Cheval Golf and Athletic Club

4.0392000000 4.0 stars from 5 (29)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6961 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 74.5
  • Layout

  • 4312 Cheval Blvd, Lutz, Florida 33549, Hillsborough County
  • (813) 949-4231
  • (813) 948-4012
  • www.chevalac.com
Write Review

Year built: 1986
Architect(s): Steve Smyers
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Champion turf
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Traditional golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6961 yards 74.5 140
Blue 71 6403 yards 72.1 134
White 71 6040 yards 70.5 129
Green 71 5671 yards 68.9 123
Silver 71 5290 yards 67.2 119
Orange (W) 71 4923 yards 70.2 120

Designed by Steve Smyers, Cheval Golf and Athletic Club's (previously known as Cheval Country Club) mature and meticulously maintained course meanders through 860 acres of elegantly designed development property. Cypress trees abound on this course along with native Florida wildlife including deer, alligators, otters, eagles, wading birds and more. Cheval is one of the area's most prestigious semi-private clubs and offers 18 holes of championship golf. Precise shot placement is required to avoid the 108 bunkers and water hazards that lurk on every hole. A large practice facility includes target greens, distance markings, a practice greens-side bunker, a practice fairway bunker, large putting green and separate pitching green.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 29 Reviews
5 stars:
10
4 stars:
12
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

23 out of 29 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Wet, wet, wet ..."


u000005030697's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2015
First time playing Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

This course is unplayable when wet. Balls land in the fairway, plug and disappear. I lost four that way today. Chipping and pitching off wet, muddy grass is an adventure. The greens were in good shape but it's getting to the green that's the problem. Carts have GPS but if you can't drive to your ball on the fairway, what's the point? Also, the course winds through a residential community and some holes are as much as 1/4 mile apart. You'll be spending way too much time just riding around from hole to hole. There's water just about everywhere. You're bound to hear noise from mowing, construction and so on. Not sure it's worth the bother even when dry. Better play TPC Tampa Bay or Fox Hollow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Terrific track"


u000005283334's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’m from Oklahoma and was in Tampa for vacation. I played a below avg course on 4/20 and was recommended Cheval by some locals. I am a 2 hdcp golfer and absolutely loved this course. The “shark experience” is a game changer. GPS music sports all on the cart. Course was in very good shape and is set up very fair. I could honestly retire there. Terrific course !! Highly recommend playing here. Only downside is that the range was closed


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Cheval is still a hidden gem in Tampa"


Lawrence5124485's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time out here in awhile. Course did not disappoint. Greens were smooth and fast. A few bare spots through the greens but most were marked GUR. Great rate for a Sunday.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



zchacon1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


Mitch8380618's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course many times and I'll keep coming back. It's very challenging from the white tees. Nice fairways with good rolling greens. Staff is very friendly and the pace of play is between 4 & 4.5 hours. Great value using either Golf Now or Paradise Golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course is still in good shape"


neilipovitz's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The overall course is in good shape. Bunkers were raked and trimmed, fairways were green and greens were fast. A real treat too play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout... below average turf"


EdinTampa's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course a lot through the years but it has been some time since I was last at Cheval. The course has always been very challenging with water in play on most holes and errant drives will not be found typically. My beef is the condition of the fairways and greens which were really poor. To be fair, many courses are hurting as of late but this trip to Cheval did no justice to my memories of rounds past. Golf carts were also sputtering for our foursome with governors that were completely obnoxious.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course & Great Value"


u042442463's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I have started playing this course often since its been available through golf now and I love it. The shark experience they have on the golf carts is a great upgrade they recently did. Now not only do you have the GPS and course layout and yardage but you can play music right through the cart. The course conditions are pretty good, one of the better ones around the area, especially for the price. There are a couple greens and tee boxes that need some work but other than that the course conditions are great. Club house is nice and staff is friendly. I definitely recommend playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice track!"


uGUHH3166GU's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played one tee up from tips(blue) and found to be a nice challenging course. I know grass isn't quite growing yet in March but fairways and greens were in very good shape. Definitely will return!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First time at Cheval Golf Club"


turfking's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cheval Golf Club recently appeared on available courses that i could book a tee time with. I got a great price so I booked through Golfnow.com. The course is in a gated community of fine homes so I assumed I would see houses lining every hole. Certainly not the case as the course had a nice wooded feel to it. On one hole a family of four deer ran across the cart path in front of my cart. The greens were in very nice shape although two or three have some damaged areas that are being repaired. The rough is mowed tightly so it is not much of a penalty when a shot misses the fairway. There are a lot of doglegs that are pretty much blocked from cutting corners by mature tall trees. The majority of the doglegs seem left to right which, as i draw the ball, is more challenging for me. As with most Tampa area courses this time of year it would benefit from a few good rain showers but you get a ton of run out right now because of the dryness. They had a on-course beverage cart that I saw several times. I look forward to returning in the near future.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



chuyd1969's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


u000002318084's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was looking forward to playing Cheval. I was visiting a friend in Lutz and he lives across the street. We use to play at Cheval years ago and we loved it. Well this time I invited two friends to go with us and nobody was impressed.

1. No driving range and if I knew this we would of picked somewhere different become I love hitting a bucket balls before I play

2. Chipping green was grown over

3. The shark experience was cool until we try to use the message option to communicate to the beverage cart but nobody responded and they lost money because we were ready to drink a lot.

3. They had no regular fries for the meals we ordered.

I don’t know if I will play again based on the amount you pay and what you get. Well at least it’s bette than working.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Just ok..."


Josh8183079's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had heard this place was special. Not so much. Greens were good. But not so special. Just middle of the grade. Houses everywhere. Ok for a hot deal. But not full price.... played back tees. A little short and gimmicky. But ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Great value Great course"


tedp10's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was able to get Hot Deals and was looking to play something different. The course was in great condition, greens were little beat up but I know it’s coming to season to aeriate. Will definitely come back and play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course condition"


Charles1296560's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great day playing golf. For this time of year,condition was good. Nice layout and a nice true test. Loved the course and will try and come back. Worth playing !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thank you for leaving your comments about the course. Glad you had a great experience. We are working hard to get even better. Look forward to having you come back.

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com


"Cheval experiance"


Unclepowie2's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Cheval experience the minute we pulled into the walking lot was as good as it gets! Clubhouse greeting cart check in was top notch. Fairways and greens were equal to any course I played in Florida all the way to Naples! Sand bunkers good. The entire course layout was challenging yet wide enough in most places so any off center hit shots still had plenty of chance to still end up on the course. Get signed up and try the Cheval experience, you'll be glad you did. For me and my golfing buddies, we will be!!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thank you for your comments about the course and overall experience. Glad the staff met your expectations and we will let them know your thoughts.

Look forward to having you back!

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com


"Course was in good shape for this time of year."


neilipovitz's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape for this time of year. Grounds crew seem to be a good job on routine maintenance and up keep. Layout of the course is great. Overall, a great day had by all. Would recommend the course to anyone!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thanks for your comments. The team is focused on getting the course in the conditions our players expect. Look forward to having you back out again soon.

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com


"One of the best."


Golf7157's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just a wonderful golf course to play. Every hole is a pleasure to play. Plenty.of water and sand. Everyone who works there were very congenial. A treat to play. A step above all the rest.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thanks for your feedback. A Steve Smyers course is all that and more. Course is a true test of your game. Thanks too for your comments about the staff I will pass that along.

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com



uGRHV3009GR's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course was very challenging"


neilipovitz's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape for February. The fairways were sometimes spotty for grass but the greens were in good condition for this time of year. It was a good course to play and would recommend it too anyone.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. I will pass your note on to the maintenance staff. I appreciate your recommendation.

Hope to see you back again soon!

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com


"3 Bad Greens"


u791871483's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is excellent and make up the difference for 3 bad greens.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thank you for leaving your comments. Yeah, those 3 greens are a product of Hurricane Irma. As you saw 15 greens overcame the tree fallings, rain, etc but those greens got a bit temperamental with us as we hit winter. They are responding to the nice warm weather now. Again, thanks for the feedback.

Glad the staff met your expectations and hope you come back out and see us soon.

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed