Crooked Cat at Orange County National

4.5728588235 4.6 stars from 5 (698)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7493 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 76.0
  • Layout

  • 16301 Phil Ritson Way, Winter Garden, Florida 34787, Orange County
  • (888) 727-3672, (407) 656-2626
  • (407) 656-4045
  • www.ocngolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1998
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Champions Bermuda Ultra Dwarf Turf Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Champ 72 7493 yards 76.0 139
Orange 72 6927 yards 73.7 132
Green 72 6432 yards 71.4 126
White 72 6020 yards 68.8 122
White (W) 72 6020 yards 74.5 133
Tan (W) 72 5122 yards 69.6 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 698 Reviews
5 stars:
463
4 stars:
186
3 stars:
30
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

660 out of 698 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens forced carries   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Amrutpatel's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 03/21/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!


Konstantin7430307's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"One of the Best"


davidgraf's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hands down, this is one of the best courses I have played in the 18 years I have lived in Florida. Plush fairways, huge greens that run true, and friendly staff - what more could a high handicapper want? Fewer bunkers, maybe?

I used a Hot Deal to find this great price. But the normal price will not keep me away from this gem.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

We're happy to hear Crooked Cat met all of your expectations. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience!


u439987651's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!


u769857887's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!


u439987651's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review!

"A Golfing Oasis"


u000003634023's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing golf on this course was truly an enjoyable experience! From the layout, to the course conditions and the staff friendliness, everything was top notch.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and rating the course 4-stars!

"Pure excellence."


Ryan2014040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Basically pure excellence. Played the wrong tees so it was a little long for me (7100). Greens, tees, fairways were so nice. Beautiful approach shots on every hole.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star experience!


louisville1994's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Globetrekker"


Amrutpatel's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course. I play often there. Great 2 courses and always in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Great course"


u4847991's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If visiting Irlando a must course to play, greens looked bumpy, but rest assured very true running and very fast, loved the course onto panther lake next.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and rating the course 5-stars!

"Always a pleasure"


scottlilly's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having played both OCN courses a number of times, there are no surprises that await me. But, that is a good thing since both courses are uniformly excellent! Crooked Cat is the less demanding of the two but she has sharp claws on a number of holes. My favorite is #12 which requires a precise tee shot down the right side of the fairway to shorten the second shot, a forced carry over a marsh to the thin, elongated green. Even so, the hole provides a bail out area for the faint of heart or the errant tee shot!! Anyway the course was in typical summer shape; good but not great. Greens rolled true at a reasonable speed even though they had been verticut recently. Fairways had some thin spots but, overall, were reasonably good. My only somplaint is not with the golf course but the inconsiderate dolts who don’t rake bunkers, don’t repair divots or ball marks, and drag their feet around the cups. C’mon people, respect the course and your fellow players! The staff, as always, were uniformly friendly and helpful. I always look forward to my next round at OCN!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star experience!

"well maintained."


kendogrim's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course greens were as you would want them to be. We look forward to playing this course again soon & easy to get to.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

We're happy to hear course conditions were excellent during your visit. See you soon!


Jose6553936's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Father’s Day golf"


Nordemen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great day at the course. Good conditions.

Played early


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!


Jiraporn7874199's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"My new favourite Disney area course"


pessy's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From the moment you arrive you just know that this course isn't going to let you down, and it turns out that it's just as lovely to play as you get from your first impressions.

The tees were good, and the greens were simply a pleasure to play on. The fairways in places perhaps didn't hit the condition of the rest of the course, but that's probably just me being picky.

With mostly wide fairways and numerous tees, this is a course that's playable for all handicaps. The greens are pretty well protected by lots of bunkers, and a few have some water to worry about. Once you're on the putting surface there are more than a few breaks to contend with too.

The clubhouse and proshop are lovely, and everyone working there was a pleasure to deal with.

Highly recommended!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/29/2018:

We're happy to hear about your 5-star experience. See you soon!

"Course is awesome!!"


Chris2342664's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Crooked cat was in great shape, greens rolling well and fairly quick. Fairways were nice and tee boxes as well. Overall it is in the type of shape we ya e come to expect from OCN!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/25/2018:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your 5-star experience!

"Good course well worth the visit"


u172831711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cracking course, even with evidence of work on the greens in recent weeks they played very well and true.

Well thought out courses with 12 and 13 offering something a little bit different. We had 3of us off 3different tee colours so caters for all.

The staff were very friendly on arrival and throughout.

Would visit again if in the area


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/25/2018:

We're happy to hear everybody in your group were accommodated during your round. See you soon!

"Big Zeee on Crooked Cat"


bigzeee's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played from the orange tees, 3 of us. Course was moving at the right pace, the greens were a challenging putt. The rough was low and the course was looooong. No wind, perfect weather. Price was right.

And to top it of with 3 birdies on the 18th made it a day to remember!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/25/2018:

We're happy to hear you enjoyed playing Crooked Cat! Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. See you soon!

"Amazing experience"


Eclark36's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing course and great layout amazing scenery so make sure to bring your camera


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 06/25/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed