Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
266
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
69
3 Stars
94
2 Stars
43
1 Stars
39
Staff Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.7
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.6
Layout
3.5
65.9%
Recommend this course
168 out of 266 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
266
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
10
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.2
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.3
Layout
3.6
61.0%
Recommend this course
25 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
266
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
9
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
2.4
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.4
Layout
3.5
66.7%
Recommend this course
60 out of 90 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6902
Slope 123
Rating 72.5
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Azalea Sands Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6902 yards 72.5 123
White 72 6287 yards 69.5 116
Gold 72 5958 yards
Red (W) 72 5148 yards 70.2 119
Scorecard for Azalea Sands
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 72.5/123 515 372 435 385 195 535 410 182 420 3449 385 515 207 410 430 221 385 360 540 3453 6902
White M: 69.5/116 480 337 390 350 168 501 375 155 385 3141 350 460 190 380 385 199 350 330 502 3146 6287
Gold M: 67.1/111 470 321 368 325 155 489 363 139 365 2995 330 429 166 368 367 175 330 312 486 2963 5958
Red W: 70.2/119 412 277 320 259 131 421 299 119 301 2539 295 355 133 351 327 128 308 283 429 2609 5148
Handicap 7 17 1 13 11 9 5 15 3 16 12 8 10 2 6 14 18 4
Par 5 4 4 4 3 5 4 3 4 36 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 3 13 5 11 15 1 9 17 7 14 8 16 4 6 10 12 18 2

Course Details

Year Built 1972
Fairways Bermuda
Greens Bermuda
Golf Season Year round
Architect Gene Hamm

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.0
266

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 18
19th Hole Specials 4
Patio Dining 3
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 36
Water Hazards 35
Thick Rough 14
This course/club is great for:
Beginners 30
Seniors 26
Walkers 18
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 35
Near Local Attractions 26
Near the Airport 13

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

No Real Complaints

For $25, it met all expectations. Overall, the course was really fun, had very good variety in the holes. The conditions were a bit deteriorated, which is sad because with good conditions, the course would be outstanding. One knock...no logo golf balls...come on, how does a course in a tourist area not have logo balls? Yes, I know the course is low key and such, but balls don't exactly expire. Gotta have logo balls. That said, not a big deal, I'd play again for sure.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 07/12/2018:
Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club, John. We appreciate your 4-star overall rating. We're glad to hear you had fun and enjoyed the layout of the course. We appreciate your feedback regarding the logo balls. We hope you come back for another round soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather

Back to Azalea Sands

All the grandchildlren have gone home from the beach so I had to play my round at Azalea Sands as a single. The staff were friendly and the course was in great shape. I have played on some very pricey courses in Myrtle Beach that did not beat this course. I hit a perfect spot in the tee times and was able to finish my 18 ho;es in a personal best of less than 3 hours. I don't feel that my trip to the beach is complete until I have played Azalea Sands. It was a memorable round.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 07/09/2018:
Thanks for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club! We're glad to hear you enjoyed yet another round of golf with us. Nothing beats playing 18 holes under 3 hours! We hope you join us for another round next time you visit the area.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First round of the trip

Course in rough shape, greens terrible, clubhouse closed. Please pull the plug!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/14/2018:
Hello, we're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Azalea Sands Golf Club is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value

Other than the pro shop being out of commission and the greens being a little rough. The fairways were well cut and layout was good. Watch out for the hidden hazards that pop up in the fairways.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/14/2018:
Hello, we're glad you enjoyed our nice course layout and a quick pace of play. Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worst course I’ve ever seen

Words can’t describe how awful this course was. Weeds and crabgrass throughout and the greens were atrocious. I am embarrassed to have to write this review. We walked off the course after 6 holes and went to a different course.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/13/2018:
Hello, we apologize you didn't fully enjoy your round. Our goal at Azalea Sands Golf Club is for every player to enjoy their experience. Thank you for playing, we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart
Rough around the edges No potable water on course Could be a fine course w/improved maintainence
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club. As you may know, this past winter was rough on our course as well as many others in the area but our staff is working hard every day to make the necessary improvements. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course had it’s challenges; Friendly staff made up for it.

Course was hit hard by winter conditions. Clubhouse not functioning at the time we played. Friendly staff made up for the deficiencies. We actually had a great time.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you had a great time. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

The course is in terrible shape

Greens were in bad shape. Very spotty. The grass around several greens was non existent, meaning you had to chip on dirt.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Fair
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for your feedback, Grant. This past winter was rough on the course but our staff is working hard every day to make the necessary improvements. We hope you'll give us the chance to exceed your expectations in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing

Nice day.

For the price was not too bad. Could be a much better course with a little tlc.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 05/15/2018:
Thank you for your feedback. Our staff is working hard every day to recover from the harsh winter and as we continue to improve we hope you'll give us another try.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

With all the choices in MB, why waste time here?

WE played this course as a filler because everything else was booked up, and honestly, i wish we had just slept in! Tough to tell what was fairway, rough, and even greens. Clubhouse was closed, but don't worry they have some very stinky porta potty's! Not a drop of water in any of the coolers on the course, trash cans over flowing(this was first thing in the AM). We will never play again.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 06/04/2018:
Thank you for choosing to play Azalea Sands Golf Club. We're sorry to hear you didn't have a 5-star experience but we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future as our course continues to improve.
Request A Vacation Quote From Fore Myrtle Beach
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Fore Myrtle Beach will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$449 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 03, 2018 - Oct 21, 2018
Book this Stay and Play package to enjoy your stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge which includes 1 round at the exclusive Mountain Course at Spruce Peak (Formerly known as the Stowe Mountain Course) and unlimited rounds at the Stowe Country Club!
Nearby Courses
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.9479470588
379
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.4489714286
12
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1.0
1
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
4.2598235294
19
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.2647058824
21
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
0.0
0
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
5.0
1
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.9313529412
23
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
3.5195823529
12
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE