Pinehurst Resort & Country Club - No. 1

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
6
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.9
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.8
Conditions
4.3
Value
3.0
Layout
0
80.4%
Recommend this course
5 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
6
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
2.0
Amenities
4.0
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.0
Layout
2.0
0%
Recommend this course
1 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
6
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
3.0
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.0
Layout
3.0
50.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6089
Slope 118
Rating 68.4
Type Resort
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6089 yards 68.4 118
White 70 5806 yards 67.4 113
White (W) 70 5806 yards 73.0 126
Green (W) 70 5466 yards 70.8 120
Green 70 5466 yards 65.5 109
Red 72 5167 yards 64.1 107
Red (W) 72 5167 yards 69.1 115
Yellow 72 4197 yards 61.0 95
Yellow (W) 72 4197 yards 63.2 103
Scorecard for #1
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 68.4/118 391 401 353 466 173 375 167 366 148 2840 367 410 222 414 337 352 390 331 426 3249 6089
White M: 67.4/113 W: 73.0/126 365 391 345 458 143 355 161 338 126 2682 357 394 218 269 324 345 381 318 418 3024 5706
Green M: 65.5/109 W: 70.8/120 365 358 345 422 118 355 143 338 126 2570 327 394 157 331 324 324 303 318 418 2896 5466
Red M: 64.1/107 W: 69.1/115 319 358 331 422 118 281 143 249 109 2330 327 385 136 297 316 324 303 288 389 2765 5095
Yellow M: 61.0/95 W: 63.2/103 237 358 250 340 90 215 104 249 106 1949 242 262 136 270 227 235 227 288 300 2187 4136
Handicap 3 1 7 17 11 5 15 13 9 14 2 10 6 12 8 4 16 18
Par 4 4 4 5 3 4 3 4 3 34 4 4 3 4 4 4 4 4 5 36 70
Handicap (W) 4 18 2 8 12 6 14 16 10 3 1 17 11 5 7 9 15 13

Course Details

Year Built 1898
Fairways Tifway 419 Bermuda
Greens Mini Verde Ultradwarf
Golf Season Year round
Architect Donald Ross (1913)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Friendliest Courses in the U.S. (2017 #17)

Reviews

4.3
6

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 1
Drinks 1
Patio Dining 1
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 1
This course/club is great for:
Group Getaways 1
Playing Multiple Courses 1
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 1
Convenient to the City 1
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On 04/22/2018
Handicap 20-24
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather

A Warmup Course

This is not a real "Ross" course. Some holes have the right flavor, but many show that they were designed before Mr. Ross arrived and before he acquired his towering skills as a designed. #9 gets lost because the course was changed to accommodate the US Open. There are some scenic holes but, in comparison to the other courses at Pinehurst, this is plebian.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Fair
Played On 08/20/2017
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 250 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Previously Played

The Original!!

I've played #1 a few times now and it doesn't disappoint. As others have said it is a fair course. It is not long at 6100 yards but you can't just rip driver every hole. There are a few blind shots from tees and #12 is a true test of a par 3. The course conditions have always been outstanding. It is Pinehurst so you get the hospitality, the practice facility, the clubhouse with all the history and the Deuce Grill is delicious food. I think it is worth your time to play the original at Pinehurst if you are in the area.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On 07/26/2017
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Great Experience

Played #1 with my 10 year old son. With the junior rate our total fee with cart was $165.00. Course was in perfect condition. The course is not tricked up and every shot is fair. The greens are challenging but two putts are the norm. Playing from the white tees my little guy had a blast. Everyone treated my son as a valued guest and made him feel that he was a member. (me too!) To date, it was the most fun and best experience we have had on a golf course together. We were both impressed by the staff, the clubhouse, the practice facility, and the course itself. The entire day gave us a father/son experience that we will always cherish.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 05/20/2017
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Historic and Fun

Pinehurst #1 was first opened in 1898. Yep, it's almost 120 years old - just a few years younger than Chicago Golf Club, argued to be the oldest 18-hole course in the United States. #1 is generally straightforward and just 6,100 yeards from the tips, but it's a fun course to play. Lots of room off the tee, but there are several holes where driver doesn't make sense. Greens aren't tricked up, but they can be tricky to read. Par 3's are pretty solid, especially #12. #1 is a nice way to experience Pinehurst without the investment and challenge of #2. Same clubhouse, same practice facility, same friendly people. Definitely a good choice for a first round on property or as a second, casual round on a 36-hole day.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Played On 08/22/2015
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Enjoyed the course and would play again

I was very happy and impressed with the course conditions. Great course to play. I play #5 last year and was not impressed at all, but #1 is 10 times better. Play hole 18 with the Pinehurst facility in the background makes awesome photos.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Played On 07/23/2013
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

short but nice

Very nice classic course. Holes are varied, play was never boring. The price is high, but you get more than just a round of golf. The practice facility and clubhouse are first class and the amount of history is awesome. If you are a short hitter this is a good way to experience Pinehurst.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average

Stay & Play Offers

$114 Starting price
Valid dates: Mar 01, 2018 - Sep 30, 2018
Pine Cone Accommodations offers unique vacation properties in the Gaylord area and special package pricing for Stay and Play with Gaylord Country Club. Check out their web site for a comprehensive listing of available cabins, homes and condominiums that will make your next visit a memorable experience. TAKE THE TOUR! TOUR 54 3 Rounds of Golf & 2 Nights Lodging $114 per person per night
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE