Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa - Gary Player Signature Course

No.5 on the Gary Player Signature Course at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a long par 3 where even those playing from the forward tees must clear water.
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
817 Reviews (817)
5 Stars
357
4 Stars
327
3 Stars
90
2 Stars
31
1 Stars
12
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
88.9%
Recommend this course
716 out of 817 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
59 Reviews (59)
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.9
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.5
84.7%
Recommend this course
50 out of 59 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
89 Reviews (89)
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.1
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.5
87.6%
Recommend this course
78 out of 89 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort/Public
Par 72
Length 7062 yards
Slope 131
Rating 73.6
Book a Tee Time at
The Westin Mission Hills - Gary Player
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1992
Golf Season Year round
Architect Gary Player (1992)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared golf shirts and proper length bermuda shorts or pants required. Prohibited are denim or blue jeans, halter-tops, bathing suits, sweat pants and t-shirts

Reviews

4.3
817 Reviews (817)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
19th Hole Specials 8
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 60
Bunkers 54
Forced Carries 35
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 50
A Weekend Splurge 36
Locals 34
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 55
At a Resort 46
Worth the Drive 28

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Used cart

Review Change

Wrote a previous review about poor customer service received regarding a cancellation due to Covid19. Still never received any communication, but I did receive my refund so I have to give Golfnow and the course 5 stars for that. Thanks.

Played On
1.0
First Time Playing

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Unfortunately had to cancel a T-Time for two due the Covid-19 outbreak. I called for assistance with getting a refund, but was told I would have to email the pro due to the phones being down (?) to the pro shop. Sent two e-mails to the e-mail address I was provided and never ever received a response. Was really looking forward to playing this course, but will never enter the doors again. Never ever got any response from Golfnow either. Pretty sad when Goflnow and a course cannot arrange a cancellation & refund due to a medical emergency.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Great layout but poorly maintained

The course layout was challenging but fair - a fun layout to play. However, it's obvious the place is struggling financially as the condition of the course was very disappointing. The greens were slow, the fairways shaggy and inconsistent, the rough was very rough, the sand traps neglected and very inconsistent- overall I would classify the conditions as below average. I paid $125.00 green fee and felt ripped off. Too bad because the layout was great.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Good layout, condition and pace

A very enjoyable day on a very good , well maintained course

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always a Gem

Good course with variety of challenging holes. Tee to green in great shape. The rough is the “desert look “ but very playable.
Fun course to play, wide fairways and a challenge for all types of golfers.
Pace of play was just a little over 4 hours.
Will definitely play again.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course.

Great course. Facilities are good and has everything you need but not fancy like the Pete Dye resort course.
Pace of play was Perfect. We didn’t wait on one Tee box and had no one waiting or hitting into us. And it was busy but the tee times are spaced perfectly on this course.
I’ve heard it is being auctioned off soon. Hope things don’t change too much. Great staff, great golf venue. course was in good shape too.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Review

I enjoyed both the consummate customer service and the layout; a tremendous course!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Not as good as in the past

Greens were about 9 on stimpf meter but practice green was about a 13---not good
Many puts did not role true due to "tenting" of the holes

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Westin Gary player course out of a trailer

The course lacks basic amenities- not even a towel in the cart. Starter was no where to be found. Our twosome followed two foursomes and were followed by two threesomes. No management of pace of play. Several holes were so non-descripti and outright ugly intertwined w a few better designed holes.
A typical resort course in the sense that greens are slower and very little breaks...
There are definitely better courses than this one.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Decent layout

Green speed was good, layout fun, conditions good.
Greens boring most putts are dead straight

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Design,but not as well kept as previous years

Course conditions were not up to previous years. Greens were Health but very slow as compared to previous years probably a 7/8. Attention to detail was lacking. Apparently this course is for sale and maintenance is suffering

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the price

Had high expectations for this course but found it lacking in comparison to other Palm Springs courses. Fairways and greens were very good, but the rough was more like a dry cow patch.
We teed off at 7:58. Sand traps not raked or smoothed to start the day.
Landscaping was quite lame in many spots.
Looks like they need a cash infusion ASAP.
We stayed at Desert Princess and the course here is far superior for less money.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good for all levels

Played here a few times now and it is very consistent. Good for all levels of player and a great place to work into your golf vacation.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Disappointing compared to it’s peers

As your car drives up to the club drop off area, you see a large aluminum cart shed which has obviously been there for a while. Nestled behind the cart shed, is a doublewide trailer serving as the pro shop and grill. The course was built in 1991 and it is apparent that the trailer has served as the clubhouse the entire time. Be careful in the restroom as the floor is rotting and about to fall through.

I asked the young lady who checked me in about the greens on the course, since I had never played here before. Here respond once “they are Bermuda.....I think”. Thanks for the tip.

While the Gary Player course has a generally nice layout, it.is not very imaginative and the greens look like they have been shaped by the greens keeper whiteout any thought to the surrounding topography. The course was soaked with water. Enough so that we often had to slow down the cart to drive through giant puddles. It was not wet because of rain, but from overwatering. Because of the overwatering, there are many patches of dirt and sand instead of grass. The greens run ok, but these are the flattest, most boring greens you will ever find.

While it’s hard to go wrong with the scenery in Palm Springs, this course needs to be skipped. There are so many better options for the price.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Nearby Courses
Rancho Mirage, California
4.6176470588
13
Rancho Mirage, California
4.6176470588
13
Rancho Mirage, California
4.6176470588
13
Thousand Palms, California
0.0
0
Cathedral City, California
4.2116647059
291
Rancho Mirage, California
0.0
0
Cathedral City, California
3.4829705882
570
Rancho Mirage, California
0.0
0
Cathedral City, California
4.0422470588
765

Stay & Play Offers

From $499
Valid dates: May 10, 2020 - Jun 18, 2020
Every spring getaway should include the perfect mixture of lakeside recreation and 4-Star relaxation! The Tahoe Tap-in Stay & Play package offers a luxurious stay at Edgewood Tahoe Resort plus your choice of two rounds of golf with a cart at Lake Tahoe's only public lakefront golf course, two 50-minute treatments at the serene Spa Edgewood, or one of each for each night per reservation.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE