Azalea Sands Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
268
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
95
2 Stars
43
1 Stars
39
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.6
Layout
3.5
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.7
66.0%
Recommend this course
169 out of 268 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.0
32
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
5
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.3
Layout
3.6
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.3
StaffFriendliness
4.3
62.5%
Recommend this course
20 out of 32 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.1
87
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
7
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.5
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.4
StaffFriendliness
4.2
66.7%
Recommend this course
58 out of 87 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6902
Slope 123
Rating 72.5
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Azalea Sands Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6902 yards 72.5 123
White 72 6287 yards 69.5 116
Gold 72 5958 yards
Red (W) 72 5148 yards 70.2 119
Scorecard for Azalea Sands
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 72.5/123 515 372 435 385 195 535 410 182 420 3449 385 515 207 410 430 221 385 360 540 3453 6902
White M: 69.5/116 480 337 390 350 168 501 375 155 385 3141 350 460 190 380 385 199 350 330 502 3146 6287
Gold M: 67.1/111 470 321 368 325 155 489 363 139 365 2995 330 429 166 368 367 175 330 312 486 2963 5958
Red W: 70.2/119 412 277 320 259 131 421 299 119 301 2539 295 355 133 351 327 128 308 283 429 2609 5148
Handicap 7 17 1 13 11 9 5 15 3 16 12 8 10 2 6 14 18 4
Par 5 4 4 4 3 5 4 3 4 36 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 3 13 5 11 15 1 9 17 7 14 8 16 4 6 10 12 18 2

Course Details

Year Built 1972
Fairways Bermuda
Greens Bermuda
Golf Season Year round
Architect Gene Hamm

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.0
268

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 18
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 36
Water Hazards 35
Thick Rough 14
This course/club is great for:
Beginners 30
Seniors 26
Walkers 18
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 35
Near Local Attractions 26
Near the Airport 13

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course for the $

Overall great course for the money, greens need some work but other than that friendly course for many.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/12/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to having you back!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Basics

The greens were super slow. The fairways were very dry and in need attention. Several tees were bare sand in many places.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/04/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review. We value our customer experience so your feedback is important. We will be sure to pass this along to our staff.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

No Real Complaints

For $25, it met all expectations. Overall, the course was really fun, had very good variety in the holes. The conditions were a bit deteriorated, which is sad because with good conditions, the course would be outstanding. One knock...no logo golf balls...come on, how does a course in a tourist area not have logo balls? Yes, I know the course is low key and such, but balls don't exactly expire. Gotta have logo balls. That said, not a big deal, I'd play again for sure.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 07/12/2018:
Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club, John. We appreciate your 4-star overall rating. We're glad to hear you had fun and enjoyed the layout of the course. We appreciate your feedback regarding the logo balls. We hope you come back for another round soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather

Back to Azalea Sands

All the grandchildlren have gone home from the beach so I had to play my round at Azalea Sands as a single. The staff were friendly and the course was in great shape. I have played on some very pricey courses in Myrtle Beach that did not beat this course. I hit a perfect spot in the tee times and was able to finish my 18 ho;es in a personal best of less than 3 hours. I don't feel that my trip to the beach is complete until I have played Azalea Sands. It was a memorable round.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 07/09/2018:
Thanks for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club! We're glad to hear you enjoyed yet another round of golf with us. Nothing beats playing 18 holes under 3 hours! We hope you join us for another round next time you visit the area.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First round of the trip

Course in rough shape, greens terrible, clubhouse closed. Please pull the plug!

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/14/2018:
Hello, we're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Azalea Sands Golf Club is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value

Other than the pro shop being out of commission and the greens being a little rough. The fairways were well cut and layout was good. Watch out for the hidden hazards that pop up in the fairways.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/14/2018:
Hello, we're glad you enjoyed our nice course layout and a quick pace of play. Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worst course I’ve ever seen

Words can’t describe how awful this course was. Weeds and crabgrass throughout and the greens were atrocious. I am embarrassed to have to write this review. We walked off the course after 6 holes and went to a different course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/13/2018:
Hello, we apologize you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Azalea Sands Golf Club is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

Rough around the edges

No potable water on course

Could be a fine course w/improved maintainence

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club. As you may know, this past winter was rough on our course as well as many others in the area but our staff is working hard every day to make the necessary improvements. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course had it’s challenges; Friendly staff made up for it.

Course was hit hard by winter conditions. Clubhouse not functioning at the time we played. Friendly staff made up for the deficiencies. We actually had a great time.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you had a great time. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

The course is in terrible shape

Greens were in bad shape. Very spotty.

The grass around several greens was non existent, meaning you had to chip on dirt.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for your feedback, Grant. This past winter was rough on the course but our staff is working hard every day to make the necessary improvements. We hope you'll give us the chance to exceed your expectations in the near future.
Request A Vacation Quote From Fore Myrtle Beach
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Fore Myrtle Beach will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.9661941176
384
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.5
12
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1.0
1
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
4.2598235294
19
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.2647058824
21
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
0.0
0
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
5.0
1
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.9509705882
23
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.5195823529
12
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
4.2548764706
30
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.963
27
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.963
27

Stay & Play Offers

$174 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 17, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018
Staying at Orange Lake Resort and teeing off on any of our four unique golf courses has never been easier.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE