Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.4
97 Reviews (97)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
26
2 Stars
15
1 Stars
26
Conditions
2.0
Value
2.6
Layout
2.9
Friendliness
3.5
Pace
3.2
Amenities
2.0
40.3%
Recommend this course
55 out of 97 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.0
1 Reviews (1)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
2.0
Value
2.0
Layout
3.0
Pace
3.0
Amenities
2.0
StaffFriendliness
4.0
0%
Recommend this course
1 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.5
2 Reviews (2)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
1.5
Value
1.5
Layout
2.0
Pace
2.0
Amenities
1.5
StaffFriendliness
3.0
0%
Recommend this course
2 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6003 yards
Slope 119
Rating 69.9

Dogwood Hills Golf Club is one of Biloxi's best-kept secrets for golfers who want to unwind and get away.

The 18-hole public course, designed by Brent Williams, opened in 1993. Dogwood Hills measures 5,927 yards from the longest tees and has a slope rating of 113 and a 69 USGA rating. The golf course features three sets of tees for different skill levels.

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Golf Season Year round
Architect Brent Williams

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2015 #19)

Reviews

2.4
97 Reviews (97)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 6
This course/club is great for:
Beginners 7
Locals 7
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
2.0
Previously Played

Overpriced based on conditions!

As many reviews have pointed out, the conditions are mediocre or worse (tee boxes, fairways, greens). With that said, the "reduced rate" of $25 for 18 holes and a cart is too much. I just played the course at Keesler AFB last week with provisional greens (which rolled better than the greens at Dogwood) and the price was $15 for 18 holes and a cart. I understand that it's difficult to maintain a golf course but overcharging patrons will only result in less customers.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Terrible course

No beauty no where. No fairway. Almost didn't get to play because they no longer have a computer system that lets them no we made a tee time with golf now. Golf Now should delete them from their list of available courses.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Hot weather
Used cart

Sub Par in a bad way

Grass, what there was of it, hadn't been mowed in a while. Greens were very bumpy.

Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 06/29/2018:
Hello Richard, on behalf of Dogwood Hills Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Dogwood

The course greens has gotten better since I played it last. It is worth playing it for price. It does need some sponsorship and support from casinos like a lot of them in Mississippi gulf coast area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Needs cash injection!

I've played this course before and the course is worse than before....... I played the course because of the price and I thought it would be in better condition.
I don't plan on playing Dogwood Hills again.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Save your money

Save your money and just play golf in your backyard… The grass would be better . The greens were very mediocre for a change… A slight improvement from the normal horrible conditions. Crush the ball… It will roll a least a few feet. Don’t even think about taking get different though… Might as will be hitting the ball off of concrete!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Dogwood

Dogwood has gotten better in past years. If I was talking care of it I would concentrate on the fencing the range, tee boxes ,and fairways. The greens were good shape....

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Poor maintainence

This course is in terrible shape
There are many sections of the fairway with little or no grass
The fairways are hard sand packed
The greens are full of crab grass and are sparsely covered with other grass
The greens have not been properly cut on some time
The tee boxes are void of grass for the most part ( it's like teeing off of a hard packed sand box )
There is some challenge in playing this course but it is overshadowed by the poor quality of the maintenance
It is marginally OK for a practice round but don't pay much more than $ 15.00 for it

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

course length &difficulty

course was in alright shape for money, just right length for senior like me. not to long. liked rolling hills woods along fairways.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Members

Course was more dirt then grass. And members 2some refused to allow faster players and made clear they were members and did not care about guest. They want it they can have it.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 03/03/2018

greens were looked good but slow. Tee boxes need to be cut and fairways also. All in all it was good shape....The course use another 9 holes making 27 holes course...

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course needs help

The fairways are in poor condition, a lot of bare ground. The greens were better than the fairways but needed mowing, the grass was so long that it was almost impossible to hit the ball hard enough to get to the hole.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Dogwood

The course was in a fair condition better than last year when i played it about the same time..The greens was a little slower to putt on because of the weather and time of the year. I would play it next year or sooner we will see how it goes...

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Response from on 11/16/2017:
Thank you for playing Dogwood Hills! Please come back and visit us some time soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Used to be nice

At one point, this was a great course… Especially for the money. Now, this is the worst course in the entire city. Hitting a ball on the green is like playing pinball! One particular green is completely covered by sand! Half of the tee boxes are not even flat. Unfortunately, this course, which was once great, has been severely neglected!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from on 10/02/2017:
Thank you for playing Dogwood Hills! We are sorry you did not enjoy your round at our course. Please feel free to express any concerns with the Pro Shop.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Golf insult

I played better cow pastures than this course! They gave up maintenance a while ago! All fairways needed cutting and if you killed the weeds, you would have sand to play on. The holes on the mostly dead greens had not been relocated in months! The tee boxes were very uneven and not well defined! The sand bunkers had not been raked in weeks! Save your money! Go elsewhere!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from on 09/26/2017:
Thank you for your feedback on our course. Our goal is to provide our golfers with the best experience possible. We are continuously working on our course conditions.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Better than a day at work

The food was excellent, hot and fresh. Service was good as well. Too bad I can't say the same for the course . There really wasn't much difference between the fairway and the rough (had trouble finding a neon yellow ball in the middle of the fairway ), uneven tee boxes that weren't mowed and greens that looked more like backyard grass with patches of sand . I did like the layout of the course however ,it had some challenging blind shots and forced carry shots to the green. I'd play there again if conditions improve but as of now it wasn't worth the drive from Mobile.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from on 08/17/2017:
We understand the conditions were not completely up to par for your round but know that we are working diligently to maintain and bring the conditions to pristine shape every single day. We do hope you make it out again, we look forward to seeing you again!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Regular player

This was the first course that I played on when I started golfing almost 3 yrs. ago. I still play there regular ( price and close to house ) after playing at many courses this is my thoughts. I love the layout of the course , this could be a great course to play. Like other reviews that I've read, the fairways and greens need a lot of work. ( in 3yrs I haven't seen any improvements) I would gladly pay a little more if that is what's needed to get it right. Again, I love the layout and I think this course could be great. I really hope improvements will be made.
Thank's
Wayne

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 09/12/2017:
Thank you for playing our course. We will take your review into consideration. Hope to see you on the golf course soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor course

Great staff here. Manager is doing a horrible job addressing course needs. Austin, Mark and Ron do a great job inside. Outside crew have great attitudes. Manager won't allow the crew to do what's needed to make course better. I did not renew my membership due to the Manager.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from on 08/17/2017:
We're really sorry to hear you did not renew your membership due to your concerns mentioned above. We will do everything we can to bring the course to excellent conditions so that you may see the value in playing here again. We want to provide the best possible conditions for your next visit, we hope you head back soon.
Nearby Courses
Saucier, Mississippi
4.6465882353
216
Biloxi, Mississippi
4.0500588235
120
Gulfport, Mississippi
3.0
1
Saucier, Mississippi
4.9019647059
8
Biloxi, Mississippi
3.2609823529
39
Gulfport, Mississippi
3.4923823529
138
Gulfport, Mississippi
4.85715
8
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1.4583333333
5
Vancleave, Mississippi
5.0
7
Pass Christian, Mississippi
3.5870588235
32
Pass Christian, Mississippi
2.8407058824
96
Gautier, Mississippi
4.05555
9

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE