Crooked Cat at Orange County National

4.5455941176 4.5 stars from 5 (655)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7493 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 76.0
  • Layout

  • 16301 Phil Ritson Way, Winter Garden, Florida 34787, Orange County
  • (888) 727-3672, (407) 656-2626
  • (407) 656-4045
  • www.ocngolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1998
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Champions Bermuda Ultra Dwarf Turf Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Champ 72 7493 yards 76.0 139
Orange 72 6927 yards 73.7 132
Green 72 6432 yards 71.4 126
White 72 6020 yards 68.8 122
White (W) 72 6020 yards 74.5 133
Tan (W) 72 5122 yards 69.6 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 655 Reviews
5 stars:
428
4 stars:
179
3 stars:
29
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

617 out of 655 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens forced carries   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Amrutpatel's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/21/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Awesome"


jfriendly12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This was the best course I've played in six years of being in Florida. Extra large greens helped my game but hard to make 100 foot putts.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Played in three hours fifteen minutes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000008009478's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/16/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Great Course, unfriendly gusty wind and horrible pace!"


tomik17's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love both courses at the OCN and was very much looking forward to play it again. We’ve been paired with two young very good players and a nice round was expected. Even despite strong and gusty wind. We have enjoyed the round with these two locals very much, but the pace was really horrible – almost 5 hours!!! And nobody out there to speed it up!?! Tee boxes, fairways and bunkers in very good condition. The greens must have been sanded several days ago, but were fairly fast and true. Overall it is really a nice place to go – regrettably that there has been so strong housing construction closed to the course in the last couple of years. I remember the old days, as the place was just pure nature… And I was glad to get a hot deal as otherwise OCN is rather expensive in the spring. .


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. See you soon!

"Crooked Cat"


u9423709's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Considering the lack of rain, the fairways were in very good condition. Greens were fast and dry. Definitely recommend the course. Very courteous and friendly staff, (bag drop, starter and cart lady).


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star experience!


CanFan5's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

We're happy to hear you played with a great pace of play and great course conditions. Thank you for playing Crooked Cat!


gsteyermader's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Great place to play"


Carlos3221727's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you want to play a friendly layout featuring tour quality facilities and tour quality course maintenance, this is your place. Plenty of tee boxes to choose from and the beverage cart comes around every 20 minutes or so. Love these two courses.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat! Our staff is thrilled to hear about your 5-star experience on both courses. See you soon!

"Slow Greens"


Brent7492224's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tough course, but the greens looked and rolled well just really slow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review! Your feedback on greens conditions is greatly appreciated.


kdog1984's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tees and greens were in very nice shape. Greens firm and fast. Was a little disappointed in the condition of the fairways as I played celebration the day before and theirs were perfect.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your recommendation!


iamsmitty13317's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for taking time to share your recommendation and rate the course 4-stars!


jpnugent123's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Superb Condition"


dhaylett's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

OCN is my favorite golf complex and Crooked Cat is my favorite golf course in Orlando. Monday did not disappoint. Course was in excellent condition and the staff was both friendly and helpful. Unlike the very windy conditions I had at Panther Lake a few days ago, this day had a good breeze, but it was not a problem. This resulted in a 3 hour round, not the 2:45 for 9 holes I had a few days earlier.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and taking time to share your 5-star experience!


Mike1639802's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for taking time to share your recommendation and rate the course 4-stars!


Dani11's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/27/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star recommendation!

"Not worth the time"


myronm's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of issues with this course. Fairways were extremely bare, very little grass in fairways at all, rough was easier and fuller than fairways. Unless you wanted to hit off bare ground, you were better off hitting from rough. most of the greens rolled fairly true but not real fast. Not super slow but definitely not fast and way slower than normal for this course when i've played it in the past.

Took almost 5.5 hours to play. Talked to cart girl and she said that rangers were to do nothing, even if someone were more than a hole or two behind. Management doesn't want to upset any players no matter how slow they are. And one group in front of the group in front of us was over 3 holes behind at the turn. Many times 3 groups on tee waiting.for this group. unless you like playing super slowly, I'd strongly recommend playing elsewhere. For the price and conditions, it isn't worth it. Course has really gone downhill in last 6 months since i played it last.

Course has interesting policy on makiing tee times. It advertises tee times that are not available at all. Tee listings showed several tee times on Golf-now for a couple of days including saturday. Yet, when i got there and asked about them, the staff in the proshop said that that course was 100% booked for several days. One of the tee times on the other course was shown with Florida rate for hours, but when i attempted to book the time, it became unavailable for the Florida rate and only had the non-resident rate available (much much higher - (about $40 more). I found out at the proshop that that rime was filled on Wednesday completely and he didn't understand why they were showing it available on golf now. makes one wonder about golfnow which manages the tee sheet at this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/27/2018:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

"Awesome"


u000001705813's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the money by far the best bet in Orlando. Course was in great shape all around. Greens were in such great shape i could hardly believe it. Windy when we played so a little challenging on length, but that’s the way it goes. You won’t go wrong playing here. Bet the greens were rolling close to 11.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/27/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat! We're happy to hear you played with 5-star course conditions. See you soon!


zackster's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/27/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!

"Outstanding Golf Course"


jregis1's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Crooked Cat OC golf course is a fabulous test of golf. The course set up is 1st class and greens were in perfect shape. Bring your A game as it is a true test of your ability. Well worth the entry tee!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/27/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star review!


Dennis9491389's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/21/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star experience!

"Great course"


tvanwaes's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We love the layout of this course. The greens were in excellent shape. The fairways were thin, but that is fairly normal for this time of year. Overall, we had a great day and will play it again when we go down next year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/21/2018:

We're happy to hear you were able to play Crooked Cat during your visit to Orlando. See you next year!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed