La Contenta Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
217
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
118
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
8
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
97.4%
Recommend this course
195 out of 217 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
5.0
3
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.7
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.5
4
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.3
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.8
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.3
100.0%
Recommend this course
4 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 71
Length 6425 yards
Slope 129
Rating 69.9
Book a Tee Time at
La Contenta Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6425 yards 69.9 129
White 71 5895 yards 68.2 128
Red (W) 71 5150 yards 69.5 127
Red 71 5150 yards 65.1 121
Scorecard for La Contenta Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 70.3/133 382 167 471 201 292 311 456 195 392 2867 410 391 338 178 451 332 418 309 447 3274 6141
White M: 69.0/130 W: 74.1/133 369 145 453 180 281 297 433 166 372 2696 398 370 313 156 435 321 405 298 440 3136 5832
Gold M: 66.7/120 W: 70.9/126 338 114 418 149 262 257 422 107 330 2397 372 318 275 138 418 262 390 251 423 2847 5244
Red M: 64.4/113 W: 68.1/121 326 100 371 149 233 247 384 107 312 2229 368 310 265 102 408 262 315 241 399 2670 4899
Handicap 3 11 5 15 13 9 7 17 1 4 6 8 10 12 14 2 18 16
Par 4 3 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 35 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 36 71
Handicap (W) 5 13 3 15 11 7 1 17 9 6 12 8 18 4 16 10 14 2

Course Details

Year Built 1973
Fairways Rye grass
Greens Rye grass
Golf Season year round
Architect Richard Bigler

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Yes

Reviews

4.3
217

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 23
Patio Dining 13
Watching the Game 10
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 48
Water Hazards 35
Bunkers 25
This course/club is great for:
Locals 27
Advanced Golfers 26
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 21
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 43

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Everything perfect except for wetlands.

A little chilly at upper 50’s with no wind but the fairways are all wet but the greens are ok. Some Sand bungers were submerged under the water. In the late afternoon the conditions have improved. Still enjoyed the game.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good technical course

The grounds were soaked, due to heavy rains the day before. Had a lot of trouble with the iron bc of this. The course lay out has my respect and has me wanting to return on a dry course to see if I can slay this course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Winter golf, Fall weather

Nice quiet round, joined by a 4th in his own cart enjoyed the whole day! Front 9 greens were better than the back 9. Only complaint is the green at 18, needs a lot of rehab.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A Nice Course!!!

Played several times there now and really like the course and love the cost! It is a good course for me cause it’s fairways are larger and I have a tendency to over swing so it’s forgiving, kind of, but it is in great shape and I certainly recommend it!!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Black Friday cou

Course was challenging with lots of elevation difference and in good condition. Greens were fast and tricky. The pace of play was terrible with groups of 6 and 5 players. Was told club members were playing skins but that is no excuse. Just short of a 6hour round and course marshal was always saying course is busy today

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best condition course in Sac area

Course was in spectacular condition. Well worth the drive from SAC. Fun and challenging. I played as a single in 2hr 45min.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value

I play this course about once to three times a month and it is a great value for the price. The pace of play and condition of the course are excellent for the price you pay. There can be slow spots if you book between 8-12 but that is just about what happens everywhere. They’re making small improvements here and there and take care of the course fairly well. Course layout is challenging enough for players that play frequently and has a few easier holes for the beginners. Overall good quality and a great value.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

No golf carts available for almost 2 hours.

This course is very hilly and not walkable. Booked an 1108 tee time on GolfNow and arrived at 1030. No golf carts were available for about 90 minutes because the management company that runs La Contenta and other courses sent most of the course's carts to another course, but didn't communicate this with the public in any way.

Never again.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from La Contena Golf Course on 10/30/2017:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, La Contenta Golf Course. We're sorry to hear that you may have had a poor customer experience on your day of play due to a shortage of carts. We apologize if this was not communicated effectively, and greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can make improvements in the future. It looks like you did enjoy our off-course amenities and pace of play, so we hope this improved your overall experience. Thank you for choosing to golf with us in the Sacramento area, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

pick up partner

great layout and usually find a good pickup partner to play with

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from La Contenta Golf Course on 10/24/2017:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, La Contenta Golf Course in the Sacramento area. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our course layout, and we hope this made for a fun round. We noticed you rated 1 star on several topics, so we would greatly appreciate any additional feedback on how improvements can be made in these areas. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we hope to see you soon.
Default User Image
GHodges5082
Commented On 2017-10-25T18:24:49.000+00:00

Showed up 30 minutes early for an 11am tee time on Wednesday, October 25, 2017 to no golf carts available, pushing our tee time out 45 minutes. The starter said the shortage of carts was due to the course manager taking carts to another area course and not bringing them back. Whatever the case, in 36 total years of playing golf, I've never run across this kind of a failure due to irresponsible mismanagement.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

To big of tournaments over a 100.

All out of carts had to wait for them to bring a empty one .waiting long times at each golf hole . and the clubhouse was full of guys drinking you couldn't hardy get to the bathrooms .I have Golf here many times i had never this kind of experience .

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Nearby Courses
Valley Springs, California
5.0
1
Ione, California
4.1915764706
232
Angels Camp, California
4.2495588235
16
Lodi, California
3.7611857143
138
Farmington, California
0.0
0
Copperopolis, California
4.5182058824
14
Pioneer, California
2.3061294118
67

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
1653 Hwy 26, Valley Springs, California 95252, Calaveras County
(209) 772-1081
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE