Cheval Golf and Athletic Club

4.0686117647 4.1 stars from 5 (35)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6961 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 74.5
  • Layout

  • 4312 Cheval Blvd, Lutz, Florida 33549, Hillsborough County
  • (813) 949-4231
  • (813) 948-4012
  • www.chevalac.com
Write Review

Year built: 1986
Architect(s): Steve Smyers
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Champion turf
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Traditional golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6961 yards 74.5 140
Blue 71 6403 yards 72.1 134
White 71 6040 yards 70.5 129
Green 71 5671 yards 68.9 123
Silver 71 5290 yards 67.2 119
Orange (W) 71 4923 yards 70.2 120

Designed by Steve Smyers, Cheval Golf and Athletic Club's (previously known as Cheval Country Club) mature and meticulously maintained course meanders through 860 acres of elegantly designed development property. Cypress trees abound on this course along with native Florida wildlife including deer, alligators, otters, eagles, wading birds and more. Cheval is one of the area's most prestigious semi-private clubs and offers 18 holes of championship golf. Precise shot placement is required to avoid the 108 bunkers and water hazards that lurk on every hole. A large practice facility includes target greens, distance markings, a practice greens-side bunker, a practice fairway bunker, large putting green and separate pitching green.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 35 Reviews
5 stars:
12
4 stars:
16
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

29 out of 35 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A great layout with water in play on 16 holes. Two tough finishing holes."


papabeargolf's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/9/2013
Previously played

Reviewed on

Overall, this is a great layout with lots of water, marshes, trees, etc.. In the winter months, have seen lots of deer.

Tee shots on the par 4's are generally to large fairways whereas the par 5's have tighter landing areas. To me, the key on the par 5's is the second shot which needs to be accurate to set up my 3rd shot (I don't hit a long ball). Good variety of layouts on the par 3's.

The last two holes are difficult. Two of the more difficult finishing holes in the Tampa Bay area.

Greens were in very good condition but were slow. First time I encountered slow greens at Cheval. Good practice facility and excellent food.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u791871483's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"A great & challenging course."


Phil55's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have lived in Tampa for over 20 years and never played Cheval. I played it for the first time on the 10th of May with the first one to tee off. The course was very well maintained, bunkers were perfect and easy to get out of, holes on the front were somewhat challenging and very open & forgiving. different story on the back 9, hole #10 is a big Par 5 and when you play it you're thinking oh this is more of the same, then when you get to #11 it gets tight really fast, after getting my butt kicked on day 1 i came back the following morning as the 1st to tee off again, and was ready for the back 9. Greens are in great shape and roll true. The fairways are also in great shape. a fun course indeed!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wow, a must play!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Go play it, a challenging shot makers course with Forgiving soft greens! Beautiful clubhouse but a little slow.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Tight Delight"


barrysib's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, friendly staff, unusual, tight design. Fun for everyone, and fast greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



ERICFROST's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Driving range closed for the foreseeable future. Nice track. Fair shape. Play at will.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Friendly"


AL3752078's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff very Friendly very nice course got a great deal on GolfNow however I would not pay top dollar to play this course. I will be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Terrific track"


u000005283334's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’m from Oklahoma and was in Tampa for vacation. I played a below avg course on 4/20 and was recommended Cheval by some locals. I am a 2 hdcp golfer and absolutely loved this course. The “shark experience” is a game changer. GPS music sports all on the cart. Course was in very good shape and is set up very fair. I could honestly retire there. Terrific course !! Highly recommend playing here. Only downside is that the range was closed


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Cheval is still a hidden gem in Tampa"


Lawrence5124485's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time out here in awhile. Course did not disappoint. Greens were smooth and fast. A few bare spots through the greens but most were marked GUR. Great rate for a Sunday.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



zchacon1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


Mitch8380618's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course many times and I'll keep coming back. It's very challenging from the white tees. Nice fairways with good rolling greens. Staff is very friendly and the pace of play is between 4 & 4.5 hours. Great value using either Golf Now or Paradise Golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course is still in good shape"


neilipovitz's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The overall course is in good shape. Bunkers were raked and trimmed, fairways were green and greens were fast. A real treat too play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout... below average turf"


EdinTampa's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course a lot through the years but it has been some time since I was last at Cheval. The course has always been very challenging with water in play on most holes and errant drives will not be found typically. My beef is the condition of the fairways and greens which were really poor. To be fair, many courses are hurting as of late but this trip to Cheval did no justice to my memories of rounds past. Golf carts were also sputtering for our foursome with governors that were completely obnoxious.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course & Great Value"


u042442463's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I have started playing this course often since its been available through golf now and I love it. The shark experience they have on the golf carts is a great upgrade they recently did. Now not only do you have the GPS and course layout and yardage but you can play music right through the cart. The course conditions are pretty good, one of the better ones around the area, especially for the price. There are a couple greens and tee boxes that need some work but other than that the course conditions are great. Club house is nice and staff is friendly. I definitely recommend playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice track!"


uGUHH3166GU's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played one tee up from tips(blue) and found to be a nice challenging course. I know grass isn't quite growing yet in March but fairways and greens were in very good shape. Definitely will return!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First time at Cheval Golf Club"


turfking's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cheval Golf Club recently appeared on available courses that i could book a tee time with. I got a great price so I booked through Golfnow.com. The course is in a gated community of fine homes so I assumed I would see houses lining every hole. Certainly not the case as the course had a nice wooded feel to it. On one hole a family of four deer ran across the cart path in front of my cart. The greens were in very nice shape although two or three have some damaged areas that are being repaired. The rough is mowed tightly so it is not much of a penalty when a shot misses the fairway. There are a lot of doglegs that are pretty much blocked from cutting corners by mature tall trees. The majority of the doglegs seem left to right which, as i draw the ball, is more challenging for me. As with most Tampa area courses this time of year it would benefit from a few good rain showers but you get a ton of run out right now because of the dryness. They had a on-course beverage cart that I saw several times. I look forward to returning in the near future.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



chuyd1969's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


u000002318084's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was looking forward to playing Cheval. I was visiting a friend in Lutz and he lives across the street. We use to play at Cheval years ago and we loved it. Well this time I invited two friends to go with us and nobody was impressed.

1. No driving range and if I knew this we would of picked somewhere different become I love hitting a bucket balls before I play

2. Chipping green was grown over

3. The shark experience was cool until we try to use the message option to communicate to the beverage cart but nobody responded and they lost money because we were ready to drink a lot.

3. They had no regular fries for the meals we ordered.

I don’t know if I will play again based on the amount you pay and what you get. Well at least it’s bette than working.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Just ok..."


Josh8183079's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had heard this place was special. Not so much. Greens were good. But not so special. Just middle of the grade. Houses everywhere. Ok for a hot deal. But not full price.... played back tees. A little short and gimmicky. But ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Great value Great course"


tedp10's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was able to get Hot Deals and was looking to play something different. The course was in great condition, greens were little beat up but I know it’s coming to season to aeriate. Will definitely come back and play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course condition"


Charles1296560's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great day playing golf. For this time of year,condition was good. Nice layout and a nice true test. Loved the course and will try and come back. Worth playing !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/12/2018

Thank you for leaving your comments about the course. Glad you had a great experience. We are working hard to get even better. Look forward to having you come back.

Regards

Cheval Golf Team

chevalgac.com



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed