Barefoot Resort & Golf - Love Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
23
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.1
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.0
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.7
Layout
4.2
79.4%
Recommend this course
19 out of 23 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
23
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.3
100.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
23
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
Conditions
4.2
Value
3.7
Layout
4.3
75.0%
Recommend this course
9 out of 12 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7047
Slope 139
Rating 75.1
Type Resort
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Platinum 72 7047 yards 75.1 139
Black 72 6542 yards 72.5 135
White 72 6055 yards 69.8 123
White (W) 72 6055 yards 75.4 129
Green 72 5643 yards 67.9 119
Gold 72 5346 yards 71.1 124
Scorecard for Love Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Platinum M: 74.9/141 381 518 191 294 463 403 450 552 235 3487 367 136 456 484 439 228 412 442 596 3560 7047
Black M: 72.4/137 352 483 169 280 443 370 426 525 207 3255 345 123 421 470 402 172 375 420 559 3287 6542
White M: 70.3/130 W: 75.3/134 321 455 144 265 420 340 398 485 187 3015 321 109 393 447 361 154 332 389 534 3040 6055
Green M: 68.4/123 W: 72.9/130 268 455 139 252 400 300 357 468 160 2799 296 109 385 420 361 154 300 353 466 2844 5643
Gold M: 67.0/120 W: 71.0/124 243 437 116 247 395 281 315 444 139 2617 275 100 370 416 337 127 295 345 454 2719 5336
Handicap 13 7 15 17 1 9 5 3 11 16 18 2 8 10 14 12 6 4
Par 4 5 3 4 4 4 4 5 3 36 4 3 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Fairways GN-1 Bermuda Grass
Greens Champion UltraDwarf Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Davis Love III (2000)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Dyer Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code No Denim, Collared Shirt Required

Reviews

3.9
23
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

What's not to Love

Played this course for the first time in a few years. Over all the greens like many area courses have recovered well after the winterkill issues. The tee boxes and fairways were a bit lush and fluffy and probably needed to be cut but that was likely a result of the good bit of rain that came down the previous two days. This also caused cart path only but we got out first and had no issues with time. Played in under 4 hours as there were few people on the course ahead of us. My favorite part about this course is that the layout plays fair but is challenging. Additionally, it has a quiet beauty too it and the ruins on holes 4 and 6 add a wonderful touch to the character of the grounds.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Used cart

second 18 of the day

We played the Dye course in the morning and chose the Love course to play our second 18. It was in much better condition. The greens were nearly perfect. It was a pretty and fun layout that was not overly difficult.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Love at Barefoot

The Love course at Barefoot is a solid track. It's a very playable course for all skill levels, and offers plenty of scoring opportunities for better golfers. I appreciated the mix of holes as there were a nice mix of short/long Par 3s and Par 5s. A few unique holes definitely make this worthy of the play. You can the resort was built as a big money property as there are many nice amenities throughout the resort (GPS Golf Carts, large and beautiful clubhouse, restrooms on the courses, etc.). If you are playing soon, be aware that the resort suffered some tough weather in the recent months and have a lot of issues with the greens. They were repairing them while I was there. There were about 5-6 greens on each course that were getting partially scraped and sodded.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Play on Wednesday only

Excellent conditions, great clubhouse. Play on the reduced Wednesday rates only though. At $65 it's not worth playing more than once. Layout is great. Bigger fairways, medium size greens. Every spot on the fairway felt like hitting off carpet. I've played all Barefoot courses, this one is the best conditioned. I thought the Norman course was the best risk/reward and most memorable, however the greens and fairways are in much better condition on the Love course. Not saying the others are bad, just saying you can tell Barefoot spends their time on the Love course when it comes to maintenance.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Above Average, but not a standout

A fair course. I think it would be lost in the Myrtle Beach mix were it not at Barefoot. The fake ruins on the front nine are OK, I guess, but they don't really do anything for me. The course is OK, but doesn't really have any holes that stand out to me. Just an average round of golf.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Best of the Fazio, Norman, and Love Tracks

We haven't played the Dye course yet, but of the three Barefoot courses we have played, this is the best. The Love Course was in great shape and we loved the layout. It is on the same plot of land as the Norman and Fazio, but the layout is more unique and playable. The biggest difference was around the greens. The Love course has smaller greens, all of which were elevated, with huge collection areas around each one. There are some bunkers, but nothing like the large, deep ones on the Fazio or Norman. There were also some unique touches to the course and the greens rolled very true.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Day

We went to Barefoot Resort 11/30-12/3 and had perfect weather. We played all four courses and they were all in great shape. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The rangers did their best to keep the pace of play but it was slow at time (not the rangers fault, golfers need to know how to speed up play). Very impressed with all four courses and argued amount our group about which was the favorite. Greens were in great shape, fairways immaculate. The package at Barefoot is without a doubt worth the price. Thank you for a great experience.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Worth playing

All Barefoot courses are very well maintain. Played at a discounted rate which makes it an affordable experience. Heavy rain the day before required cart path only conditions, which was understandable. The Love course is enjoyable to play. No real forced carries, good fairway landing areas and reasonably placed bunkers. The greens rolled a little slow, more do to the wet conditions from the prior day.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very nice course but overall experience lacking

This course is very nice and the layout is very interesting. The main issue I had with the layout is that it's too punishing. Any shot that's not on the fairway or rough is out of bounds. If you're not a straight hitter you're going to lose a lot of balls and take a lot of penalty strokes. The overall experience was also severely lacking. It felt kind of like disney world where you're just getting shuttled around and it just feels very impersonal. The staff was pretty friendly overall but compared to some of the other courses I play it just felt like I was a number and not a customer if that makes sense.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing

Wonderful layout, sometimes it's the little things

Was set to go out as a single at 7:10 am on a Sunday, missed the sign to turn into clubhouse as it was still dark, got there to find out range was a shuttle ride away , now I did not have time to use complimentary bucket, got sent out to first tee ( got paired with another single)only to have to wait in fairway as they were still cutting green and spraying it , staff was very helpful and always offering water and ice. Loved the ruins , all greens were true and fast even with the dew. Played in 3.5 hours, has GPS and upon conclusion of roundness they' offered complimentary shoe shine but no one was in locker room to do it . Frustrated with my play I asked if I could still go hit my bucket and they did arrange for it, grass range but balls were in awful condition. To make it a truly wonderful experience I wish I knew range was not on course,and they should have held us till 7:20 and they need new range balls , I will be back to try other 3 courses
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.5195823529
12
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
4.2598235294
19
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.2647058824
21
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.963
27
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
4.2284117647
30
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.963
27
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.963
27
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1.0
1
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
4.5
2
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE