Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
702 Reviews (702)
5 Stars
401
4 Stars
249
3 Stars
38
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
93.9%
Recommend this course
669 out of 702 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
38 Reviews (38)
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.3
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
89.5%
Recommend this course
34 out of 38 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
115 Reviews (115)
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
93.9%
Recommend this course
108 out of 115 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6778 yards
Slope 130
Rating 72.8

Both the East Course and the West Course at Jacaranda Golf Club are four-star rated by Golf Digest. These challenging golf courses weave across a tropical landscape covered with blue lagoons, tranquil ponds, and swaying palm trees. The West Course is the shorter of the two courses but it is no less challenging. Strategy and skill, rather than length, are the determining factors on this layout. With water hazards to avoid, numerous tricky doglegs, and tight bunkering along the greensides and landing areas, this course is definitely a shot-maker's layout. The raised, sloped greens and undulating, tree-lined fairways will require some careful maneuvering. The outward nine is slightly more forgiving than the demanding inward nine, which features more boldly contoured green complexes. The challenging, yet versatile design of both golf courses has made Jacaranda one of southeast Florida's most popular golfing destinations.

Book a Tee Time at
Jacaranda Golf Club - West (Ft. Lauderdale)
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1971
Fairways Bermuda grass
Greens Bermuda grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Mark Mahannah (1971)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Yes

Reviews

4.5
702 Reviews (702)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 35
Brunch 13
19th Hole Specials 10
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 73
Water Hazards 73
Undulating Greens 45
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 59
Playing Multiple Courses 49
Locals 37
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 59
Worth the Drive 41
Near the Airport 34

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Enjoyable overall

I would rate this at 3.5 overall. The greens were still suffering following recent maintenance and the indentations on the greens played a major role in putting. I would have waited to play there if I had known about the state of the greens. Give them another couple of weeks and I am sure they will be good. The course was quite empty, probably due locals knowing about the greens. The layout is nice enough and the staff were friendly. As a hot deal this represented OK value for money, but had I paid more, I would have felt ripped off.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 07/22/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We work very hard to let all of our customers know about any necessary maintenance work being performed over the summer. We apologize if you were unaware and we hope to see you back soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worse - Much Worse

Played behind a 5 some all day to a 5 plus hr round. Told the ranger 3 times but they were either his friends or paid him very well. Called the pro shops and mentioned it at the turn. Twice, they would break up for 1/2 a hole and then rejoin.
The traps are the worst I ever seen. Mesh exposed on most holes and rocks that are going to really hurt someone. Why they take the bottom up the sides so a shot one foot from the green gets submerged under 6+ inches of sand is insane.
And generally, the rest of the course has dropped from its previous 5 star rating down to a 3.5.
It’s well overpriced.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 07/22/2019

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at Jacaranda. We are certainly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We do not allow fivesomes on the course at any time and we will be sure to address this issue with our staff. We are working very hard to get renovations approved for new bunkers on the courses. We sincerely hope to have you back at Jacaranda soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excelent course but greens aired

We booked through Golfnow and when we got there the greens were aired. Despite of that, west course is excelente.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 07/22/2019

Thank you for your review. We try to inform everyone about the greens in advance, and we post the aerification dates on our website as well. In some cases we don't have access to your contact information and we apologize that you did not have advanced notice.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Wait a Month

Second time on the west course - great track, tees played increase the challenge, beautiful course and a great staff all the way around, The ding, and why I didn’t rate higher, is that it would have been nice to know that the greens had recently been aerated and sanded.. the two putt rule in place.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 06/24/2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We try very hard to let everyone know in advance when we're performing maintenance on the courses. We're sorry you weren't aware of that and we sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

West course- best in South Florida, right now....

Played today; Fairways, greens, and tee boxes all in immaculate shape. Only issue I had was a lot of the water coolers out on the course were empty- not a good look on a hot day. Over the last week I’ve played PGA National (Fazio) Trump (Gold), Emerald Hill’s, and Biltmore but Jacaranda is in better shape than all of them.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 06/24/2019

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoy Jacaranda but sincerely apologize about the lack of water available. We will address that immediately. See you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

I have played Jacaranda many times before. It’s always in great condition even in the dry months. The greens were a bit slower than usual it might be all the rain we have had lately. Course layout is great. I would play Again there anytime.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 06/24/2019

Thank you so much for the great review. It has been a wet month so far so the greens may be a little slower than you're used to here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 06/24/2019

Thanks so much for the Excellent rating. See you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 06/24/2019

We sincerely appreciate the 5 star rating and look forward to seeing you again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

We're happy to know you found us deserving of a 5 star rating. See you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great round

We were the first tee time off so pace of play was not an issue. Course was in very good shape, fairways were plush and greens were smooth and relatively quick. Will definitely play again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

Awesome! Thank you for sharing and we'll see you next time.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

One of my favorites

It's rare to find a course where every club in the bag gets used, but that was the case Sunday. If you are not familiar with the West, false fronts abound and many of the green side bunkers are very difficult to get out of because of high lips. Fairway conditions were very very good. This, despite my hacking through the rounds, remains very high on my list for Broward County tracks.
Only one disappointment, too many pebbles and rocks in the traps. (Of course I could have avoided that but I am a 15 handicapper after all)

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

We're honored to be on your list of faves! Thank you for sharing the excellent review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Conditions, not great arrival process

First time playing Jacaranda (West).

First asked upon arrival if I was with the tournament. When I replied no, I was given no further direction. No one asked if I knew where I was going or told me what to do. When I got in the pro shop they were prepared for my arrival and recognized me by name. I was asked if I wanted range balls then sent back to get my cart. More paositive interaction for sure.

Then I got my cart, no one again told me where to go. Once directed to starter booth, I went there and no one was present. After a few minutes someone showed up, “checked me in” and told me I’d be playing with someone else. Ok, but he handed range balls and said nothing about where to go or what to do when finished warming up. After. I asked he directed me to the half of the range that was open and told me to come back to him after hitting. After I returned, I was just told to go to the first tee. Then the ranger there (normally id call him a starter but ok) rudely told me to give him my cart and ride with someone else. It wa how he told me to do it that wa SOO out of line. It was like I stole a cart from somewhere and got caught.

As for the course, good layout, really good conditions the day I played. I’d play again and have a better impression since I wouldn’t have to ask where to go for everything. Also, range balls should be included ANYWHERE that charges $90 a round.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post about your visit to Jacaranda. We will definitely address these issues so future first time guests do not experience the same issues. We apologize for that but we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your round. We truly hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Difficulty Moderate
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

Thank you for the excellent rating! See you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

Thank you for taking the time to rate the West Golf Course. We will see you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 05/25/2019

Thank you so much for the excellent rating. See you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

great day

We were paired with two gentlemen from UK and had a great day. Greens rolled true and a slight wind presented some challenges. Amenities were great and staff was friendly and helpful.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 04/22/2019

Awesome! We're so glad you had a great day at Jacaranda and we look forward to your next visit.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 04/22/2019

Thank you for awarding us with 5 stars! We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great little track, but slow

Other than the barefoot guy in front of us, a good if slow round. Course in great shape, modern carts. The #3 tees play short so if you hit the ball a good ways, play off the #2’s.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 04/14/2019

We're sorry the pace was a little slow on the day you played. Despite that, we sincerely appreciate the 5 star review! We hope to see you soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great

Excellent conditions, tee box, fairways are plush. Other courses in the area do not compare. Well worth the extra money.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
24fc7482-03e7-594f-9cc2-24565fedf68c
Commented on 04/14/2019

Thank you so much! We're glad you enjoy Jacaranda and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
0.0
0
Plantation, Florida
4.4112823529
562
Davie, Florida
3.8271529412
381
Plantation, Florida
4.2099647059
68
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
5.0
1
Plantation, Florida
4.8285714286
7
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
5.0
1
Cooper City, Florida
2.2571
35

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE