Bent Creek Golf Course

3.5254294118 3.5 stars from 5 (226)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6182 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 70.3
  • Layout

  • 3919 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, Tennessee 37738, Sevier County
  • (865) 436-3947
  • (865) 436-3584
  • www.bentcreekgolf.com

Year built: 1972
Architect(s): Gary Player (1972)
Type: Resort
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6182 yards 70.3 127
White 72 5802 yards 67.9 123
Red 73 5095 yards 69.2 117

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 226 Reviews
5 stars:
23
4 stars:
89
3 stars:
65
2 stars:
31
1 stars:
18

recommend this course

155 out of 223 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive near local attractions   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include water hazards elevation changes narrow fairways   Great for 19th hole scenic views drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Expected more from the advertisement"


u187087988's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just an average course with no extras. No driving range. Pretty views throughout the course


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 07/09/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your round with us. We would love to learn more about your experience. Please reach out to us at bentcreekgc@gmail.com at your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

"Wide variety of shots required"


roscoe11's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in great shape.

Fairways were in good shape, especially considering the deluge received a couple of days before.

Opportunity to use all your clubs and shot selections.

Staff very friendly.

Great value.

Will definitely play again when in area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 07/09/2018:

Excellent! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're also glad that you found us to be a good value. We can't wait to have you back again soon at Bent Creek!

"Great features , smooth play"


Jay7266287's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course to play. Greens and fairways appeared well cared for. Enjoyed the round. Bugs are a nuisance, take spray but other than that it’s a very nice course to enjoy a round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 07/09/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed your round with us and we hope to have you back again soon!


golf4kimo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/29/2018:

Awesome! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

"To many bugs"


u000003481656's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a wonderful course to play at any level. But there is a huge problem with it. The flying insects are swarming you all the time your there and there is no relief from them.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/25/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We hope to have you back again soon at Bent Creek!

"Solid Course for the Money"


zachsaei's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Solid course for the money. Some of the blue tee boxes were setup in strange locations where you had to hit over the road, and the front nine is close to the road on several hole locations (it is a neighborhood road with minimal traffic). The greens putted true, but were extremely slow. The course was in good shape and once you get used to the slow greens you will have a great time playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/25/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that you found us to be a good value. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Nice Layout"


pastorjek's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were vacationing in the area and played the front nine only because of storms moving in. So, I can’t comment on the back nine. (We had played one other course in the area and found it too difficult and slow and tedious with cart path only rules.) The Gary Player designed layout was well thought out. There were some soft spots from recent rains. The greens were a bit slow - which was fine with our group. The staff was very friendly. You could see that the current owners are working to upgrade conditions. If we return to the area we would play there again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/25/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Please spray for bugs! Be safe on the back 9!"


cbrown1961's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Friendly staff in the golf shop and on the course. The front nine was a good layout but was wet from rain the night before. They need to spray for bugs. I couldn’t keep them out of my eyes to play.

The back nine is in the mountains and very different from the front. It is quirky with short holes where I had to hit 6 iron off the tees toward directional poles in the fairway. The biggest problem on the back nine was trying to safely navigate the cart paths after the rain. Despite going very slow, I had to lock up the brakes going down one hill and the cart was sliding down the hill anyway. Be careful if you play after a rain. Overall, the course was a good value for the money, buy carry big spray and be very careful driving on the back nine.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/25/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and that you found us to be a good value. We're also glad that our staff left a great impression on you. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you back again soon!

"Lost and swatting bugs"


clyde2jan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even though it was very early (830 ish) the two groups in front of mine had players who appeared as though they should have been on the a less challenging course. The gnats were awful and bug repellent is an absolute must. For 1st time players a detailed yardage book should be available. The front nine was well designed. The back nine was cramped into a small space resulting in a number of blind off and target golf. Looking forward to another shot at the back nine.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/25/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We appreciate your review and we hope to have you back again soon!

"Getting better"


Paul3588544's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A few years ago this course was basically closed and looked like it would never recover. It now has good fairways and the greens were soft and full. There were a couple burnt out spots in some fairways but that was probably due to the weather as of late and not up keep. This course is in very good shape and seems to be getting better every time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/13/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and that you've noticed the improvements that we've made. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Challenging course with great views of mountains"


Stephen4773394's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value, will use all the clubs in your bag, and a course with a good mix of short and long hole distances.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 06/11/2018:

Great! We're glad that you found us to be a good value and that you enjoyed the challenge our layout presented. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Not mowed"


reynolds76's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Usually, I enjoy this course. This time around, my group was very disappointed. The greens hadn’t been mowed in days; thus, were slow and not rolling true. The fairways as well had been inconsistently groomed. On the second hole, we put three shots in the fairway but it was covered in clover! Looked more like rough! White weeds and white balls don’t mix. I am hoping this was a one-off situation for the course as I love golfing in the Smoky Mountains and traditionally make a point to play here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/24/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that our course conditions didn't meet your expectations. Our course is getting better every day, but improvements take time. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you back again soon!

"This course has great character and is challenging to play"


Conbob's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course is set in in a beautiful location with a pristine mountain stream winding through most of the course. The holes are challenging especially on the back nine. Hole #14 is a par 3 which requires quite a cart ride in the Smokies to an elevated tee.

The course is undergoing renovations and all of the bridges across the streams on the course are brand new and wide. The new management is obviously putting forth lots of work in an effort to make Bent Creek a high quality golf venue in The Gatlinburg area. My wife and I totally enjoyed the course and I would definitely come back with my golf buddies to play several rounds.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/22/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you and your wife enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We're also glad that you've noticed the improvements we've been making. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you, your wife, and your friends back soon!

"Not our first choice..."


John5603980's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had to golf here rather then Gatlinburg because of a tournament. The club house is very limited of drinks, no adult beverage at all.... while on vacation this was a huge let down. Course is rough to say the least, doubt I ever go there again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/16/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize for the inconvenience of our limited drink options. With the change in management, our permitting had to be changed as well, but we will have alcoholic beverages after this month. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Being upgraded"


tedway's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Still recovering from winter Many repairs are in the process. Buildings being upgraded. The bridges that crossover the creek the meanders through the property have been replaced, I was told this cost 500,000 dollars alone. So I believe this course will receive better reviews in the future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/16/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're pleased that you've noticed the improvements we've made with the course and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you back again in the future!

"Greens were very good to excellent"


golfmac49's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time at Bent Creek.....What a scenic place.....Fairway and Tees are just OK , butt the Greens are in terrific condition....they hold nicely and putt well ....speed is a wee bit slow but they putt true. Your staff is very helpful and friendly. When we are in the Knoxville area again this will be the one we'll play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/09/2018:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We hope to have you back again soon at Bent Creek!


Jaygo69's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/09/2018:

Excellent! Come back soon!

"This course is laid out extremely well"


mcclurgjc's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My brother and I road our motorcycles thru the mountains to play this course and it was great.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/03/2018:

Great! We're glad that you and your brother enjoyed your round with us and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"very good layout"


golfmac49's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful;helpful staff.....the views alone are are worth the price. Bent Creek is beautiful..challenging...and greatly improved. The fairways are a work in progress,,,but the greens are very good. We enjoyed and will return


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/03/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We're also glad that you've noticed the improvements we've made and that our staff left a great impression on you. We can't wait to have to have you back again soon at Bent Creek!

"New Management is excellent."


dpocsatko's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We have played this course for 20 years. Two years ago there was grass in all the bunkers and the greens & tee boxes were in bad shape. Course closed for 10 months and the new management has put some $$ into it, and it shows. Back nine greens were awesome, front nine will be the same in another week or two after spring aeration. All bridges have been replaced. Colin and Sierra in the pro shop were a pleasure to deal with. Our group is looking forward to playing there again in July.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bent Creek Golf Course on 05/03/2018:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you've noticed the improvements that we've made and that Colin and Sierra left a great impression on you. We can't wait to have you and your group back again in July!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed