Grey Rock Golf Club

3.9428823529 3.9 stars from 5 (266)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6909 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 74.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Grey Rock Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6909 yards 74.6 141
Blue 72 6378 yards 71.9 133
White 72 5732 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5215 yards 67.2 123

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 266 Reviews
5 stars:
71
4 stars:
118
3 stars:
45
2 stars:
19
1 stars:
13

recommend this course

216 out of 265 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Jbarrett09's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 07/11/2018:

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon.


Murrayman's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 07/12/2018:

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.

"Much improve and had a better experience"


bocchun's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a bad experience a few months ago.. and gave it another try after my son play a STPGA event there. This time around, the course is in much better shape.. . especially the greens. The marshals were every friendly and helpful. Glad I gave it another try.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 07/12/2018:

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We're so glad that you enjoyed your tee time. Please book another round with us soon.

"Best not play when staff joins in"


u000003789512's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was terrible. Apparently if you play in the afternoon their staff just decides to jump in in front of you. Delay delay delay. And of course they thought they could hit every shot 300 yards. Not! Would not let faster players go ahead. Joke.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/29/2018:

Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We appreciate the feedback, and we have shared it with the appropriate staff. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


iamtee2green's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pleasantly suprised. I’ve played all around this course until iust recently. It is on the list now, for sure.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/22/2018:

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We're glad you enjoyed the course, and we hope you join us for another round soon.

"Nice course"


u000003497892's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed this course. Wasn't too hard and the greens were in excellent shape


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/15/2018:

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We glad that you enjoyed the course conditions, and we hope you will book another round with us soon.

"Nice course"


jdrew36's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. Beautiful layout and very fair for all abilities.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/15/2018:

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we're are glad that you enjoyed the course conditions and layout. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Great Course, Fun Play"


u547358672's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love to play Grey Rock, the amenities are great, the staff is friendly and the course is challenging and well maintained! Will be back many times more in the future as time permits...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/29/2018:

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the challenge and the amenities. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Long drive but worth it."


jmz320's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved the course layout. Greens were nice but slow. Fairways had some dry spots near the edges by the rough. But over all a nice course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/05/2018:

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Not for Walkers"


512dfbowman's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
Previously played Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

Effective today walkers may NOT use a cart to shuttle the almost 1/2 mile to the first tee box from the driving range or pro shop. Players may not use a cart to shuttle from the 8th green to the 9th tee either. This new policy will slow play potentially add confusion as riders pass walkers in transit between the location above. I would think twice before trying to walk this course in the future


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/05/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


jdshin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 06/05/2018:

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.


u9250951's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 05/04/2018:

Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


frankhaby's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 04/30/2018:

Thank you for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon.


Gene4402214's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A really good course for the money! A very long course but not an extremely difficult! Definitely recommend for any skill level!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 04/24/2018:

Hello, Gene. We are glad you enjoyed the value of your round and had an excellent visit. We will let the team know their hard work is paying off.


tedever's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 04/24/2018:

We are glad to hear you find the course to be so special. We work hard to create an experience that is memorable and keeps golfers coming back. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

"course imformation"


dudb's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I think GR golf is poor at course imformation. the dthers are exellent.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 04/11/2018:

Hello. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your round. Please visit us again soon!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 03/14/2018:

We love to see golfers taking the time to review us. Thanks for the 4-star feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Terrible greens and staffs"


bocchun's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

I went there during a rainy cold day (40's). When arriving there were only about 10 cars in the parking lot. I checked in at the Pro shop and ask if the course is "wide open" and the staff said "no.. there are a handful of groups out there.." (that would be wide open in my opinion).. He did not give me any range ball's code as he said my tee time will be in 10mins and I won't have time to hit range ball.. I asked if there were others going off immediately after my tee time and if I could move my tee time for 10-15 mins? The staff seems annoyed and said "well.. let me check.. and he said, I'll move to to 20 mins later.. " When tee off.. there were nobody on the course.. I finished my round in 2 hours and only encountered 2 groups that let me played through. Anyway.. the green on this course are in horrible shape.. weeds growing everywhere that you can't even tell where the edge of the greens are.. there are patches of weeds growing in the middle of the green.. basically there is not a way to putt a straight line in most of the green. Some how they still think they can charge a premium $84 for weekend tee time!! This type of course (assuming the green is decent) should worth ~$40 weekend rate, just like Kizer. Very sad that the city of Austin spent the resident's money and keep this a "country club" course but decide not to maintain it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 03/10/2018:

Hello, Ray. Thank you for taking the time to review us. As we mentioned when you arrived, you booked a GolfNow HotDeal. These tee times are owned and managed by the GolfNow team. Our staff accommodated you by allowing you to move your tee time. This gave you the chance to use the range before your round. We are glad to hear the pace of play was to your liking. We had other groups playing just ahead of your time and thought it was important to not say the course was "wide open" in the event you caught up to them and had to wait on any holes. Our team prides itself on taking an honest and forthright approach to golf. We never want to mislead our visitors into thinking they will have a different experience than we expect. Your feedback about the conditions is important to us and will be escalated to the teams in charge. Your comments about the price are also valued. We partner with GolfNow and offer HotDeals to allow all of our golfers the opportunity to play more at the course. It is unfortunate to see you still rated our value 1 out of 5 even though you played for a reasonable sum. We will work to make improvements given your review and hope to see you again.


darcaya's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 03/10/2018:

We are glad you had a good time! Come back again soon!

"Just another COA cash cow"


Joe7956371's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Its such a shame that such a nice course just gets the life of it sucked out of it!! The greens rolled nice, but have been invaded by different types of grass, the course was so beat up with unmanaged entries on the holes off the paths, so many divots in the fairways not sand filled, (sand bottles on the carts were empty) the carts were so filthy, with bad brakes, broken windshields, just horrible. The two guys I got paired with were AWESOME. Really cool and fun guys. Too bad the course wasnt as cool as the company!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grey Rock Golf Club on 03/15/2018:

Hi, Joe. We are sorry to hear your round in February was not as you expected. We have been recovering from the large amounts of rain we saw during hurricane season and have returned the course back to our standard since. We encourage you to come back and enjoy another round with us. Ideally, this time you could enjoy more than just the company.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed