Dogwood Hills Golf Club

2.4430176471 2.4 stars from 5 (85)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6003 yards
  • Slope: 119
  • Rating: 69.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6003 yards 69.9 119
White 72 5435 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 72 4585 yards N/A N/A

Dogwood Hills Golf Club is one of Biloxi's best-kept secrets for golfers who want to unwind and get away.

The 18-hole public course, designed by Brent Williams, opened in 1993. Dogwood Hills measures 5,927 yards from the longest tees and has a slope rating of 113 and a 69 USGA rating. The golf course features three sets of tees for different skill levels.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 1.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 85 Reviews
5 stars:
1
4 stars:
24
3 stars:
26
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
23

recommend this course

49 out of 85 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city   Great for beginners locals   Challenges include elevation changes  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Members"


u9028552's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was more dirt then grass. And members 2some refused to allow faster players and made clear they were members and did not care about guest. They want it they can have it.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"This course needs help"


kendickman's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways are in poor condition, a lot of bare ground. The greens were better than the fairways but needed mowing, the grass was so long that it was almost impossible to hit the ball hard enough to get to the hole.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Dogwood"


Scott1173322's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in a fair condition better than last year when i played it about the same time..The greens was a little slower to putt on because of the weather and time of the year. I would play it next year or sooner we will see how it goes...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Management on 11/16/2017:

Thank you for playing Dogwood Hills! Please come back and visit us some time soon!

"Used to be nice"


u476063943's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

At one point, this was a great course… Especially for the money. Now, this is the worst course in the entire city. Hitting a ball on the green is like playing pinball! One particular green is completely covered by sand! Half of the tee boxes are not even flat. Unfortunately, this course, which was once great, has been severely neglected!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Management on 10/02/2017:

Thank you for playing Dogwood Hills! We are sorry you did not enjoy your round at our course. Please feel free to express any concerns with the Pro Shop.

"Golf insult"


mrfaith's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played better cow pastures than this course! They gave up maintenance a while ago! All fairways needed cutting and if you killed the weeds, you would have sand to play on. The holes on the mostly dead greens had not been relocated in months! The tee boxes were very uneven and not well defined! The sand bunkers had not been raked in weeks! Save your money! Go elsewhere!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Management on 09/26/2017:

Thank you for your feedback on our course. Our goal is to provide our golfers with the best experience possible. We are continuously working on our course conditions.

"Better than a day at work"


Ryan2598062's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The food was excellent, hot and fresh. Service was good as well. Too bad I can't say the same for the course . There really wasn't much difference between the fairway and the rough (had trouble finding a neon yellow ball in the middle of the fairway ), uneven tee boxes that weren't mowed and greens that looked more like backyard grass with patches of sand . I did like the layout of the course however ,it had some challenging blind shots and forced carry shots to the green. I'd play there again if conditions improve but as of now it wasn't worth the drive from Mobile.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills on 08/17/2017:

We understand the conditions were not completely up to par for your round but know that we are working diligently to maintain and bring the conditions to pristine shape every single day. We do hope you make it out again, we look forward to seeing you again!

"Regular player"


offshorewayne1's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This was the first course that I played on when I started golfing almost 3 yrs. ago. I still play there regular ( price and close to house ) after playing at many courses this is my thoughts. I love the layout of the course , this could be a great course to play. Like other reviews that I've read, the fairways and greens need a lot of work. ( in 3yrs I haven't seen any improvements) I would gladly pay a little more if that is what's needed to get it right. Again, I love the layout and I think this course could be great. I really hope improvements will be made.

Thank's

Wayne


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Management on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for playing our course. We will take your review into consideration. Hope to see you on the golf course soon!

"Poor course"


Sippy1961's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff here. Manager is doing a horrible job addressing course needs. Austin, Mark and Ron do a great job inside. Outside crew have great attitudes. Manager won't allow the crew to do what's needed to make course better. I did not renew my membership due to the Manager.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills on 08/17/2017:

We're really sorry to hear you did not renew your membership due to your concerns mentioned above. We will do everything we can to bring the course to excellent conditions so that you may see the value in playing here again. We want to provide the best possible conditions for your next visit, we hope you head back soon.

"Overall value its a $20 course"


GaryCarpenter2017's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's seems strange to pay $20'over the phone. The old way had online coupons for $17. That fits the course. The greens are herendous. Fire ants on 7 holes, lots of patches of missing grass and that's just the greens. I have a small lawnmower business and this has been the healthiest year for growing grass. Why not dogwood hills? I've played there 30 times. Probably won't go back

It's been 3'years since I played . I just started playing again. Plan on playing weekly


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills on 08/02/2017:

We're sorry to hear the conditions were not up to your liking during your round. We are working diligently to make sure the course is in pristine shape. We will address the fire ants issue here with our crews. Thank you for letting us know. We hope you come back and give us another shot.

"WORST THAN HORRIBLE!!!"


atlppal's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

GolfNow......Please don't embarrass yourself having this place in you lineup...... This place shouldn't be opened !!! Worlld's WORST!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills on 08/02/2017:

We're sorry to hear that the course was not up to your liking. We do hope to see you again as we work diligently to make sure the course is up to par. We strive to ensure every golfer has the best experience possible.

"Sand Pit"


keegmo16's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played some awful courses in my life time but this course takes the cake. The fairways have no grass it's all sandy and weeds. The greens are harder than concrete and again have sand and weeds everywhere. It was like playing putt putt trying to maneuver through the junk. The range was even worse. Balls were cut up, it was all sand where we had to hit from and it was only 250 yards. I wouldn't recommend this course for my cat to use as a litter box let alone a friend to play!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills on 08/02/2017:

We appreciate your feedback and sorry to hear that the conditions may not have been up to par. We have informed our staff and crews on the matter and are working hard to rectify the situation and make this the best Dogwood Hills Golf Course possible for your next round.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello Louis, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Lower your expectations!"


Steve3073214's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course for years. It seems to get worse each time I play. Greens have very little grass. Fairways have tree roots. Disappointing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello Steven, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"No maintance"


u383037218's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was very disappointed in the course nothing was good to be sad about it tea boxes were not good greens were horrible fairways were nothing but up and down bumpy and not very good at all


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello Ronnie, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Horrible"


u143448092's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I don't know how this place stays in business. The greens were mostly sand, roll on the green was nonexistent it just bounced everywhere. I had half a mind to go ask for my money back after the round. This course was not worth the $25 to play there. The worst kept course I have ever seen.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills on 08/02/2017:

We regret to hear the course was not up to your liking due to the conditions that you may have experienced at the course. We are working towards great conditions here at Dogwood Hills Golf Course.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Could be great"


Nathaniel3552352's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in the worst shape I've ever seen it. If they can get things back in shape it's a good layout and location


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello Nate, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Awful Course Condition"


jglocke's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Dogwood used to be a fairly nice course but now...... Now the course has a lot of dead spots in the fairways, tee boxes, and the greens are the worst I have ever played. Bald patches and weeds made up the greens. They should of payed me $32 to play that course. Very disappointing experience.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello Jeff, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Needs grass"


Luke2471787's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways and greens need grass. Like playing the course, but there is no grass. Hopefully they will get some rain.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Hills Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Hello Luke, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"You get what you pay for"


u345953512's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is about the same as the first time i played it. Fairways weren't good, greens were not that well maintained. I'm not sure if they are doing work to any of it, but most of it was in the same condition as 4 months ago when i played it for the first time. I would only recommend this course if you are new at playing or just going to play around with friends. Not really a "keeping Score" kind of course. I hope it does improve due to how close to my house it is and convenient for my family in Gautier to meet me half way as i live in Saucier.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed