Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.1
822 Reviews (822)
5 Stars
109
4 Stars
339
3 Stars
211
2 Stars
103
1 Stars
60
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.2
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.4
Amenities
3.5
56.3%
Recommend this course
592 out of 822 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.2
48 Reviews (48)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
5
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.3
Layout
3.8
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
3.8
54.2%
Recommend this course
26 out of 48 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.1
78 Reviews (78)
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
9
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.3
Layout
3.9
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.0
57.7%
Recommend this course
45 out of 78 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 6550 yards
Slope 126
Rating 71.7
Book a Tee Time at
Riverwalk Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1988
Fairways Bermuda grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Country Club attire required. T-shirts, Beachwear, Denim (Jeans) are prohibited

Reviews

3.1
822 Reviews (822)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 57
19th Hole Scenic Views 29
Watching the Game 26
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 90
Bunkers 87
Undulating Greens 79
This course/club is great for:
Locals 100
Walkers 64
Playing Multiple Courses 60
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 147
Near the Airport 82
Near Local Attractions 63

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Mission/Presidio

Course and Staff were excellent in helpfulness, courtesy, and my Breakfast Burrito was great! The overall condition of the course was very good. Pace of play could have been better, but in NO REGARDS to the course or staff. Our 3some was just having a rough day of it, we had no one to blame but ourselves. Still, all in all, it was a great day to get out and take the challenge.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 10/18/2019

Thank you for sharing your last round at Riverwalk GC! We're glad you all had a great day and overall experience! Hope to see you back again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 09/18/2019

Thank you for rating your round at Riverwalk. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 09/11/2019

We appreciate the review. You rated us 2-stars which means there is room to improve on your recent experience at Riverwalk Golf Club. Let us know, in the comments, how and where you would like to see changes from the course. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Riverwalk - the dump

pathetic course conditions. either mud holes or large dead spots. they did not mention that the greens were punched and sanded when the reservations were made 5 days ago. will not be back at any price

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 09/10/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We understand your frustration and hope you will bear with us as we work diligently to make improvements. Thanks for choosing Riverwalk Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A players review...

Always slow. Always. Course layout is fun for not having much hill/elevation. Course can play tough even though it’s shorter. The greens are usually faster than they should be considering the green slope, but usually in decent shape.

Tees and greens are usually in good shape. Fairways and bunkers are usually not.

Pros - fun little course, playable for all levels, layout is solid. Greens in good shape.
Food/restaurant is really fantastic. Great sandwiches and

Cons - about $15-$20 overpriced. The location is what you’re paying for with the course in a central location, not necessarily the course.
A minimum 4 hour 45 minute round, no exceptions. I’ve had rounds 5 hour 30 mins. Tees are stacked together, plenty of hacks play this course, not much help from any marshals.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 09/04/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars and we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Riverwalk Golf Club, we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

In Good Shape

Riverwalk has improved the course conditions measurably since my last visit this past fall. Had a lot of fun.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 09/04/2019

Hi bassmanleon. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate the improvements you've seen since last fall. Thank you for the 4 stars and we hope to see you back again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2019

We appreciate the review. You rated us 3-stars which means there is room to improve on your recent experience at Riverwalk Golf Club. Let us know, in the comments, how and where you would like to see changes from the course. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Previously Played

Very Disappointing

The course was very disappointing. We booked directly with the course though a promo that was emailed to me.

Strike 1, like all riverwalk coupons read the fine print. Even if you call in the tee time, mention the promo you are using and they confirm it over the phone. That’s what I did, only to find out I overlooked a clause in the fine print. We ended up paying for two players on a weekday $156 for 18 holes with cart and a small bucket of balls. I wouldn’t pay over $20 per person for this course.

Strike 2, the course is in terrible condition. It would have been great at some point (made the reservation 5 days before) if someone from the team had mentioned how poor of condition the course was. Every other hole we played had a lot of grounds work.

Strike 3, I sent a very long and detailed email to Chris, the manager one week ago. Never got a reply.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great layout

I enjoyed the course. # 3 is interesting and challenging, would love to play that hole again. SOME, not all, fairways were not in the greatest shape but entirely playable. Greens were in great shape. Staff was friendly and helpful. I had never played the course before, not from CA, starter gave the group I was paired with a heads up on #1 on where to hit your tee shot. It was a great hot deal. I would not pay the regular weekend fee of $99 to play the course due to the fairways. Looks like they are doing their best to improve the fairways though, a lot had "ground under repair" in spots. Overall if I were here again and found a "hot deal" for the course I would play it again. I do understand that golf courses can't operate under "hot deals".

Conditions Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2019

Hi Steve. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Riverwalk Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
1.0
Previously Played

Staff not friendly, not helpful

I played this course a few months ago and they had the groups packed together so closely that we had 4 groups waiting on a par 3. The exact thing happened the previous time we played the course. With the EXTREME slow pace of play, we had to pack it up after 9 holes. We went to the clubhouse to complain, and apparently so did half the other groups on the course that day because all the people in front of us and behind us had the same issues. They gave us all vouchers for 9 holes.

Here's the kicker. The vouchers expire in 3 months. So when my buddy and I finally were able to get out on the course again today (beyond 3 months) they had expired. We figured they would be nice enough to honor them considering. Nope. Taylor, the young man at the front desk was not helpful. I explained that I rarely get the chance to get to the course because of my family obligations. I also told him I did not think it was a great way to run a business by cramming in as many players as possible and when players complain, give them vouchers in which some will expire. His annoyed response was, "it's a popular course."

Wow. This use to be our go to course. We even would have work events here. I gave you a chance to redeem yourself today and you failed.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course. We take single star feedback very serious. Thank you for playing Riverwalk Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Decent course for a hot deal price

Very nice layout with some pretty holes on the front nine. At full price it is overpriced for the condition of the course which is not great. Greens are very consistent though and fairly pure but the fairways are rough. If you can get a deal it can be one of the nicer rounds available in SD.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/09/2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service during your next visit to Riverwalk Golf Club!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very disappointed

I had not played Riverwalk in over a year.
Decided to play this month and I was sad to see the fairway conditions on most holes.
MY son & I really enjoyed playing there, but after this last round, I will look elsewhere.
I really hope they can bring it back to really good playing conditions.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2019

Hi, MQeFRYJy0TcnIg6LgKYF. We appreciate your feedback and are going to pass it along to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Riverwalk Golf Club. We hope you and your son will give us another try in the future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice couse but not in good shape

The greens were in good condition. Unfortunately, the pitch marks are often not repaired by the players. Bunkers and fairways were very hard fairways with little grass. Too bad, since the layout of the couse, with 3x9 holes would be really good.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 08/09/2019

HiBirdieTaxi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and provide your feedback. Thank you for the 4 stars and for playing Riverwalk Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
2.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/09/2019

Hello, northmen24. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take customer feedback very serious at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind. Thank you for playing Riverwalk Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fairway is terrible.

I played lots of course all over the country. This course is probably a worse course I ever played. Definitely, I would never go to play this course again neither recommend to anyone. I'm very disappointed.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from on 08/05/2019:
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your experience and take 1-star reviews very seriously. If you have any additional concerns or feedback for how we could improve your experience, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at the course.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser

still good

The course is starting to dry out but it is still in pretty good shape for this time of year. If anything the greens are a little bit spongy. Hole #3 is in pretty rough shape because they are repairing the turf and much of it is roped off to carts. The rest of the course is very playable.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/09/2019

Thank you for taking the time to review Riverwalk, fordc46. Your feedback is valuable andwe hope you'll be back to play us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 07/31/2019:
Thank you for rating your experience at Riverwalk!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very disorganized. Did not honor my tee time....about 25 minutes late. They honored a big group. I asked to get ahead of the group, as I knew the tee was open but they did not let me. The course was in horrible condition. Not worth the money, I would not play it again.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Day Out.

Played with some awesome regulars Good play all around. Fantastic skill displayed amongst this 4some. I Recommend to play here as a single or bring your mates. I am coming back and gonna kill it again Woo hoo thanks to the Cart girls visits. We couldn’t have done it without you.
A must to Play this course Thank You for the opportunity to play here.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 07/22/2019:
It was our pleasure, Ryan! We're glad you had a great experience at Riverwalk and appreciate your recommendation!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from on 07/09/2019:
Thank you for rating your last round at Riverwalk!
Nearby Courses
San Diego, California
2.1111333333
16
San Diego, California
3.1069
822
San Diego, California
3.0
1
San Diego, California
3.7096352941
200
San Diego, California
4.2339411765
32
San Diego, California
3.5833333333
3
San Diego, California
1.0
2
San Diego, California
3.7637294118
21
San Diego, California
4.0731294118
209
San Diego, California
4.05555
4
Coronado, California
4.2878647059
18

Stay & Play Offers

From $255
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Feb 16, 2020
Play three rounds at Tobacco Road, Pinewild, and Whispering Pines and stay two nights in Pinehurst, NC.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE