Comstock/River at Empire Ranch Golf Course

3.3247117647 3.3 stars from 5 (103)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6840 yards
  • Slope: 125
  • Rating: 71.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6840 yards 71.4 125
Blue 72 6392 yards 69.5 120
White 72 5923 yards 67.2 116
Green 72 5409 yards 64.9 107
Green (W) 72 5409 yards 70.5 131
Red (W) 72 4854 yards 67.3 122

Empire Ranch Golf Course, situated in the picturesque Carson Valley, features 27 holes of golf that overlook the Carson River. Located just minutes from downtown Carson City, Empire Ranch's three individual nines offer three different 18-hole combinations that have a convenient location but still provide a challenging golf getaway. The Comstock/River layout features lakes and wetlands coming into play throughout. The fairways are also well guarded by strategically placed bunkers. It provides a fair test, but the golf course is forgiving enough for beginning and intermediate players. In addition to the three courses, Empire Ranch also offers extensive practice facilities and a staff of PGA Professionals who can provide golf instruction.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 103 Reviews
5 stars:
14
4 stars:
58
3 stars:
19
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

90 out of 103 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals seniors playing multiple courses   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Steve8809480's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Course had been flooded and unplayable except the blue 9."


dyblee's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Weather was perfect but the course was not. Been flooded badly and still the damages were being repaired but they seemed to take their time doing it with only a handful of people actually working on the repairs. Even before the flood the red course didn’t have a good condition with a couple of holes not playable. Had to jump from the red course to the white course, This was the third time we played there and never finished. This time we were forced to quit after playing 11 holes. Even with the GolfNow discount, it was not worth. Sorry but we will stay away from this course the remainder of the year.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Great course"


Kris8534131's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After all of the flooding and other unfortunate events with Mother Nature, this course is committed to repair the damaged areas and bring the course up to snuff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



andydeleon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Course damaged but recovering"


rosplace's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Showed up and advised they had damage from a flooded river. They made 18 holes out of the 3 9 hole courses. Considering the damage the course was in decent shape. The only problem was the last 4 holes not marked well and had to drive around to find which ones to play. Course should get better as the season progresses.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Kris8534131's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Under New managment"


u555059842's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is not the course you would want to go to. It's torn up. The old man in the club house did not know anything tried to make me pay 2 times and I booked on golf now. Then practicing chips and putting. Some lady disrespected me because I have tattoos. Mind you I was dressed to golf kaki pants and a button up shirt. Well dressed. And she just profiled me. I have never been disrespected so bad ever in my life. I will not go to this course again. I do not recommend this course for anyone.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



Kris8534131's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Shaggeyeyey's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Had Fun"


aafreshj's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun Course..

Got pretty tore up by storms the last year but they’ve turned it into a fun 18 Hole Par 70..

Nice little bar inside too, staff is very friendly!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A great value"


nancybrat's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course had damage last winter due to flooding, but the staff is working on repairs. There are many rough spots, but the course is enjoyable with some challenging holes. Friendly staff!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"This course is affordable."


nancybrat's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff is courteous. The course has some damage but they are doing their best to recondition it. The tee boxes are nice. The greens could use some work around the holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course Improving; Friendly staff"


dgpetty's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After a Spring flood, the course conditions have gradually improved. Still a few extra water hazards. Frozen turf presents some new challenges but today the warm temps thawed the top inch or two of turf. Fairways and greens have a surprising amount of green grass, but are very rough in places.

Staff are very friendly. Cafe serves lunches at a good value.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Recovering Nicely"


JeffCowan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They have 9 holes Blue, 5 Red and 4 white.

Nice job making a playable and fun 18 holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Course was partially closed"


u446248573's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a 27 hole course (3 nine hole courses) 1 Course completely closed. The other 2 courses has multiple holes closed as well. You played a combination of the two courses to make a 9 hole game. We played it twice to play 18 holes. They are punching the course!!! Other areas are very wet and muddy. Greens are recently sanded. Restaurant food was great, as always!!! Best dogs and burgers EVER!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Flood Recovery"


dgpetty's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was still wet in many places but staff have selected 18 holes to play out of the 27. Conditions are much better than a few months ago.

Staff are friendly, restaurant serves good food at modest prices. Excellent value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Under repair"


casper007's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They have 27 holes, but are repairing 18 of them from the flood. You had to play 4 or 5 holes of each 9hole course. It was marked ok, and enjoyed all 18 holes. The greens were in good shape and the ruff was semi-long and green? I will play it again but it's far from my house.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



Jerry7954740's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Terrible"


jrbbjs01's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course is NOT playable! Staff did not even mention the bad conditions when we called for tee time and not when we walked in! Then we were handed a list of 18 (all over the 27) to play. The course already has a lot of water, but now even more, not shown anywhere. Sand traps are half weeds, smell is bad and to top it off, there are NO directions on how to find these scattered holes!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Can't Fight Mother Nature"


u000005134607's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the course very much especially via online deals. Unfortunately with the extreme weather we have had in the Reno / Carson Valley areas, Mother Nature has not been kind to this course. There has been a lot of storm damage, mostly from flooding. I played on 3/14 and only 12 of the 27 holes were open for play. The conditions are obviously not the fault of the course management but rather Mother Nature and I don't see it being back to normal for at least a few months ( my unprofessional opinion).

.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed