature, this course is committed to repair the damaged areas and bring the course up to snuff.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Fair
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Course damaged but recovering

Showed up and advised they had damage from a flooded river. They made 18 holes out of the 3 9 hole courses. Considering the damage the course was in decent shape. The only problem was the last 4 holes not marked well and had to drive around to find which ones to play. Course should get better as the season progresses.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Under New managment

This is not the course you would want to go to. It's torn up. The old man in the club house did not know anything tried to make me pay 2 times and I booked on golf now. Then practicing chips and putting. Some lady disrespected me because I have tattoos. Mind you I was dressed to golf kaki pants and a button up shirt. Well dressed. And she just profiled me. I have never been disrespected so bad ever in my life. I will not go to this course again. I do not recommend this course for anyone.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Had Fun

Fun Course.. Got pretty tore up by storms the last year but they’ve turned it into a fun 18 Hole Par 70.. Nice little bar inside too, staff is very friendly!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE