California Golf Course

3.5826117647 3.6 stars from 5 (26)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6245 yards
  • Slope: 120
  • Rating: 69.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6245 yards 69.8 120
White 70 5870 yards 69.2 117
Gold 70 4826 yards 63.2 107
Gold (W) 70 4826 yards 68.2 108

The California Golf Course sits on land that slopes gently and offers a nice view of the Ohio River; however, this course ain't just pretty to look at, but laid out to play in a manner that will test seasoned golfers and welcome novices to the friendly golf course where the trees are old growth.

California Golf Course provides 18 holes of par-71 golf over 6,227 yards. A round of golf kicks off on a par-4 hole that plays to 367 yards from the Blue tees. Because this is one of Cincinnati's longer municipal golf courses, power golfers will appreciate the chance to open up their games a bit more, with about a third of the holes measuring over 400 yards from the Blue tees, including a pair of par-5 holes, the second and ninth holes.

As the California Golf Course is a municipal golf course, expect low rates, and those who can swing a round of golf during the workweek can expect them to be even lower.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 26 Reviews
5 stars:
2
4 stars:
18
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

20 out of 26 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Dont play this course in the winter."


Zachary8648's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Booked a tee time through a website for a discounted price. only problem is in the winter, after 1pm, they dont let you play 18. they close it down at 5. too bad sundown is 7 in the middle/late february. they dont contact companies like golf 18 network to let them know that there is no 18 hole play after 1. the staff was terrible. A nice golf day in February, course full of people and all they are selling is expired candy and chips at the turn. Man in charge says since their tee sheet was under 40 people when they opened, they werent going to turn on the grill. I get that its winter but their poor customer service now has lead me to never want to play there when its nice. Have to know how to treat customers and clearly they are not capable of that.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



u000004503488's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course was in great shape over all. But the greens were slow"


u00000824706's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Pace of play was slow . Two older women and older man in front us .took so many swings we waited .10 to 15 minutes on every hole on the front 9. They could of let us go through.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000004503488's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000004503488's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"California Golf Course"


Twest513's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course layout with lots of slope and big greens. Accurate tee and approach shots are key as there are plenty of trees throughout course. Stafff is friendly and cousre is maintained well.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000007898195's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I booked tee time at last minute but had no problem getting on. Played by myself and was able to zip through. Layout is a little short, par 70.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005604939's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"One of the most scenic courses around"


svonluke's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

and we love coming here, but slow play is usually an issue at this course so we only play here maybe 4 or 5 times a year. We were part of a 4 some and until the rain thinned the people out a little, we waited every shot every hole. Front nine was 2 hrs 40 min. Back nine about 2:20. While we waited for our tee off time I noticed twice large gaps coming in on 9, meaning as people were on green and no one on tee yet. Need to utilize rangers to monitor pace of play.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"slow"


Kramrebat's avatar
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape and weather was excellent but extremely slow play at close to 5 1/2 hours.


I recommend this course


"Very slow"


Mockbee's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2015
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course on a Friday. Had a prepaid tee time for two. A couple of groups were playing so slow we were forced to pair up with another group. Even after this we were waiting 20-30 minutes between every hole. There were times that there were 15 of us waiting to tee off on the same hole. A staff member told us they had warned the slow groups to speed up. It never sped up. There were speed of play clocks but they were not enforced. The course was in great shape just tough to enjoy at that slow a pace.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Fun course to play"


MelanieW's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played California many times, it has quite a few challenging holes. On Friday the pin placement was quite difficult making even some of the easier holes difficult. The course was in pretty good shape, however the greens had been aerated recently so the greens were very tricky.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"one of city`s best on east side"


scottnapper's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

always like to play here! even in January! the course is in good shape, will be back when weather changes!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"scenic course"


kujive's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/20/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course still thawing/alot of greens and tees still frozen 2 inches down.<br/> not complaining/sunny and 50/a good day was had. staff man was was very friendly and helpful as always.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"CGC"


ranman1549's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was friendly but the starter did not let us play in front of a3 some that was on the tee at the same time we were (we were a few minutes early). The 3 some did not let us play through on any hole even though there was only 2 of us and they had the opportunity to. Consequently it took 5 hours for us to play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Back to back playing"


nate7816327's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2014
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course two days in a row during fantastic fall weekend. This time of year leaves cause prob finding golf ball. Greens were in great shape. Hope more warm weather on the horizon. Will play California again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fall weather"


nate7816327's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2014
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens great as they were aerated a month ago & filled in nicely. Leaves on ground hiding golf balls. Just the time of year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great short course"


u000007428374's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

First off, I/we have played California GC many times.<br/> I was lucky to find a slot for two on Labor Day. Arrived early, got to tee off approx. 20 min. ahead of schedule. Unfortunately, we caught a foursome on the 3rd hole. Between the rain delays, and the BAD foursome, the front nine took what my son and I can normally play 18 holes in. Fortunately, the group went in to get refreshments at the turn so we continued to the back nine. The weather had broken by this point and it turned out to be a beautiful day. We caught another foursome on maybe 12 or 13, and they were polite and let us play through.<br/> We finished the back 9 in about an hour and ten min.<br/> Re-registered and played the front again....Just a note, we played the back and six holes on the front again before "our" foursome made it to the 18th hole..... Overall, a great day of golf with my son....But, it always is..


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Very Nice"


dlewis00's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2014
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

Course is in excellent condition. A lot of trees and different holes setup. Looking forward to playing here again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Got Caught in Leagues"


Kyle5314473's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got to our tee time 30 mins earlier and was sent off the back. Completed the back in an hour and fifteen minutes. Then it was time to turn to the front and had to wait 40 minutes for leagues to tee off and then had a log jam on the front part resulting in an overall time of play being 5 1/2 hours. Great staff and understand leagues but even if I played the front to the back I might have been waiting longer.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed