Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
80 Reviews (80)
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
3.8
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.4
84.9%
Recommend this course
73 out of 80 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.9
11 Reviews (11)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.5
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.4
72.7%
Recommend this course
8 out of 11 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
20 Reviews (20)
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.6
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.5
80.0%
Recommend this course
16 out of 20 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 7026 yards
Slope 125
Rating 72.6
Book a Tee Time at
Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1995
Golf Season Year round
Architect Earl Stone (1995)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Accepted
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Accolades

Reviews

4.2
80 Reviews (80)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Greens are not good

Played today and the course was in good shape but the greens are not good and the price to play was not worth it. You can drive 5 miles to the west and play a really really good golf course for less money. Don’t pay $100 to play this course.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 07/25/2020

We thank you for your feedback, and we are saddened to hear that Peninsula did not exceed your expectations. We would like to discuss this with you further. Please contact our Director of Golf/Club Manager, Anthony Vaughn at (251) 210-8263.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Best In The Area

Played with my 3 sons and we played in under 4 hours on a fairly busy day. Course was in phenomenal shape and the green were rolling quick and true. The greens on the Marsh 9 were some of the best greens I've played on. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Out of the courses in the area that we played that week this one was the best all around. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the Gulf Shores area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Beautiful course

Amazing course with an even more amazing staff. Thank you to the “sarcastic wonder” (Michael) for the very gracious welcoming and great insight around the area. Definitely recommend to all other golfers in the area. Will definitely be back to the course!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

4 Pleased Golf Junkies

First time playing down in Gulf Shores. We played Kiva Dunes the day before and were told by people at Kiva and on reviews that, Kiva Dunes was the superior course. After playing them both I can honestly say that I don’t know if one is better than the other as far as layout, scenery, conditions, and playability. Both are beautiful and really fun to play.
Peninsula’s conditions were perfect from tee to green. Also, I thought the greens ran just a hair faster at Peninsula (which I like).
Where the Peninsula Golf Club pulled ahead was in the staff. Austin in the pro shop was absolutely top notch. He went above and beyond to make sure our experience was great. Mission accomplished!
Also, the beverage cart team and the rangers were all great and genuinely cared if you were enjoying yourself.
We shall return!
I highly recommend spending a morning or afternoon there playing the greatest game in the world.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Save your money

For $00 it was a rip off. This is a $60 course at BEST. The fairways were thin and the greens slow. We made the turn and the hustled us of to the back nine as soon as we arrived at the club house. The Lakes nine is a joke. Trees in the middle of the fairway, no GPS, and you really need it if you are a first timer.
This was our second round in two days and this was the worst. Stay away from this golf factory. All they want is your money and they want you out of there as fast a possible to run another foursome around.
Never again.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course in great shape

On our recent trip to Gulf Shores, we golfed several courses but this was by far in the best shape.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course...If You Know The Course!?!?

Honestly, the Peninsula Golf Club is really a beautiful course, but it would be hard for me to recommend it to anyone playing it for the first time...no GPS, no map of the course, no map of the holes...unless you drive up to see the hole you're playing before you play it, there are too many blind shots for the average golfer. You have no idea about water, marsh areas, hazards, etc...I believe my group hit 7 balls into hazard areas that we could not see from where we were.

Again, the course was beautifully maintained, and the staff is very polite and courteous...but without some map and distance to where you need to go, this is not a very "fair playing" course without some course knowledge.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Friendly, flexible, professional

Played in a 2-some at 2:00. Was able to move quickly through the Lakes course. We started on the Cypress course until hole 6 when several foursomes arrives to play in a tournament. We called the clubhouse and they said there was a mixup and they allowed us to play the Lakes again and then play the Marsh for free. They were very friendly and professional. The courses were challenging but fair.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Marsh 9 is very good

Lakes and Cypress 9’s didn’t feel like a $100 round of golf. Not a memorable hole out there. Marsh is the newest and had many many interesting and scenic holes.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Don’t go

Had a foursome. Had a 7:32 tee time and was through 5 holes in 58minutes. Ranger came up to us and told us our pace of play was too slow. We talked to him and he agreed our pace was perfectly fine(Nobody was waiting on us). The next hole someone two groups back drove over and started yelling during someone in my groups back swing.

Conditions Excellent
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 23
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Beautiful course

Gulf Shores, AL has some great golf. Of the 5 courses we played (all top rated), this was the prettiest. The course layout requires good shots be made, but even when off target the course was fair in allowing recovery without blowing an overall score.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Excellent Facility

This course was challenging but fair. It was in excellent condition - tee boxes, fairways, bunkers, and greens. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The food was delicious! All in all, a very nice afternoon on a beautiful course.
(Be certain you play the correct tees for your handicap. Once we moved up one set of tees, the corse was much more fun.)

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Excellent value and experience

The Marsh/Lakes combination is a very different set of 9 holes. Marsh greens have recently been totally redone and in time, they will be outstanding. They have meticulously reduced the size of the greens and for brand new greens, they look very healthy and show much potential. Lakes is a fun course, with the highlight of the final par 5 along the beautiful Mobile Bay. You can generally always see the famous eagle in his nest on this hole! The staff is outstanding and always trying to make your experience excellent! Food is very good!!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Not worth 90 bucks

When I called to make a tee time for later the same day, I was told our first nine would be on the Marsh nine. I was told the greens had been redone and "today" was the first day for golfers to be on the nine. I was told the greens would be firm but were in great shape and were rolling true. In reality, the greens were the best part of the nine. Some course employees didn't even know the nine was open and others told us it hadn't been "cleaned up". The story kept getting worse the more we talked to the course employees. There was sand all of the fairways and tire tracks from the big spreader that was spreading the sand (assume a sand and seed mixture). The tee boxes had not been marked and in general you could tell the nine was nowhere ready for play. Reality was a much different story from what I was told when making the tee time. I truly believe they received an influx of tee time request and decided to open the Marsh nine so not to lose out on $$$$.
Our back nine was one the Lakes. A short, challenging layout, but not in great shape at all. Both the greens and fairways need a lot of work. I'm not sure what they were doing in the bunkers, but in several bunkers there were tire tracks as if someone drove back and forth in the bunkers.
All in all, this course, even with a "ready" Marsh nine, is not work 90 bucks. It's a $40 dollar course at best. I will not play this course again in future visits to Gulf Shores!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 10/21/2019

Discuss more??? Seriously??
And you are going to refund part of my green fees? Sure you won't!! Thanks, but no thanks! I've wasted enough time and money on The Peninsula while playing golf. I don't need to waste more time telling you something I already have and what you knew before you put paying customers on a nine that wasn't ready for play. Not to mention the poor shape of the other nine. Good luck.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/21/2019

We understand, sir. Again, we thank you for your feedback as we value your opinion. We would love to discuss this experience with you more at length. Please contact us at your convenience at 251-968-2769.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/20/2019

If you knew you were opening prematurely, then why was I charged the full price???? Totally unacceptable. And as I suspected, you were out for the money and completely overlooked the customer experience. We come to Gulf Shores frequently. I will never play this course again, nor recommend to anyone!!! You should charge what the course is worth at the time of play. 90 bucks for that POS is unacceptable!!!! I should have stayed at Kiva Dunes or GSGC. I'll know better next time.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/18/2019

We are sorry we failed to meet and exceed our own expectations. This is not a normal representation of our daily operation. Our excitement for the newly renovated greens led to opening prematurely. Please call us to discuss further and again, we apologize for your experience. Thank you for letting us know of your experience so we can improve in the future. 251-968-2769.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing

Over-priced...under quality.

I played the lakes/cypress as that was the only two 9’s open. They are redoing the greens on Marsh which makes sense. Some of the greens on lakes and cypress were terrible with dead spots on them. They said the greens had a mutation. I think with mutated greens you lower your green fee. In the current state the course isn’t worth a $100 green fee. Also, I played as a single and took nearly 3 1/2 hours. I was the 2nd tee time off that morning and we were waiting for the greenskeeper every hole. Either the course is understaffed or they didn’t get started early enough.
Other than those two things the course is a nice course. Some semi blind tee shots, could be it was my first time or the carts don’t have a GPS which is another issue with the $100 green fee. Fairways were manicured nicely and the rough wasn’t too long.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/14/2019

Please know that we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are so sorry that your experience with was not up to the standards in which we hold ourselves accountable.You are right; however, that we are investing over $1M to redo the greens so that they are perfect. We invite you to please return after the renovation. We'd also like to discuss this experience with you further. Please contact our Director of Golf, Anthony Vaugh, via phone or email at Anthony.vaughn@honoursgolf.com or 251-968-8009.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Another Great Round at Peninsula

Got the chance to play peninsula marsh and lakes 2 years ago and played lakes and Cypress this year.

It was another awesome experience. I gave it 4 stars only because I reserve 5 stars for premier bucket list, historic type courses. Still, peninsula is an all around great golf experience. The twilight and week long deals are rough to beat.

Course conditions are always outstanding with smooth , fast greens. Pro shop is full of swag and the staff is extremely friendly. Good bar and restaurant as well.

If you are looking for a great round of golf convenient to the beach, this is the place to go.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Cousin Reunion

I booked the tee time for my cousins and I to get together while I took my wife to Gulf Shores for her birthday. The staff was awesome and very friendly from the parking lot, pro shop and grill. The course was just right for all levels of play in our group. Pace of play was excellent. I highly recommend this course for all plus it was a good value.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Semi-Private
4.5448411765
696
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Resort
4.8216529412
267
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Semi-Private
4.7045705882
72
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Public
3.6463294118
18
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Semi-Private
4.0324411765
33
Foley, Alabama
Public
4.0
1
Foley, Alabama
Public
3.8496470588
134
Orange Beach, Alabama
Public
0.0
0
Foley, Alabama
Semi-Private
4.3883058824
748
Foley, Alabama
Semi-Private
4.3883058824
748

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE