Calimesa Country Club

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.7
113
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
19
Conditions
2.4
Value
3.2
Layout
3.3
Friendliness
3.6
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.0
57.1%
Recommend this course
81 out of 113 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Average Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 5971
Slope 117
Rating 67.9
Type Public
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 5971 yards 67.9 117
White 70 5608 yards 66.4 113
Red (W) 72 5310 yards 70.7 121
Scorecard for Calimesa Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 68.4/117 534 181 336 420 358 201 290 414 125 2859 198 305 418 372 282 383 314 305 535 3112 5971
White M: 66.7/113 W: 72.3/126 519 139 321 410 333 163 280 402 115 2682 185 288 410 337 273 361 278 295 499 2926 5608
Red M: 65.5/108 W: 70.7/121 485 125 313 418 328 156 257 379 93 2554 134 286 404 314 258 354 265 257 484 2756 5310
Gold M: 65.6/112 405 120 293 398 270 136 237 344 73 2276 114 266 354 294 238 314 245 240 454 2519 4795
Handicap 5 15 9 3 7 13 11 1 17 8 12 2 6 14 4 16 18 10
Par 5 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 3 34 3 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 5 36 70
Handicap (W) 1 15 7 9 5 13 11 3 17 14 16 10 6 12 2 8 18 4

Course Details

Year Built 1950
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

2.7
113

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 12
Patio Dining 7
Brunch 6
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 28
Bunkers 15
Narrow Fairways 11
This course/club is great for:
Locals 30
Seniors 20
Beginners 14
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 15
Convenient to the City 14
Worth the Drive 12

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Goat farm

Owner closed the back nine, he wants to build on the land. Only front nine remains and it is horrible. Dead grass on fairways, diseased greens, tee boxes bad. I don't see this poor excuse for a golf course open for much longer. STAY AWAY FROM HERE!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
arrowsm329
Commented On 10/05/2017

went by this course yesterday 10/4/17. Course was totally closed as of 9/30/17.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Top 250 Contributor
Hot weather
Used cart

Course is closed down

When bought two years ago course was in good shape, so good it has taken this long for new owner to run it completely into the ground. Neighbors have been told course had been loosing money for years and in the run down condition would cost millions to turn around. Previous owner said he had lost money for years and had tried to "Give" the course to the city but the city wanted no part of that....another one bits the dust..

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Don't go!

The fairways are like playing on dirt. The greens are diseased. Where there is grass on the fairways, it is very thick, but not much grass at all. They said they were re-doing the pro-shop to add pool tables, so not sure what you will do if you need something last minute. The restaurant staff was GREAT and so was the food; that alone might be worth going there, but NOT THE COURSE!! Hadn't played there is years, used to be nice.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Horrible Course

By far the worst course I've ever played. The greens are destroyed. There are literally cracks on the greens. The fairways look like they haven't been watered in years. Some of the Tee boxes weren't even mowed. If you like hitting your clubs off hard dirt then this is the course for you. If you like sinking a great put and going to retrieve your ball from the cup with a soaking wet hand then this is the course for you. Sorry excuse for a golf course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

The course is almost unplayable due to poor conditions.

This course is almost unplayable. 90% of the fairway grass is dead or is dirt. Almost all greens have damage ranging from 25% to over 50% on them(either from lack of watering or disease).

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Horrible !!!

Looks like this course is closing. I have play this course several times in the past 10 years. It was an OK course but now it is unplayable. The greens are unplayable, with totally burned out patches, and what is not burned out has 3 or 4 different grasses growing and all different heights of growth. Better off chipping on the green if you want to make a putt. Hardly any grass on the fairways, and what grass they have is dead and brown. It's a total shame to have this course open for play in its current condition. I hope they get this back to playing conditions. Very sad .

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Great place for new golfer to practice, no time pressure. Unfortunately, many of holes were dirt,, so even a novice would play better on grass!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 08/23/2017:
Hi u312023852, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. Thanks for giving us a shot!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Use as a practice range

It is clear they cannot afford water so whether we see this course open by next June is a good question...best that you can do with this course is consider hitting a bucket of range balls at different targets, and as far as putting...only about 5 of the greens can actually be called greens. Kukuya grass in growing in the middle of half of them....

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 08/23/2017:
Hi larrysherer, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. We appreciate you giving us a shot. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Run down

Price was good but the course wasn't very nice. Really run down . Ran out of carts and balls for the range. Fairways pretty much didn't even have grass on some holes. Try at your own risk

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 08/09/2017:
Hi u7847950, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're sorry your experience wasn't up to par during your round. Thanks for playing!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Pretty Good Course! Great Value!

Calimesa Country Club was a great course to play on. This outing was my first 18-hole course. Some of the tees were positioned above the pin which made for an exciting hole. The ground was somewhat hard, which actually helped out a lot on my drive. Once the ball hits the hard ground, it's going to continue to bounce and roll maybe another 50+ yards. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who likes a moderately challenged course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 08/09/2017:
Thanks for the great review! Come back and see us again soon!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun course open to the public

This is the course closest to my house so I'm able to go on short notice occasionally. Usually find some great deals around lunch. Fun course, little dried out in some spots. Greens are fairly well cared for, fairways are below average. Nice trees and shade. Driving range is garbage

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 08/09/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Love the course layout. Fun yet challenging!

I love this course! I consider it my home course even though I live in Yucaipa. The course layout is great!! It's really fun and imaginative. Greens are fair and never too slow or fast. But the fairways... they're begging for water! Lately I'll move my ball to one of the few grassy patches in the fairway as to not tear up my clubs. My wife won't play here again until they water more. It's a shame because after this last winter, after all the rain, the course conditions were fantastic, the best in years!! Water the fairways and greens more and you'll be back to 10+

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 07/21/2017:
Hi cablemn, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We apologize that the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. Our staff is currently working to improve them and we hope you consider giving us another shot in the future to see the improvements. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

ok course

The greens were fine, only issue was water in the holes. couldn't really put the ball as the holes were full of water. The fairways need a lot of help. It is like hitting off of a hard surface. The food at the club was really good and the staff friendly. You pay what you get.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 07/06/2017:
Hi u870108432, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, particularly about our about our course conditions. Our staff is currently working to improve them and we appreciate your patience with this. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and your experience with our staff. We hope you give us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Golf course???

In need of serious maintenance. Only the greens had decent grass but they were in desparate need of mowing and rolling. Course not even good for a decent practice round, regardless of the inexpensive rate from GN. Not recommended unless you want to take out a first time golfer just so they can learn to hit a golf ball on other than a driving range.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 06/12/2017:
Hi Craig5799955, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that the course conditions were not up to par during your round. Our staff is currently working hard to improve the conditions for our golfers and we hope you give us another shot in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 06/05/2017:
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Trees were mature oak and pines, very nice, However, I should have been paid to play the course. The greens were over watered, soggy with almost every cup filled with water. The fairways were hard, dry, full of weeds and bare spots and in need of seeding . Sad, could be a nice course if properly managed.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 06/05/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're sorry the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. We hope you give us another shot in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor conditions

Course is in poor condition. I golfed here 4 years ago and it had about 4 temporary greens at the time and was in bad shape but decided to give it another try and same thing hole 12 was completely closed and there were 2 other greens closed with no temporary greens set up. Fairways are in poor shape splotchy grass. Definitely won't be returning.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Calimesa Golf Club on 05/11/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your round and appreciate your patience as our staff works on the conditions of our course. We hope you give us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
1.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

1st 9 holes were rough.

couldn't even play 4 of the first 9 holes due to shut down greens. on the other greens tons and tons of sand.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 05/11/2017:
Thanks for leaving your feedback. We apologize that the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. We appreciate your patience as our staff works on the conditions of the course. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Calimesa Country Club on 05/11/2017:
Thanks for leaving us a review. We apologize that the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. We appreciate your patience as our staff continues to work on the conditions of the course. We hope you give us another shot in the future!
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Calimesa Golf Club

The fairways were terrible, (brown patches etc) and the greens were saturated. You'd figure with all the rain that we have had here in southern California, that the fairways would be better kept.

Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Calimesa Golf Club on 04/25/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize the course conditions weren't up to par for your round. Our staff is currently working to improve the experience for our golfers. Thanks for playing and we hope you give us another shot in the future.
Nearby Courses
Yucaipa, California
3.4983588235
320
Beaumont, California
4.2155352941
238
Cherry Valley, California
0.0
0
Redlands, California
0.0
0
Moreno Valley, California
0.0
0
Banning, California
5.0
2
Moreno Valley, California
2.8443
122

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE