Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
196
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
45
2 Stars
18
1 Stars
17
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.1
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.8
Layout
0
66.5%
Recommend this course
150 out of 196 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
196
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
2.6
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.8
Layout
3.3
60.0%
Recommend this course
12 out of 20 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
196
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
6
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.1
Conditions
3.1
Value
4.0
Layout
3.6
70.6%
Recommend this course
24 out of 34 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6811
Slope 124
Rating 72.1
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6811 yards 72.1 124
Blue 72 6329 yards 69.1 115
White 72 5891 yards 66.2 109
Gold 72 5369 yards 65.8 105
Red (W) 71 4451 yards 63.5 102
Scorecard for Royal Oaks Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.1/124 415 562 376 222 360 463 203 523 425 3549 435 515 185 376 570 457 182 354 188 3262 6811
Blue M: 69.1/115 382 535 362 202 336 450 168 504 415 3354 416 489 150 338 546 411 159 310 156 2975 6329
White M: 66.2/109 354 508 334 190 305 433 142 483 379 3128 387 462 130 326 522 375 151 279 131 2763 5891
Gold M: 65.8/105 W: 66.1/111 326 484 298 147 282 400 114 381 369 2801 365 432 115 319 481 345 140 260 111 2568 5369
Red M: 63.5/102 W: 65.1/103 234 457 292 95 244 360 106 340 325 2453 279 411 105 300 428 120 73 187 95 1998 4451
Handicap 6 2 14 8 18 12 16 4 10 1 7 13 15 5 3 9 17 11
Par 4 5 4 3 4 5 3 5 4 37 4 5 3 4 5 4 3 4 3 35 72
Handicap (W) 9 1 7 17 13 3 15 11 5 2 6 10 8 4 12 18 14 16

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect D. J. DeVictor

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire, collared shirts required.

Reviews

3.2
196

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 4
19th Hole Scenic Views 2
Watching the Game 2
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 20
Water Hazards 18
Forced Carries 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 17
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 13
Advanced Golfers 11
This Course's Location is:
Near the Airport 20
Convenient to the City 14
Worth the Drive 13

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Greens were great

The fairways and greens were great. The bunkers were terrible. Weeds everywhere in them. There looks like there is a lot of construction going on there as well.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Shambles

Sad to see a course in poor condition like this. A little tender loving care and it could be a real enjoyable course but until then I'd recommend going elsewhere.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not for begginers

Interesting golf course however houses are too close.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Love This Course

First time playing at Royal Oaks, the pro shop attendant was very friendly and knowledgeable about the course. My group had a blast. The greens were the best in town, people warned me about the course but they were defiantly wrong about this small local owned course. The cart girl was very charming and checked on me several times. I will be back! Thank you for making it such a pleasant experience.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the money - $16

I’d complain about this course if it wasn’t so cheap to play. $16 to ride 18 is just great. I played in the afternoon and literally was the ONLY zone on the course. It was hard to find my way around, poorly marked paths. I’m still not sure what happened at 15/16, but I think I should have played it twice. Burnt greens, really rough rough, and poorly marked tee boxes. I played it out of curiosity, but probably won’t again...unless I’m broke. Lol.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/22/2018:
Hello Bethe, thank you for reviewing our course, Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Tennessee area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Course Conditions

After playing here several times in last month, course is really looking much better since aerifying greens. Fairways mowed and second cut favorable. Greens were watered and most looking could even with this heat! Compared to other similar priced courses in area this is my choice with friendly staff and good location. Views of mountains cant be beat from this course !!!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

WHAT A SHAME

POOR EVERYTHING JUST GO AHEAD CLOSE DOWN AND BUILD YOUR HOUSES NO NEED TO KEEP THE COURSE OPEN IN THIS CONDITION
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/22/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center in the Maryville, Tennessee area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

First time here in years

Boy they have let this course turn to trash. The fairways are almost nonexistent. Good luck finding a tee box that has a level place to hit from. Greens are full of ball marks and mushrooms. Will never play here again
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/18/2018:
Hello Will, thank you for taking the time to review us, Course Name, in the Maryville, Tennessee area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the Greens so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once every three months
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Could be better

This is first time playing here it could be a very nice course but was not prepared at all, greens were ok but several had damage and construction on them, some had 11/2” mushrooms growing on them, the tee boxes were not mowed some so tall could not set a tee. It’s a pretty course and could be good if they kept it up.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center on 06/14/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Royal Oaks Golf Course & Event Center staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

This is an embarrassment to golf courses

Terrible greens, tee boxes full of weeds and tall grass. Fairways full of weeds and bugs everywhere due to non maintenance. This course should be free or shut down.
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Response from Royal Oaks Golf Course on 05/21/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback. We apologize that the course conditions did not meet your expectations. We value customer experience, and will be passing this along to our staff. Thank you again for leaving us with a review, and we hope to see you again.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE