Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
45
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.8
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.8
Layout
4.3
74.0%
Recommend this course
35 out of 45 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
45
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.9
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.0
Layout
4.5
80.6%
Recommend this course
25 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
45
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.9
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
81.6%
Recommend this course
31 out of 38 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6961
Slope 140
Rating 74.5
Type Semi-Private
Designed by Steve Smyers, Cheval Golf and Athletic Club's (previously known as Cheval Country Club) mature and meticulously maintained course meanders through 860 acres of elegantly designed development property. Cypress trees abound on this course along with native Florida wildlife including deer, alligators, otters, eagles, wading birds and more. Cheval is one of the area's most prestigious semi-private clubs and offers 18 holes of championship golf. Precise shot placement is required to avoid the 108 bunkers and water hazards that lurk on every hole. A large practice facility includes target greens, distance markings, a practice greens-side bunker, a practice fairway bunker, large putting green and separate pitching green.
Book a Tee Time at
Cheval Golf and Athletic Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6961 yards 74.5 140
Blue 71 6403 yards 72.1 134
White 71 6040 yards 70.5 129
Green 71 5671 yards 68.9 123
Silver 71 5290 yards 67.2 119
Orange (W) 71 4923 yards 70.2 120
Scorecard for Cheval Golf & Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.5/140 350 389 175 419 369 483 584 218 444 3431 568 427 417 236 468 150 515 231 518 3530 6961
Blue M: 72.1/134 343 350 165 377 349 436 502 184 402 3108 549 396 385 193 437 150 471 196 518 3295 6403
White M: 70.5/129 W: 76.4/134 329 342 144 366 341 405 475 170 372 2944 517 372 376 183 394 130 464 185 475 3096 6040
Green M: 68.9/123 W: 74.4/129 320 316 140 345 316 380 470 163 338 2788 509 365 356 149 351 128 440 147 438 2883 5671
Silver M: 67.2/119 W: 72.3/125 315 286 135 340 283 335 460 156 303 2613 468 321 351 135 334 124 425 118 401 2677 5290
Orange M: 65.5/116 W: 70.2/120 310 280 126 333 186 330 437 123 297 2422 429 318 285 131 329 119 382 113 395 2501 4923
Handicap 15 11 17 5 3 1 7 13 9 4 2 6 16 8 18 10 14 12
Par 4 4 3 4 4 4 5 3 4 35 5 4 4 3 4 3 5 3 5 36 71
Handicap (W) 9 11 7 5 15 3 1 17 13 2 4 10 18 8 16 12 14 6

Course Details

Year Built 1986
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Champion turf
Golf Season Year round
Architect Steve Smyers

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed No
Dress code Traditional golf attire required.

Reviews

3.8
45
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Disappointing

I was surprised and disappointed when we played today. The tees were a little shabby, the fairways were OK, but the greens were not very good. Some had large blemishes filled with sand. We had been here a couple of months ago when most courses were being aerated. But instead of punching holes in the green, they had created rib-like furrows. I had never seen that before. Two months later, the ribs are still obvious on the green and definitely affect the roll of the ball. They tend to guide the ball if you are putting parallel to the ribs, and makes it very bumpy if you putt across them. Also, for some strange reason, they totally forgot to mention that there is no 17th Hole! There is a new housing development going in, and the hole has been totally torn up, and you would never know that there was ever a par 3 there. I think that's something that you may want to mention on the GolfNow listing, or at least tell you in the clubhouse when you check in. The 4 of us decided we will not be back anytime soon. If I was a member here, I'd be very unhappy. My suggestion is that if you would like to go and play 18 holes, go elsewhere.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Day

We had a great day on the course. Can't wait go go back agai in September or October
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Horrible

I played this course about 10 years ago and it was first class to say the least. I played it again and was excited but found out quickly it’s not what it use to be. Course was in horrible shape. Greens recently punched and are horrible. I’ve played lots of punches greens but these are ridiculous. Won’t be going back anytime soon.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Almost unplayable.

Played Cheval before 2 months ago and it was great. Fast forward to 7/21/2018 and the course was in bad shape. Plugged drives and very wet tee boxes, this course should not have been opened for play. We had to push the cart girl out of mud on the 17th hole because she got stuck.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Over Rated

Extremely wet. The course should not have been opened. Deep ruts all over-plugged balls on many wedges-slow greens-standing water on most of the fairways-carts battery died called pro shop for another cart they left us stranded. One of the worse days of golf I’ve ever had.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

wow

One of the few courses that compel you to stop at various locations, look around, and marvel at how beautiful everything is: course conditions, the surrounding houses, the trees, etc. A terrific bargain.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Under water

Course was in very rough shape after a lot of rain. Bunkers were washed out and fairways were very wet. Love the course usually and I'm sure it'll come around
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great greens on a layout that always plays tough

Cheval is an old favorite. The course is in fine condition and the greens were rolling great for late spring/early summer. This layout always play tough for me and I believe it's more difficult than it's close neighbor TPC Tampa Bay.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Used cart

Lots of water

This is a must play course. The tee boxes to the greens were all in great shape. The challenge of the course is not only water on many holes but that there are no flat lies within 100 yards of the green or on the greens themselves. The traps were strategically placed and maintained properly. The putting surface was consistent and challenging because of the differences of contour throughout the whole course. The cart attendants provided excellent service, the only drawback that day was there were no beverage cart girls on the course. The club house was filled with several events making it difficult to get any beverages. I would go back to this course in a heart beat.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Lutz, Florida
3.6965941176
336
Lutz, Florida
4.4436764706
168
Trinity, Florida
4.1966470588
15
Tampa, Florida
3.1666666667
2
Tampa, Florida
3.7210470588
402
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE