Carlton Oaks Lodge & Country Club

3.6468117647 3.6 stars from 5 (386)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7228 yards
  • Slope: 146
  • Rating: 75.2
  • Layout

  • 9200 Inwood Dr, Santee, California 92071, San Diego County
  • (619) 448-8500, 1 (800) 831-6757
  • (619) 596-0604
  • www.carltonoaksgolf.com

Year built: 1958
Architect(s): William W. Mast (1958), Perry Dye (1989)
Type: Resort
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7228 yards 75.2 146
Blue 72 6700 yards 72.5 139
Regular (W) 72 6140 yards 76.3 143
White 72 6101 yards 69.8 132
Yellow 72 5684 yards 67.9 125
Yellow (W) 72 5684 yards 73.8 138
Red (W) 72 5039 yards 70.0 125

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 386 Reviews
5 stars:
51
4 stars:
156
3 stars:
94
2 stars:
55
1 stars:
30

recommend this course

282 out of 380 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals walkers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks watching the game patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000005007155's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"good layout, ok condition"


harddraw's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the layout is good, not overly long, but with mature trees and water in play. the wind can be strong in the afternoon and makes a good test even more so. the condition is ok. with a little more care to the bunkers, it would of gotten a higher rating. also, with a course this busy, a refreshment cart on the course would pay for it self rather quickly. there was none.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/22/2018:

Thank you for review! We are so glad you enjoyed the course layout and mature foliage around the course. We appreciate you coming out to see us!


u853874860's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/22/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars.Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.<br/>

"Pace of play was excellent"


batray's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Paceof play was excellent because the course was not crowded. You run into a bunch of mud/wet spots in the fairways. The bunkers are concrete and the greens are a little rough.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/22/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars.we will take a closer look into any course maintenance issues and address the situation. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.<br/>


u871011138's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/16/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review! Please book your next online round with us again soon.

"Challenging"


uENJW2504EN's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really like the layout and bunker locations. The staff was great and made our day very enjoyable. I see why this course has so many fans.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/16/2018:

Thank you for the excellent review, we appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and course layout. Please come back and see us again this weekend!


Vanny8266120's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/16/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars.Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"Course that will be hopefully better"


Tonynst's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun lay-out and challenging. It is worth playing at this course. However the fairway and green condition was much better when I played here in Nov 2017. The fair way has become dry and hard with bare spots.

It looks that there has not been enough water or maintenance for grass on the fairway since then. It was chilly by the wind when I was driving the golf cart without the front hood, which can block it. I hopefully think that I can play again in the better and beautiful condition at Carlton Oaks.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/16/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. The course is currently in its winter dormant season. We apologize if mother nature did not cooperate on this particular day, thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.<br/>

"Excellent golf experience"


Wanttogolfmore's avatar
Age:  45-54

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Carlton Oaks is a fun, challenging and affordable golf course. The course conditions have improved greatly over the past couple years. The greens are in great shape!

The staff are friendly and helpful. The Oaks Bar and Grill has good food and has regular daily specials. The Prime Rib on Wednesday’s is very good and only $18.95.

They have a nice clean hotel on site as well as banquet and wedding facilities.

Highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/16/2018:

Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! We appreciate the feedback and are so glad you enjoyed our Food and Beverage options. Please come back and see us again soon.


mjw572009's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/09/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars.Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"The course has great features with these tight lies deep bunkers"


CENTURYUGOLF's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is located in Santee convenient to the city it's worth the drive it's great for advanced golfers people who like to walk the course some of the challenges include the bunkers water hazards the undulating greens. The clubhouse has good food and a nice bar with TVs all around for watching the games and the patio outside is very large overlooking the golf course the atmosphere is very nice. Had a great round of golf and will be back soon to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/09/2018:

Thank you for the excellent review. We appreciate you taking the long drive to come see us. The clubhouse has a great selection of food, so glad you were able to try everything. Please come back and see us again this weekend!

"Nice course, Pete Dye design"


bonco's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Needs a little more water on it. Overall a great track!


Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/09/2018:

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, please come back and see us again soon.

"A Fivesome in Front of Us"


bassmanleon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was a little dry, but OK. The big problem was the course let a FIvesome play ahead of our Foursome, which made the front nine excruciatingly slow. We spoke with a marshall, sho did nothing, so we jumped them at the turn and then replayed hole 10 after 18.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/02/2018:

Thank you for the honest review. The greens and fairways are currently dormant so the course does turn brown during the winter. We appreciate the feedback regarding the fivesome, we will take a closer look into this situation to see if there is anything that can be done. Thank you for coming out and hope you will give us another try come spring.


calbrady's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 02/02/2018:

Thank you for the honest review. The grass on the course in the winter does turn dormant with the cooler days. With the greens and fairways being dormant the course does turn brown, but they are certainly not dead. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will give us another try come spring.

"Good once in awhile."


Streammountain's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you don't hit a good shot you are always in bad trouble. Fairways are hard and very little turf so it's easy to hit a poor shot. Get's tiresome after a while.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 01/30/2018:

Thank you for your honest review. The course is currently in its winter transition so the course is running hard and fast. As soon as spring rolls around the conditions will become much easier. We appreciate you giving us a try and hope to see you again in the near future.

"Tough Course"


Dennis1954's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everywhere you look there is some kind of obstacle. One of the toughest courses I’ve played and my score represented it. Still had a fun time just a bad day of golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 01/30/2018:

Thank you so much for coming out, we are sorry you did not score well on this particular day. The course can be extremely challenging especially when you do not have your A game. Thank you for coming out and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Parris's avatar
Age:  55-64

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 01/24/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, please book your next round with us again soon!

"Slow, slow, slower"


Statmaster's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Getting worse every time I play here. First of all, I understand that it was a holiday. Having said that, teeing off at 10:00 am and not finishing until after 3:00 pm is ridiculous.

I was especially frustrated when we saw 5-somes on the course AND a 6-some behind us. UNBELIEVABLE!!

Course is in OK shape, but not worth the $40, especially with the slow play (and not just this round) recently.

Won't be back for quite a while.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 01/18/2018:

Thank you for your honest review, we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. The course was extremely busy due to practice rounds for the PGA Tour Qualifier. Practice rounds for a big event like this tend to slow up play so we appreciate your patience. The day you played was also a Holiday, and many courses were charging Holiday Rates. The $40 rate you paid was actually 20% off our normal rate. As we continue to work with the team on arranging better communication with our Marshall's to keep pace of play up to speed we hope that you will give us another try in the near future. If you would like to discuss the issue further, please email me directly at cory@carltonoaksgolf.com, We appreciate you coming out and hope to see you again soon.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 01/18/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate you coming out to see us!


jwilbanks's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Carlton Oaks Golf Club on 01/10/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review! We appreciate you coming out to see us and hope you will give us another try in the near future.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed