La Contenta Golf Club

3.9812647059 4.0 stars from 5 (214)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6425 yards
  • Slope: 129
  • Rating: 69.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6425 yards 69.9 129
White 71 5895 yards 68.2 128
Red (W) 71 5150 yards 69.5 127
Red 71 5150 yards 65.1 121

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 214 Reviews
5 stars:
54
4 stars:
118
3 stars:
30
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
8

recommend this course

192 out of 211 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u4646985's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A Nice Course!!!"


u000004315067's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played several times there now and really like the course and love the cost! It is a good course for me cause it’s fairways are larger and I have a tendency to over swing so it’s forgiving, kind of, but it is in great shape and I certainly recommend it!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Black Friday cou"


u2773033's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was challenging with lots of elevation difference and in good condition. Greens were fast and tricky. The pace of play was terrible with groups of 6 and 5 players. Was told club members were playing skins but that is no excuse. Just short of a 6hour round and course marshal was always saying course is busy today


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Best condition course in Sac area"


j7dickson's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in spectacular condition. Well worth the drive from SAC. Fun and challenging. I played as a single in 2hr 45min.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



RandyVance's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



guthery2004's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u4646985's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



gcoats's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Richard1799425's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good value"


mccorrea's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play this course about once to three times a month and it is a great value for the price. The pace of play and condition of the course are excellent for the price you pay. There can be slow spots if you book between 8-12 but that is just about what happens everywhere. They’re making small improvements here and there and take care of the course fairly well. Course layout is challenging enough for players that play frequently and has a few easier holes for the beginners. Overall good quality and a great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"No golf carts available for almost 2 hours."


GHodges5082's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is very hilly and not walkable. Booked an 1108 tee time on GolfNow and arrived at 1030. No golf carts were available for about 90 minutes because the management company that runs La Contenta and other courses sent most of the course's carts to another course, but didn't communicate this with the public in any way.

Never again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from La Contena Golf Course on 10/30/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, La Contenta Golf Course. We're sorry to hear that you may have had a poor customer experience on your day of play due to a shortage of carts. We apologize if this was not communicated effectively, and greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can make improvements in the future. It looks like you did enjoy our off-course amenities and pace of play, so we hope this improved your overall experience. Thank you for choosing to golf with us in the Sacramento area, and we hope to see you again soon.


1murphy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"pick up partner"


gcoats's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great layout and usually find a good pickup partner to play with


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Contenta Golf Course on 10/24/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, La Contenta Golf Course in the Sacramento area. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our course layout, and we hope this made for a fun round. We noticed you rated 1 star on several topics, so we would greatly appreciate any additional feedback on how improvements can be made in these areas. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we hope to see you soon.

Commented on 10/25/2017

Showed up 30 minutes early for an 11am tee time on Wednesday, October 25, 2017 to no golf carts available, pushing our tee time out 45 minutes. The starter said the shortage of carts was due to the course manager taking carts to another area course and not bringing them back. Whatever the case, in 36 total years of playing golf, I've never run across this kind of a failure due to irresponsible mismanagement.



u4646985's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"To big of tournaments over a 100."


sunny2's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All out of carts had to wait for them to bring a empty one .waiting long times at each golf hole . and the clubhouse was full of guys drinking you couldn't hardy get to the bathrooms .I have Golf here many times i had never this kind of experience .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



sunny2's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



earlmoehring's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



lolihawaiigolf's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u000004315067's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just a very nice course at a good price with a beautiful restaurant !! I will be back a lot !!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u4646985's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed