La Cantera Resort - The Resort Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
230
5 Stars
136
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
4.8
96.5%
Recommend this course
218 out of 230 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
230
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.3
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.2
Layout
4.7
94.1%
Recommend this course
16 out of 17 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
230
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.3
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
95.2%
Recommend this course
20 out of 21 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7021
Slope 134
Rating 72.5
Type Public/Resort
La Cantera Resort is home to two 18-hole, championship courses that wind through Texas Hill Country. The Resort Course opened in 1995, when it also hosted one of the oldest PGA Tour events, the Texas Open. It is no wonder the spot was chosen, with its numerous natural water features, mature oaks, and limestone rock outcroppings it provides the perfect terrain for a challenging round. There are also 75 white sand bunkers strategically placed throughout the golf course. In combination with the spectacular views provided by the course’s elevation changes, the course has quickly gained favor as one of the best public-access golf courses in the country.
Book a Tee Time at
La Cantera Golf Club - Resort Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7021 yards 72.5 134
Gold 72 6406 yards 69.6 127
Silver 72 6026 yards 66.1 113
Copper 72 5581 yards 68.2 119
Jade (W) 72 4940 yards 67.1 108
Scorecard for Resort Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.5/134 665 448 202 444 553 162 316 361 380 3531 541 427 415 142 527 446 380 186 426 3490 7021
Gold M: 69.6/127 631 385 174 430 494 151 309 324 349 3247 492 369 386 138 490 371 340 172 401 3159 6406
Silver M: 68.2/127 613 369 161 366 474 130 308 300 319 3040 460 332 371 126 471 359 315 159 393 2986 6026
Copper W: 68.2/119 597 344 154 341 450 112 307 240 293 2838 429 309 346 121 452 331 272 120 363 2743 5581
Jade W: 67.1/108 549 323 132 307 432 85 252 210 263 2553 400 280 288 102 435 250 229 80 323 2387 4940
Handicap 1 3 15 5 9 17 11 13 7 8 12 2 18 10 4 14 16 6
Par 5 4 3 4 5 3 4 4 4 36 5 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1995
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tom Weiskopf (1995) Jay Morrish (1995) Wadsworth Golf Construction (1995)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "The Academy at La Cantera"
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.4
230

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 25
19th Hole Scenic Views 12
Brunch 12
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 52
Bunkers 42
Undulating Greens 24
This course/club is great for:
A Weekend Splurge 37
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 36
Advanced Golfers 33
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 51
Near Local Attractions 42
Convenient to the City 38
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Enjoyable, challenging course layout

We simply had a great round. Not so much score wise, but the overall professionalism from the bag drop greeter to the the fairway maintanence employee (who actually applauded my playing partner on a particularially difficult shot), each person we met was very respectful of our time and either shut down a lawn mower or stopped their cart when we attempted a shot. I personally have played some higher end courses whose employees seemed to care more about getting through the rough with their mower than the patron who is actually there trying to enjoy their round. Thanks ever so much for the enjoyable time.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from La Cantera Management on 08/06/2018:
Thank you for playing The Resort Course and sharing your 5-star experience!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from La Cantera Management on 08/06/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from La Cantera Management on 07/25/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Amazing course

Course was worth every penny! Plaenty of challenging holes that required some thought to your shots. Will definitely come back to play again! Thanks!
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Hot day at the Resort Course...

I've played the Resort Course countless times as a SA resident but figured its time for a 2018 mid-season review. With the course shut down nearly all fall of 2017 and parts of this year I have been expecting at some point for this course to return to glory. Unfortunately, for the price-tag the Resort Course still leaves much to be desired. The greens currently are shaggy and at the same time burned out in places. Collars on the greens are not being maintained it seems. Fairways are fair. Cartpaths still have giant curbs most of the way and nearly break your carts axel getting on and off the course (make sure your head covers are on the woods or you'll be scratching those guys up!). Additionally, the patrons of the course seem to be just as rough around the edges these days. In the last couple outings at the Resort Course I've seen golfers with jeans on, shirts untucked and a guy so drunk he was doing "sand angels" in a bunker. Today, I didn't witness anything crazy but felt it needs to be said for a course that is suppose to be one of the prestigious ones in the city. Anyway, in my mind the course will always be a great layout and will always provide a "good round" with nice views of the city with resort level amenities. The staff outside at the bag drop and marshalls were great - 10/10 jobs! The pro-shop guys/gals could provide more of greeting and honestly should be upselling merchandise (nobody has said anything about replay specials, new hats/gloves/clothes etc. in any of the last ~10 rounds or so at the resort). Every course across the country needs to increase revenue - if you can't get more rounds in you better be selling stuff out of the shop! All in all, I do love this place and just want it to be the best it can be!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Response from La Cantera Management on 07/02/2018:
Thank you for playing The Resort Course! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our staff understands your concerns and hope to make your next round the best yet. See you soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Hole 19th

Closed for renovations, no one said anything until we finished the round
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

great time at a hot wide open course

We had a great time. Staff was very helpful and we are planning another trip to SA.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Very nice

Great course, very nice views. The staff was great and course was in great shape but the greens were very hard. I am from out of town and was paired with some locals who gave me hints. I would recommend this course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Response from La Cantera Management on 07/02/2018:
Thank you for playing The Resort Course and rating your round 4-stars!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Dallas Advisor
Top 50 Contributor
First Time Playing

Resort Course @ La Cantera

The course re-opened 6 months ago after a redo of the greens and bunkers. Course is currently in great shape especially the greens. Played on a Saturday and was done in under 4 hours. The staff is very engaged and extremely friendly. The starter escorted us from the range to the first tee and have us some valuable tips for course navigation.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from La Cantera Management on 07/02/2018:
We're happy to hear you decided to visit and play the Resort Course again. See you soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice views and challenging holes

I was disappointed that after the course was improved not much changed. The 18th finishing hole is a great disappointment compare to other beautiful holes. The bar area was totally being remodeled so it was disappointing that we had to go two miles to find the 19th hole at a restaurant in the area.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from La Cantera Management on 07/02/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review and course recommendation!

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
San Antonio, Texas
3.6246117647
90
San Antonio, Texas
4.2632882353
426
San Antonio, Texas
1.0
1
San Antonio, Texas
3.9545294118
165
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE