Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.1
198
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
45
2 Stars
18
1 Stars
19
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.8
Layout
3.2
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.0
65.2%
Recommend this course
150 out of 197 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
2.7
18
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
6
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.4
Layout
3.1
Pace
4.1
Amenities
2.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
55.6%
Recommend this course
10 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.1
30
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
7
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.9
Layout
3.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
2.8
StaffFriendliness
4.5
66.7%
Recommend this course
20 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6811
Slope 124
Rating 72.1
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6811 yards 72.1 124
Blue 72 6329 yards 69.1 115
White 72 5891 yards 66.2 109
Gold 72 5369 yards 65.8 105
Red (W) 71 4451 yards 63.5 102
Scorecard for Royal Oaks Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.1/124 415 562 376 222 360 463 203 523 425 3549 435 515 185 376 570 457 182 354 188 3262 6811
Blue M: 69.1/115 382 535 362 202 336 450 168 504 415 3354 416 489 150 338 546 411 159 310 156 2975 6329
White M: 66.2/109 354 508 334 190 305 433 142 483 379 3128 387 462 130 326 522 375 151 279 131 2763 5891
Gold M: 65.8/105 W: 66.1/111 326 484 298 147 282 400 114 381 369 2801 365 432 115 319 481 345 140 260 111 2568 5369
Red M: 63.5/102 W: 65.1/103 234 457 292 95 244 360 106 340 325 2453 279 411 105 300 428 120 73 187 95 1998 4451
Handicap 6 2 14 8 18 12 16 4 10 1 7 13 15 5 3 9 17 11
Par 4 5 4 3 4 5 3 5 4 37 4 5 3 4 5 4 3 4 3 35 72
Handicap (W) 9 1 7 17 13 3 15 11 5 2 6 10 8 4 12 18 14 16

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect D. J. DeVictor

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire, collared shirts required.

Reviews

3.1
198

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 20
Water Hazards 18
Forced Carries 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 17
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 13
Advanced Golfers 11
This Course's Location is:
Near the Airport 20
Convenient to the City 14
Worth the Drive 13

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Where to go

The staff was very friendly and the greens seems to be in good shape, but we made a 7am tee time with golf now and the course didn’t even open up till 7:30! The carts path were none existent or torn up. Trying to navigate from each hole was a mystery in its self

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 10/03/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center. We're very sorry to hear you may have had a poor customer experience with us recently, and we appreciate your feedback so we may work on improvements for your future experience with us. We apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding in regards to the time the course opens and hope we can better clarify in the future if necessary. Thank you for choosing to play our course, we hope to see you again soon.
lwh
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Construction Zone!

Construction is everywhere. New housing projects going in. If I had not been with a player who knew where to go. I would never figured out how to navigate the course. If there is any type o f rain you will be four wheeling in mud. The pace of play was excellent because no one else was playing. Now I know why!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 09/25/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center, in the Blount County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Greens were great

The fairways and greens were great. The bunkers were terrible. Weeds everywhere in them. There looks like there is a lot of construction going on there as well.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Shambles

Sad to see a course in poor condition like this. A little tender loving care and it could be a real enjoyable course but until then I'd recommend going elsewhere.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not for begginers

Interesting golf course however houses are too close.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Love This Course

First time playing at Royal Oaks, the pro shop attendant was very friendly and knowledgeable about the course. My group had a blast. The greens were the best in town, people warned me about the course but they were defiantly wrong about this small local owned course. The cart girl was very charming and checked on me several times. I will be back! Thank you for making it such a pleasant experience.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the money - $16

I’d complain about this course if it wasn’t so cheap to play. $16 to ride 18 is just great. I played in the afternoon and literally was the ONLY zone on the course. It was hard to find my way around, poorly marked paths. I’m still not sure what happened at 15/16, but I think I should have played it twice. Burnt greens, really rough rough, and poorly marked tee boxes. I played it out of curiosity, but probably won’t again...unless I’m broke. Lol.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/22/2018:
Hello Bethe, thank you for reviewing our course, Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Tennessee area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Course Conditions

After playing here several times in last month, course is really looking much better since aerifying greens. Fairways mowed and second cut favorable. Greens were watered and most looking could even with this heat! Compared to other similar priced courses in area this is my choice with friendly staff and good location. Views of mountains cant be beat from this course !!!!

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

WHAT A SHAME

POOR EVERYTHING JUST GO AHEAD CLOSE DOWN AND BUILD YOUR HOUSES NO NEED TO KEEP THE COURSE OPEN IN THIS CONDITION

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/22/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center in the Maryville, Tennessee area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

First time here in years

Boy they have let this course turn to trash. The fairways are almost nonexistent. Good luck finding a tee box that has a level place to hit from. Greens are full of ball marks and mushrooms. Will never play here again

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/18/2018:
Hello Will, thank you for taking the time to review us, Course Name, in the Maryville, Tennessee area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the Greens so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once every three months
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Could be better

This is first time playing here it could be a very nice course but was not prepared at all, greens were ok but several had damage and construction on them, some had 11/2” mushrooms growing on them, the tee boxes were not mowed some so tall could not set a tee. It’s a pretty course and could be good if they kept it up.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/14/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

This is an embarrassment to golf courses

Terrible greens, tee boxes full of weeds and tall grass. Fairways full of weeds and bugs everywhere due to non maintenance. This course should be free or shut down.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course on 05/21/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback. We apologize that the course conditions did not meet your expectations. We value customer experience, and will be passing this along to our staff. Thank you again for leaving us with a review, and we hope to see you again.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Nice greens

Greens are fast and true, fairways need work but ok. Some great vista of the Smokies. The sand traps need a lot of work. Plenty of water on the course which is great. Pace of play was fabulous 2 hrs and 30 min. Overall great bang for the buck.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Challenging back 9

Greens are good ..fairways and traps need a lot of work....

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 05/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center, and also appreciate your input on our fairways. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Value for a learner

Greens are good, fairways fair, cart paths need work, but I'm new to the game and find this is a great course to improve my game. Its cheap on golf now with a hot deal.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 04/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, Bradley. We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Commons restaurant and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good greens

Early in season for lush fairways, but playable for sure. Greens are good. Consistent. April 18.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens are always good except when aerated.

I enjoy the first nine holes of this golf course, but not the back. So I play the first nine two times to make 18. Whoever designed the back nine did a poor job.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course on 04/18/2018:
We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements, and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for golfing with us at Royal Oaks Golf Course. Please visit us again in the near future.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

The course was in great shape

The course was in great shape. The greens were not too fast or too slow and were readable.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

The greens and tees were in great shape

The staff have been airating the greens. They were good last year. They have improved them a lot this year.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Greens were amazing

Greens hadn't been aerated and are smooth and speed was 10+. Dorment Bermuda was as expected. Good value.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 04/03/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review. We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Nearby Courses
Maryville, Tennessee
4.1410117647
93
Maryville, Tennessee
4.1410117647
93
Maryville, Tennessee
4.1410117647
93
Lenoir City, Tennessee
4.4970823529
107
Loudon, Tennessee
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE