Indigo Creek Golf Club

3.1254647059 3.1 stars from 5 (330)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6747 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6747 yards 72.9 140
White 72 6167 yards 70.2 130
Gold 72 5596 yards 68.4 119
Red (W) 72 4923 yards 69.2 120

Set in the heart of the Grand Strand's Lowcountry plantation area, Indigo Creek is laid out through large oaks and flowing creeks, especially the back nine, though the views have been somewhat spoiled by housing. The course is built over an old rice and indigo plantation with some nice elevation changes, lakes, waste bunkers and undulating greens. It's a Willard Byrd design, with Bermuda greens and a slope rating of 128.

Indigo Creek is another of those Myrtle Beach-area courses that fell into a disreputable state only to be saved by a new ownership group. One golfer who'd had a bad experience there described it after the refurbishment as the best-conditioned course in Myrtle Beach.

Indigo Creek isn't overly long at 6,744 yards (the shortest of its four sets of tees shortens to 5,921. It is an exciting course with an significant number of doglegs, bunkers and water. The back nine is set among giant oaks and gently flowing creeks.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 330 Reviews
5 stars:
29
4 stars:
121
3 stars:
98
2 stars:
46
1 stars:
36

recommend this course

222 out of 329 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport worth the drive   Great for seniors locals advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole specials patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

cresearch's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for your kind words. We're closed now to replace our greens and we plan to be finished mid-August. Hope to see you then!

"not happy"


tanderton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

checked in at clubhouse,no mention of the greens.starter tells me all the greens are just dirt. I went out and just hit ball when getting to the greens I picked up. no mention of a discount.

played this course 2 years ago and it was great.

will not recoment to anyone


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Indigo Creek Golf Club. We apologize if you were not made aware of the condition of the greens prior to your round. As of June 4th though we closed down the course to install new greens. We hope to open back up in mid-August. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

greens had been killed off and course was closing in two days, no advisory posted and nothing mentioned at check-in, waste of money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Indigo Creek Golf Club. We apologize if you were not made aware of the condition of the greens prior to your round. As of June 4th though we closed down the course to install new greens. We hope to open back up in mid-August. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!

"The grass is not always on the green"


bej7013's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They will be closing this course in a short period of time for much needed repairs. There is hardly any grass on the greens. The course has a lot of water could use some checkered flags. Staff friendly and apologetic for the conditions.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for your review. Yes, as of June 4th we closed down the course to install new greens. We hope to open back up in mid-August. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!

"Indigo Creek GC to get new greens 2018."


Shankzilla's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It appears as if the course has lost its greens. Other recent reviews say the course will be closing and new greens installed this year.

The residential lined course has a nice layout with some nice water challenges around many holes.

NIce friendly people both employed by course and members.

Recommend visiting hopefully in the fall of 2018


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for your review. Yes, as of June 4th we closed down the course to install new greens. We hope to open back up in mid-August. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!

"Greens need work"


Mwarner22's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The friendly starter had our carts ready when we pulled into the parking lot. Fairways and tees were in good shape but the greens were in need of work. Very Sandy and not much grass. Fast and hard.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/04/2018:

Thank you for playing Indigo Creek Golf Club. We're glad you enjoyed everything about our golf course with exception of the greens. As of June 4th though, we are closing down the course to install new greens. We hope to open back up in mid-August. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!

"Will be a great course"


u000007415030's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course will be a great course after August 2018. They lost their greens, and are closing to put in new greens. Course is laid out well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/04/2018:

Thank you for your review! Yes, we are closed as of June 4th and we're excited to get working on our new greens. Like us on Facebook to stay up-to-date with the renovation.

"Great course"


u5174834's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Me and my son love playing here. It was a great day Sunday wife was with us for Mother’s Day ! This is our go to place can’t say enough about the staff as well always friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Awesome! Thank you very much for your kind words and 5 stars. We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed playing Indigo Creek Golf Club on Mother's Day. See you again soon!

Commented on 05/16/2018

I played Indigo Creek a week ago,the greens are TERRIBLE!!Do not play this course until later in the year,maybe they will be better than




1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for your feedback, Rick. We are actually closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. We hope to see you back out here in the future.

"Fire Hazard"


BCinMA's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course was crunchy...on the greens you could hear the grass crunch under your feet. There were a few green areas around the course. I'd call ahead to see if irrigation pumps have been repaired, if not go elsewhere..


Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for your review. As of June 4th, we closed down the course to install new greens. We hope to open back up in mid-August. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!


RWLgolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were all burnt there water pump was gone sorry.


Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We are actually closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try in the future.


Pier1955's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

We will be closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try.

"Dead Greens"


OMNIFRED's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were dead.and brown due to January freeze and water system down. Said they were closing course for 2 months in June.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for playing Indigo Creek Golf Club. You are correct, we're closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try in the future.

"No greens.. they are browns"


Towsonfire1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were brown, painted dirt and had little grass tuffs.... it played like price is right plinko , never sure where the ball would end up. Other wise a very nice day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for playing Indigo Creek Golf Club. We're glad you had a nice day. As for the greens, We are actually closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try in the future.

"Greens is disrepair"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wouldn’t have spent the $20 hot deal if I knew about the greens. Not talking about a couple of bare spots... 18 out of 18 greens were burnt out! If it was $1 I would have tried to get a refund... waste of time...


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

We understand and appreciate your feedback. We are actually closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try in the future.



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thanks for the 5 stars!

"Rough winter"


u299514164's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course itself was pretty good shape. I’m A mid handicapper. Playing from the white tees. Course it’s self is a good shape but the greens were hit hard by a nasty winter this year course is shutting down for a couple of weeks to rebuild the greens starting I believe next week. Once the repaired a great course to play. Bill


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for your review, Bill. Yes, we are closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. We look forward to seeing you out here again in the future.

"Disappointing afternoon"


nigeldee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We visited this course with high expectation but were very disappointed. The fairways were rough as were the tees. The greens were very bumpy and had bare patches. The course layout was interesting with water in play on many holes. It was the overall condition of the course which was the problem. It seems as if the course hasn’t been watered for a long time although there’s plenty of water around the course. Not a course we’d recommend.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for playing Indigo Creek Golf Club! We appreciate and understand your feedback. We are actually closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try in the future.

"Worst course I have ever played"


bsloan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were terrible, looked like some sort of fungus took over. Could not putt without my ball hopping. Fairways were no better for this time of year and rarely achieved a decent lie. Wasn't even worth the $31 green fee.


Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We understand the greens are definitely not up to par. That is why we are closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us a chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

"Greens were a problem"


jdpick's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape for this time of year but the greens were a wreck! We played with locals and they told of a Jan. frost hurting the greens not just here, but other courses! Terribly bumpy and had been treated with green coloring to look better! We played the "2 putt" game because of the condition of the greens. Considering what we paid on "Golfnow" it wasn't terrible, but if had paid full prices, would have been really upsetting.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Indigo Creek Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We are actually closing the course on June 4th to install new greens. We expect to re-open in mid-August. Come back and give us another try in the future.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed