San Vicente Golf Resort

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
319
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
149
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.0
80.0%
Recommend this course
289 out of 319 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.2
16
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
2.8
Value
3.7
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.5
50.0%
Recommend this course
8 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.6
40
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.3
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.3
70.0%
Recommend this course
28 out of 40 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 6633 yards
Slope 131
Rating 71.7
Book a Tee Time at
San Vicente Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6633 yards 71.7 131
White 72 6228 yards 69.9 128
White (W) 72 6228 yards 76.2 139
Gold 72 5501 yards 66.7 118
Gold (W) 72 5501 yards 72.1 130
Green (W) 72 4551 yards 66.8 116
Green (W) 72 4551 yards 62.8 102
Scorecard for San Vincente
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 71.8/132 540 168 342 506 420 346 391 207 387 3307 391 519 152 377 366 183 375 539 424 3326 6633
White M: 69.3/116 W: 69.9/129 516 156 320 486 390 329 372 188 375 3132 351 496 130 358 345 166 341 521 388 3096 6228
Red W: 72.8/128 434 137 305 447 313 293 341 141 325 2736 328 469 111 335 303 149 292 457 363 2807 5543
Handicap 5 17 15 11 1 7 13 9 3 16 2 18 8 12 14 10 6 4
Par 5 3 4 5 4 4 4 3 4 36 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 5 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 4 18 14 2 12 8 10 16 6 15 1 17 7 9 13 11 3 5

Course Details

Year Built 1971
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round. Weather permitting
Architect Ted Robinson, Sr.

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "San Vicente Golf School"
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

3.8
319

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 35
Patio Dining 18
Dinner 17
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 44
Water Hazards 43
Forced Carries 31
This course/club is great for:
Locals 44
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 35
Seniors 32
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 49
At a Resort 28
In the 'Burbs 16

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Bautiful course

San Vicente is a fantastic golf course. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The course blends in with the surrounding oak trees and creek bed very well. Lots of beautiful birds around, Including a dozen wild Turkeys that greeted us at the 16th green. The greens definitely need some love and it sounds like they are completely re-doing the greens this Summer. Looking forward to that. Would definitely recommend.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Problematic Greens

Greens have a disease and large patches of green are dirt. impossible to take putting seriously as ball bounces of target due to holes in the green due to disease

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from San Vicente Resort on 01/15/2019:
Hello, thank you for the taking the time to review our course. We appreciate your feedback on the conditions of the greens. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to earn your business again.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 01/07/2019:
Hello u000007921121, thank you for the four-star rating. We are glad you had a great golf experience at San Vicente Golf Course. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course needs work

Price from golf now was good but course fairways & greens pretty shabby

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from San Vicente Resort on 01/02/2019:
Hello Bob7781510, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We are glad you enjoyed our affordable rates and we appreciate your feedback on the course conditions. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Cold weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from San Vicente Resort on 12/03/2018:
Hello msorchy1, thank you for the four-star rating. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and the pace of play. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from San Vicente Resort on 11/28/2018:
Hello Robin60, thank you for taking the time to rate our course. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and we appreciate your rating on the course conditions. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens

I’ve played this course many times, and have always been impressed with the course conditions especially the greens.This year has been especially humid and many local courses have had issues with their greens.

I will not let this one bad experience stop me from playing this course again.

The greens will recover, and when they re-build the greens next year this will be one of the best courses to play in the region.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from San Vicente Resort on 10/18/2018:
Thank you for your review, and we are working on our putting surfaces. We had a very hot and humid Summer which resulted in turf loss due to fungal activity and other highly challenging conditions. Work by our Golf Course Maintenance team has greens in full recovery mode, and the cooler weather is allowing for conditions to improve.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Course good, greens terrible

Have played San V a handful of times, I have to drive a long way to get there but it's a course I like so it's worth it, until today. Greens were in terrible shape, lots of dirt patches and very bumpy, certainly not a true roll. Played here a few weeks back and they were no where near this bad so I don't know what happened, but until they're fixed it's not a course I'll be back to in a hurry. Tee boxes and fairways were fine so it can't just be lack of water.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for your review, and we are working on our putting surfaces. We had a very hot and humid Summer which resulted in turf loss due to fungal activity and other highly challenging conditions. Work by our Golf Course Maintenance team has greens in full recovery mode, and the cooler weather is allowing for conditions to improve.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

They should disclose...

Just like the other reviews the greens pretty much unplayable. Myself and 3 friends played golf at San Vicente Golf Resort yesterday and it was TERRIBLE. We have played there a few times before and the course was always in great shape, tee to green. But yesterday when we played the greens were in TERRIBLE shape, LOTS of bare sections, not spots but sections of the green, they are blaming it on a fungus. We will go back once they get their greens fixed, there are others places to play in San Diego until they get this problem fixed.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 10/11/2018:
Hello SoCalWaldo, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We appreciate your feedback on the conditions of our greens and we escalated it to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to earn your business again.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

good course but terrible green condition

I played this golf course first time. The course layout was good but the green condition was terrible. We gave up the putting in almost course.

I am not recommend this course this time.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 10/09/2018:
Hello SSOON, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We appreciate your feedback on the conditions of our greens and we escalated it to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to earn your business again.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Wait for a while!

San Vicente is one of my favorite courses in the county. I was excited to have two friends come along to play it for the first time. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT! The greens are awful. Not truly playable. The GolfNow listing should DEFINITELY forewarn prospective players that the greens are a big problem. Looks like they got a fungus. But the "good parts" of the green are horribly long and bumpy. Wish we'd played elsewhere.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 10/08/2018:
Hello Bruce1622, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We appreciate your feedback on the conditions of our greens, we escalated it to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to earn your business again.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens where terrible

The greens where so bad half dirt and half shag carpet and a temp green. No advisory on golf now about conditions pretty disappointing

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 10/02/2018:
Hello Grc1, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We appreciate your feedback on the conditions of the greens. We escalated your feedback to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting San Vicente Golf Course and we value your feedback.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

San-V

Always a great course. The greens are burned very badly due to the extremely hot summer weather. We just play 2 putts each hole. Fairways, bunkers and tee boxes are good. Many courses arround San Diego have burned greens this summer so we accept that here. Really a fun course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from San Vicente Resort on 09/26/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course and we appreciate your feedback on the conditions of our greens. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bad greens

Fair fairways, very bad greens. Most if not all have 80 percent dead grass.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 09/13/2018:
Hello Teamms, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We appreciate your feedback on the conditions of our greens, we escalated your feedback to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 09/04/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and we appreciate your feedback on the conditions of our greens. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to earn your business again.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Southard

course has great layout, fairway are in good shape, greens a little bumpy and a little brown. Nice scenery.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from San Vicente Resort on 08/31/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course and course conditions. We also appreciate your feedback on our greens. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Fun course

Great layout, in great shape despite the heat. Required some shot making to keep it on the short stuff, and the elevation changes make you think hard about club selection. Both fairways and greens still looking good.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 08/07/2018:
Hello Swindon, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and playing conditions. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from San Vicente Resort on 07/11/2018:
Hello Pablo7216916, thank you for the five-star rating. We are glad you had an excellent golf experience at San Vicente Golf Course. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from San Vicente Resort on 08/01/2018:
Hello Pablo7216916, thank you for the five-star rating. We are glad you had an excellent golf experience at San Vicente Golf Course. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great greens

The course was in good condition and had great greens. The only thing that was missing was a beverage cart on the course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from San Vicente Resort on 07/05/2018:
Hello jamesbrown9099, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and we appreciate your feedback on the beverage cart. Thank you for playing San Vicente Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon!
Nearby Courses
Lakeside, California
2.4902
5
Ramona, California
4.4823705882
547
Lakeside, California
3.6666666667
3
Poway, California
4.6166235294
275
Escondido, California
3.5075705882
590
San Diego, California
4.1216941176
111
San Diego, California
4.1216941176
111
San Diego, California
4.1216941176
111
Escondido, California
3.6152588235
560
San Diego, California
4.0692117647
136
San Diego, California
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE