Kiskiack Golf Club

4.2990941176 4.3 stars from 5 (380)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6775 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Mark Houston Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 6775 yards 72.5 134
Back 72 6405 yards 70.8 131
Middle 72 5595 yards 67.1 123
Forward (W) 71 4902 yards 67.8 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 380 Reviews
5 stars:
160
4 stars:
179
3 stars:
28
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

363 out of 380 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for locals seniors wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great layout"


allen3531022's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed playing this beautiful course even on a cold winter day. Course was in great shape. Interesting holes


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 01/04/2018:

Thanks, Allen! We appreciate you teeing it up out here at Kiskiack Golf Club even in the colder weather. Come back again soon. Let's hope for some warmer weather ASAP!

"Beautiful Course"


jrobigolf's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiskiack is a very visually appealing course and quite challenging as well. It was pretty busy for a Thursday and our round took 4:45. Greens were still healing from aeration but still putted quite well. Look forward to the next time we can play here.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and 4-stars. We hope you had a great first round with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back to Kiskiack Golf Club again soon!

"SLOW play"


Dandusko's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5 and a quarter hours to play - ridiculous! Play was horribly slow.

For the most part - course was in good shape considering all the rain we have had.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



u391311629's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It took 6 hours plus to play 18 holes in above 90 degree heat. The course is beautiful but the length of time required to play this course is ridiculous. For this reason I will not recommend this course nor will I play it again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 06/06/2018:

On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and are sorry to hear your first round with us was affected by a slow pace of play. As this has been a previous concern for us, we are very excited to say that we are getting ready to start our ranger program to help resolve this issue on the course moving forward. We hope you were still able to enjoy your day with us, and that this improvement will bring you back to the course again soon as we look forward to providing you with an even better golf experience.

"Terrific break from studying history"


BWSmith49's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were in the Colonial Willuamsburg area for a much needed vacation. There is a lot of information to absorb at the museums and historical sights. However, the brain needs a break from the intense history lesson from time to time. We found a great course nearby and booked on Golf Now. It was a terrific choice. We both enjoyed our time there. The conditions were great. The layout was fun and challenging. The people were very friendly. By the way, thanks Kenny (USMC) for your service. I wish that I was playing there again tomorrow.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



richview506's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was very nice they have had a lot of rain in the area and it was cart path only ,I expected that other than thar and the sand traps were all washed away it was a nice round


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/24/2018:

Hi Rich, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 4-stars. We appreciate your understanding regarding some of the recent weather conditions but are glad to hear you were still able to enjoy the day with us at Kiskiack Golf Club. We hope to have you back for an even better round soon!

"Course was wet"


uCXDO1834CX's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Over all a pleasant experience...... players where very curtious


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Needs A lot of Work"


Josh3883273's avatar
Age:  45-54

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

I played the course on May 18th. The course was very wet due to all the rain. The course handled the water well but the course was in terrible shape -- having nothing to do with the rain.

Pretty much every green collar had not grown in. Looks like had some sort of disease and the colors were either sand or loose sod. Some of the fairways were not in good shape either.

I played Kiskiack several years ago and it was tremendous. The layout is great. But, this time, it was in bad shape.

It was part of a golf trip. We had a group of 15. Had we been warned, we would not have played there -- maybe that is why they didn't warn us.

However, there was no offer of a discount or offer to buy a round of beers for the poor condition of the course. We were just told to stay off the collars prior to the round -- without realizing how bad of shape the course was in.

Bad winters happen, I get it. But, to not warn you prior and to still charge full price is the aggravating part and the reason why I won't go back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"NO DISCLOSURE OF REPAIRS"


elpaso21's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the layout and the staff. The price is not right for the number one fact the website does not disclose the current condition of the course as of MAY 18 2018.

Once I checked in, the Pro Shop disclosed that many collars around the greens were under repair. And there was still a handful of greens that still needed the re-sod patches to be installed. As a courtesy to us golfers, the website/tee time page should have an ADVISORY stating this. IF NOT, THEN AT LEAST PROVIDE AN ON-SITE DISCOUNT FOR THE SURPRISE @ check-in as a gesture of goodwill . For the rate they are charging, I would not play right now. Okay, with that said, I liked the layout very much. On account the course was soaked from 3 straight days of monsoon type rain, I did not play from the tips and lost a few golf balls in sand traps that were now brown muddy lakes. I completely understand draining the traps was not the upmost priority when mother nature makes things difficult. If I ever play here again, i will be sure to call about repair conditions.

Did score at 82 with 3 mulligans and one do over putt and 3 judgement calls with sand traps as i did not have time to hit the driving range before hand. My scorecard was a keeper with a few *** next to a couple of holes early on in the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, however we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience.

"ok shape"


Daniel3665506's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course in ok shape, a lot of bare dirt and sod around greens, it kills your shot, cannot play out of it, edge is like a speed bump and will eject putt or chip, should of gotten discount to play, will not be back until fixed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

Daniel, on behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience. We hope to welcome you back for a better round soon.

"One of my favorites in Williamsburg"


u000002262278's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

As a local, I've played all of the local public courses, and we keep going back to Kiskiack. It's challenging enough without beating you up too much. The layout mixes things up, and the conditions are consistently terrific.

The new upgrades to the outdoor patio make it a top pick for local outings, and you can always find some interesting local brews on tap at the bar.

The driving range is one of the best in the area.

Top it off with a friendly staff, and you just can't go wrong at Kiskiack.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate your kind review, recommendation, and 5-stars! Your feedback is truly valued by us as we are committed to providing our customers with a valuable customer experience. Thank you for choosing us, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another round soon!

"old favorite"


eman1148's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

we play this course several times a year ,good value ,,greens are usually very good, right now they are repairing a lot of winter damage , resoding the edge of the greens and plugging dead spots in the fairways. poanna is all over the greens but they putt just fine. place should be primo the first part of June.great place to play to boost your morale if you are playing bad..pace of play was very slow for a tuesday morning 5 plus hours but that is not the usual norm. usally can play in 31/2 to 4 hours,


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/17/2018:

On behalf of our staff, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as well as the 4-stars. Your comments will be shared and we appreciate your patience and understanding regarding some of our course maintenance as we prepare for a great golf season ahead. We can't wait to have you back at Kiskiack Golf Club again soon!

"Could be great"


u065544560's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

My only gripe about this course is course conditions, espeically the sand traps. They are @#$& at best. Lack of sand, poor drainage, collapsing walls and shortage of rakes. If you end up in one, better to remove. Pace of play can be turttle pace when busy. I’left on two occacions. I’ve Never seen a course marshall helping with speed of play. Pro shop staff always helpful, but seem limited in what their authorized to enforce. Lots of golf to choose from here, very competitive for players. Im going to play elsewhere until I hear of improvments.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. All of your comments will be shared with our staff but in the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience.

""A Gem to Be Discovered""


donaldganderson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiskiack Golf Course is a beautiful course near Williamsburg VA. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The course is fair but challenging, especially to a "flat-lander" like me. The greens were superb. I didn't test the sand.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/16/2018:

Hi Donald, we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a kind review, as well as the 4-stars. We hope you had a great first experience with us at Kiskaick Golf Club, and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

"Needs maintenance"


maugsdorfer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This could be a very good course, except that a) the greens need to be more consistent (too many weed grasses) and b) the areas around the greens need repair (many of them were bare dirt). Staff is very welcoming


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience. We hope to welcome you back for a better round soon.<br/>


u000007827399's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, play this course every time when visiting Williamsburg


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/23/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review! On behalf of our staff, we truly appreciate your dedication to playing at Kiskiack Golf Club during your visits to the area. We're glad we can provide you with a great golf experience, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

"Not up to par"


pcm3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course must have suffered winter damage. A lot of bad areas which are usually not there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience. We hope to have you back for an improved round soon! <br/>

"Needs work."


lluessen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was not in good shape. Bermuda still dormant on fairways. Greens looked like something invasive was growing. Not enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 3-star review. On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience. We hope to have you back for a much better round soon!<br/>

"Course had a lot if winter wear"


u000005710035's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Many courses is this ares are showing wear from a rough winter. A lot of bare fairways and not so great greens. 2 months will mske a big difference.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 3-star review. On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your recent experience did not meet our usual expectations. Due to the harsh winter this year, like many courses in the area, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that we are working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience. We hope to have you back for a much better round soon!<br/>

"Unfit to play"


u00000576841's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked this round on GN hot deal for $37. I would rather have played elsewhere at full pop. This track was in such poor condition it was I cart path only. They used the term "so it would heal quicker". The starter tried to rush us off the driving range which really bothered us. We had just driven 11 hours from Canada and this was our first round and we just dropped $30 in the club house on lunch and paid for range balls and he wants us to tee off before our tee time. Then, when we collect at the starters house a 'member' sitting on the deck whistles at us like dogs to get out of the way of some opposing carts just coming off the course. Miserable start to say the least to an otherwise fantastic vacay in Williamsburg. The course was I'd say 60% either winter kill or dried out. Great layout - poor presentation.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

On behalf of our staff at Kiskiack Golf Club, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we apologize if your first experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be shared appropriately and we do apologize for any poor customer experience. Due to the harsh winter this year, we have experienced more winter kill than usual and are still in the process of recovering. However, please know that our staff has been working diligently and anticipate course conditions to be back to our normal standards in the coming weeks, but we appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to our Pro Shop for day-to-day conditions or to address any further concerns as we are committed to providing you with a valuable golf experience. We hope we can welcome you back for a much better visit soon. <br/>

"Golfing day"


Beauzon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awsome. Layout, staff, pace. Good pro shop , good deals.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Kiskiack Golf Club on 04/30/2018:

We appreciate the 4-stars and great review! Thanks for leaving us with your feedback as we will be sure to share it with our staff. Visit Kiskiack Golf Club again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed