Whittier Narrows Golf Course - River/Pine

3.4335000000 3.4 stars from 5 (125)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6837 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 71.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $12.00 - $15.00
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6837 yards 71.6 116
White 72 6668 yards 70.9 115
Gold 72 6478 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 774 6117 yards 74.1 117

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 125 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
51
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
20
1 stars:
12

recommend this course

88 out of 123 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city   Great for locals walkers beginners   Challenges include bunkers plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u3384036's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Gina2854489's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Enough already"


RickMendez's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a solid course.. but way to crowded, took 3 hours to play the front nine. Too many people in groups and extremely slow pace of play. Didnt see one Marshal either or Cart lady. Will think twice before I play again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course



leeeungho's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000005722419's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



boysgolf's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Construction going on and course condition was bad"


ParkPro79's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I been playing this course for several times but i felt the condition of the course was very poor and the construction going on on the starter and bathroom area affected it even more.

I used to hold small tournaments here but will reconsider since I dont know when the construction is going to end.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



u201406481's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"5-Somes"


bmillardb's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was moved to a tee time 10 mins from my purchased tee time, there were all 5-some groups teeing off, started at 143pm at 655pm it was horrible!! Not to mention everyone who plays there feels they should play from the blue tees, most of the groups I watched tee off should be playing from the red tees.. something needs to get done about this, I see this at every course. I am a 7+ handi, I out drive most of the people I play with from about 40+ yards, I only hit about 270 most of the people i play with only hit about 220 if they are lucky.... so frustrating


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Serious Potential"


pete2742223's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Perfect weather in between bad days, might explain the appearance of so many. A little confusing at the start because of the layout and lack of signage. The play moved very good, exceptional for what I expected. Appears some renovations are under way. This course has some real potential if the county puts some money into it. The greens are tiny, hard and fast so short game practice is a given


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u0000012965's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice day of Golf"


bmillardb's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee off at 1020 and finished in about 4 hours 15 minutes and that was behind a mens club tournament. Greens were rolling really nice and most of the course was in decent shape. Tee boxes could use some TLC and the cart was running out of juice but made it back to the barn.. Thank you GN for another easy booking


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Lammou's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000003620543's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"We should get a refund"


Kimm2214's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our teetime was 11:56am, by the time we teed off was 12:45pm, we got to play 14 holes. Their reason for delay was that they had a tournament that morning. What is that mean? I am sure that tournament was scheduled weeks ago not added that day. If teetimes are going to be 50 minutes behind because of the tournaments then they shouldn't sell teetimes after tournaments.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Dead fairways"


u111707834's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very poor course, no green grass in the fairway very dry and hard ball rolls 50 to 75 yards. I would not recommend this course or play this course again .


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Pace of play"


indylynn8's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was extremely slow. There needs to be a Marshall pushing groups to keep up and making sure groups are not hitting 2 and 3 balls, also giving a golf lesson. The players need to play from the appropriate tee boxes. You need to play “ready golf”.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"This course has seen better days"


number21's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Used to be the fairway grass was a lot more greener and plentiful...not so much anymore


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Would not recommend to a friend!"


floresfb's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is not a course I will return to. The greens were ok, but the fairways were hard pan in many areas, very neglected!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course



u000005481749's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



jonghan69's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed