Azalea Sands Golf Course

3.0319823529 3.0 stars from 5 (225)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6902 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

  • 2100 Hwy 17 S, North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina 29582, Horry County
  • (843) 272-6191
  • www.azaleasandsgc.com

Year built: 1972
Architect(s): Gene Hamm
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda
Fairways: Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6902 yards 72.5 123
White 72 6287 yards 69.5 116
Gold 72 5958 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 72 5148 yards 70.2 119

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 225 Reviews
5 stars:
17
4 stars:
60
3 stars:
81
2 stars:
33
1 stars:
34

recommend this course

143 out of 225 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions near the airport   Great for beginners seniors walkers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards thick rough   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u5636131's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 02/21/2018:

Thank you! Come back again soon.

"Great for the cost"


timpacittosr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Stumbled onto this course via GolfNow. Played 18 holes with cart for $22!! Greens were bumpy. Fairways and tee boxes in decent shape. It's a nice property.. if they threw some money at it, it could be a beautiful course, however in current condition it pales in comparison to other courses in the area. but again, for $22, you can't beat it. Rated amenities low as Club house was about to be demolished, so gathering area was the parking lot.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 02/22/2018:

Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Course, Tim. We appreciate your kind words and feedback. Hopefully, this was the first of many more rounds for you at Azalea Sands! Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.

"You get what you pay for."


u000003451789's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

If you are in Myrtle Beach and looking for an inexpensive course with an easy layout, this is for you.

Good for beginners.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 02/22/2018:

Thank you for recommending our golf course to others! Come back again soon and let's hope for 5 stars next time.


rudywitlox's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 02/20/2018:

Hey Rudy. Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that you like our course. We hope that you will join us for your next round.

"No Amenities"


June6460675's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We arrived to find the club house was closed due to a burst pipe and extensive damage so there was no opportunity to purchase drinks or snacks of any kind and the toilets were porta potties near the parking lot. The toilets on the course are still operational and the better chance should you need to answer nature's call. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The greens were bumpy, so making putts was very difficult and frustrating. Hopefully they will organize coolers for drinks, etc. available at the starter's hut in the near future.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 02/20/2018:

Hello, Thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Azalea Sands Golf Course, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.

"No Amenities"


u000004326750's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Water Main break and no Club House - Johnny on the spots available.

The staff did the best they could to accommodate - quick bag service and apologetic about the amenities.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 02/13/2018:

Hello thank, you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.


optometry's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 02/12/2018:

We are saddened to only see 2 stars. What can we do better next time?


John711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 02/20/2018:

Hello, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.

"Friendly good value for the money"


huey1953's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wet conditions car path only. Over seeded fairways and greens. Green's were bumpy but playable. Still had a great time. Pace of play 4hr's 18 holes and a great friendly staff


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 02/08/2018:

Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club! We apologize if the greens were still coming back from the overseed but they should be in perfect condition very soon. Glad to hear that you still had a great time though. Be sure to book your next round online at www.azaleasandsgc.com!


Taceht's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 01/30/2018:

Thanks for the 4 stars!

"Azalea Sands"


rrmac101's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Club house closed, had a water pipe rupture. Greens were in tough shape, dead spots everywhere but guess to be expected this time of year. Fairways in good shape with 4-5 holes cart only due to water.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 01/30/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Azalea Sands Golf Club in the Myrtle Beach area, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the greens so may work on any necessary improvements. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round and had a fun time on the course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Good value"


Myrtle10's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Extremely slow foursome 4 groups ahead of us. Held up everyone. Third hole had 5 groups on a par 4. Pace of play not acceptable. Did not finish our round.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 01/29/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize if you were unable to finish your round due to the pace of play. That is certainly not the norm and we hope you'll consider giving us another chance to exceed your expectations in the near future.

"course in disarray"


Wayne1603020's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

many holes had little grass - very bland hole lay out - booked too many people close together - constant waiting - started on the tenth hole and when we got to the first they were sending people all along.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 01/29/2018:

Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club, Wayne. We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal during your round but we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.

"Wet But Playable"


jetsticks's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When I called to verify that they were not cart path only, I was told they were not. However, when we arrived we were told it was. Management at Azalea told us it was Golf Now that we talked to and not them. After the first 9, the starter came up to us and told us we could take the carts on the course on the back 9. Very friendly and courteous. Their clubhouse was under repair so there was nothing to say about that.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 01/29/2018:

Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club! We apologize if there was some miscommunication regarding whether or not we were cart path only but we're glad to hear that you still had a 5-star day. Come back again soon!

"a good low-budget option"


djnjoelle's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
First time playing Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played in December, so course was in hibernation-mode. This notwithstanding, some of the greens were inexcusably ragged, some were fine. Not sure if it is a muni course, but it has that feel. Definitely worth 20 bucks, but not much more...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Course on 01/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Myrtle Beach, South Carolina area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


u8671051's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 01/09/2018:

Thanks for the 5 stars! Come back again soon.

"Save your money & find another course"


jpask's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We played in December on a perfect day. The course was empty. The condition of the course was disappointing. The greens were bumpy and patched with brown spots. Same for the tees and fairways. With so many other choices around, I'd only recommend this course to new golfers who don't want to feel rushed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 02/12/2018:

Thank you for playing Azalea Sands Golf Club! We're sorry to hear that your round was anything less than a 5-star experience. Our course has improved a lot since you last played and we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.

"Ryan Wilkinson is a superstar!!"


chefblee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

In coming to South Carolina for 4 days golf excursion, we only had highest expectations due to recommendations from previous visitor friends.

After coming to Azalea and meeting such representative of your golf club as Ryan Wilkinson, I can only say that I had a greatest experience.

He is total asset and the super star to your staff with his graciousness, hospitality, professionalism, and hospitality.

I can I easily return to your golf club on my next golf trip and baring in mind, the brutal condition we golf under that of a rain storm, we had a terrific time.

James and Brian from NY


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 01/09/2018:

Thank you very much for spending a part of your 4-day South Carolina golfing excursion with us. We're thrilled to hear that you such a wonderful experience and we look forward to you visiting Azalea Sands Golf Club again soon!


jeffsparks1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was closed due to rain the night before, but they let us play (cart path only). They were very accommodating and we had the whole course to ourselves. Had a great time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Average"


GillesSuzanne's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course layout is nice but conditions were wet. The greens were slow and in bad conditions as the grass grows sporadically that make the ball bounce a lot when putting.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 12/11/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Azalea Sands Golf Club, and for the 3 stars. We're glad you enjoyed the course layout but sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round due to wet conditions. We appreciate your feedback regarding the greens so we may work on any necessary improvements for your future experience with us. Thank you for choosing our course in the Myrtle Beach area, and we hope to see you again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed