Panther Lake at Orange County National

4.4716000000 4.5 stars from 5 (628)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7350 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 76.0
  • Layout

  • 16301 Phil Ritson Way, Winter Garden, Florida 34787, Orange County
  • (888) 727-3672, (407) 656-2626
  • (407) 656-4045
  • www.ocngolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1997
Type: Public
Greens: Champion Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Champ 72 7350 yards 76.0 139
Orange 72 6849 yards 73.3 132
Green 72 6394 yards 71.2 127
White 72 6011 yards 69.2 120
White (W) 72 6011 yards 74.9 129
Tan (W) 72 5319 yards 70.8 123

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 628 Reviews
5 stars:
398
4 stars:
171
3 stars:
34
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

586 out of 628 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers playing multiple courses locals   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great course...unlucky with pace of play....."


Ryan2014040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Great layout.

Apparently they had a “pop up” men’s leave of 80+ golf shot gunning on the front nine. Told us our tee time would be late bc of it but ended up in time. Pace was brutal. 1hr 20min to play the first 3 holes and didn’t get any better. Marshall said they were on 5hr pace and that was okay. Finished the front 9 in just under 3hrs. The twosome with us quit on 8 green but my partner continued. Played the back 9 in 1hr 15mins, so thank god for that.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



joserosa1234's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great place to play l wanted to return today. Thanks


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u439987651's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Flavio7919603's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


ndt59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a fantastic time. Paired up with 3 of the nicest people from Ohio. Best time playing a great course and great company.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Rocky start"


u000004781447's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My buddy and I arrived at the course approximately 45 minutes before our scheduled teatime that we booked on GolfNow. When we went to check in at the pro shop, they could not find a reservation or confirmation. Luckily I had my phone and showed them that we had booked through GolfNow etc. The pro shop staff did except the confirmation etc. however they told us that we would not be able to tee off at our scheduled and booked time but would have to wait an additional 30 minutes to play. This did not sit well with myself since we had booked our tee time and wanted to get out before the heat of the day. When we got to the starter they also told us we would have to wait and so we sat there for approximately 15 minutes and then a twosome came up and said we could join them. After that the round was great, the course conditions were perfect, the pace of play was great and overall had a good time. I just hope that nobody else has the hiccup that we did by booking through Golfnow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"LOVE IT!!"


SHASHI60's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wow - nice course - well maintained, greens had some sand but in time will "disappear". Really enjoyed playing here. Only 20 minutes from our home. My husband said this is the best course so far. 2017 be were members of a different club and this year we wanted to experience various courses - we are having a ball - golf ball that is!!. We highly recommend Panther Lake!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"This place has it all"


u969292175's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Top course, top facility, don’t hesitate to play it!!

The greens had been scarified and top dressed heavily when I played but it didn’t affect the ball roll and did not detract from my enjoyment.

This is a great layout, in great condition. If you get the chance, play it!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000005349173's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Panther Lake is amazing"


Ryan2014040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played at 1030am as a 3some and never had to wait. Tees and fairways were great. I think they recently verticut their greens and lightly sanded them so putting was a little off but that’s not the courses fault. Overall a great day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/12/2018:

Thank you for playing Panther Lake and sharing your 5-star experience!

"Excellent course"


cjhollar's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition including all fairways and greens....one of my best golfing experiences this year!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

We're happy to hear about one of your best golfing experiences of the year!

"Difficulty"


Ann1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was very nice but the distance for women was too long for a higher handicap player, maybe mix up shorter holes.

Also, it was very hot and there was no water on course to drink. There were 2 fountains with hot water and you expect players to pay money for water from cart girl, then tip...a simple cooler with water and ice on every 3rd hole would be nice.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/12/2018:

Thank you for playing Panther Lake and sharing your course recommendation!

"OCN - One of the best in Orlando area"


DLTarqytek's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always love playing OCN. The courses are always in great shape and the customer service is second to none. I have played both Panther Lake and Crooked Cat over 20 times and both are great courses.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

It's always nice hearing from one of our regular golfers. Thank you for taking the time to share your course recommendation!


Konstantin7430307's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Panther Lake and rating the course 5-stars!

"Great Course"


Ryan2014040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just like Crooked Cat, it’s outstanding. Couple crazy things happened tho but not to the courses fault. The single who was supposed to play with us said he booked a solo round and went out ahead of our 3some. Then randomly out of nowhere a old man walking appeared playing as a single. Course did a great job rectifying this.

The course is just pure excellence.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear our staff accommodated your round. See you soon!

"Great Course"


stuboyd's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We are from ScotlNd and have been coming to Florida twice a year for the last 10 years and have played numerous courses throughout the state. Our first time st Panther Lake and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff very informative and friendly and course in excellent condition. My son and I got paired with 2 locals, who I may say were a pleasure to play with. Good test of golf but very fair with it. Don’t know why it’s taken us so long to play here, but will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

We're happy to hear you decided to visit all the way from Scotland! Thank you for playing Panther Lake and rating the course 5-stars. See you soon!

"Great day for golf"


ribeyeman's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

First time on this course. Played the Crooked Cat last month. Both courses are a great bargain, and a good challenge of your skills. Plenty of trouble to get into. Lots of sand. Great greens. Course is in excellent shape, even with all the rain. Will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review and course recommendation!

"Ok"


u4847991's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of golf play, very very slow, had to keep laying up on Par 5s, ask for a Marshall to come round on Hole 5 nothing, waiting 20 minutes a shot, had to say something on the turn around to the group in front. Not a place I would rush back to,however played crook cat 2 days prior no problem, say my just bee a bad day, but no excuse for Marshall’s to not come round.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend Panther Lake due to the pace of play. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

"Another 5-hour round at Orange County National"


djr21orl's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

OCN has two beautiful and challenging championship courses. Unfortunately, they do not have the ability to mange the play on them. During this round at Panther Lake, the first tee was very backed up, about three groups behind. So groups were going off very close together and we waited on most of our shots all day. Most of my weekend rounds at both Panther Lake and Crooked Cat are this way. I may not play there any more. The course itself was in very nice shape.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/25/2018:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Your feedback on the pace of play is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

"Great golf as always"


u000006485624's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played Panther Lake many times and again was not disappointed. Had an afternoon tee time and pace of play was excellent. The course is in tremendous shape from the tee boxes to the greens. A+ all around I will be definitely be back soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/12/2018:

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your afternoon round playing Panther Lake. See you soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed