South at Boulders Golf Club & Resort

4.5624176471 4.6 stars from 5 (446)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6726 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 71.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required, no denim
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6726 yards 71.9 140
White 71 6246 yards 70.0 134
Cooper 71 5642 yards 67.8 119
Gold 71 5141 yards 71.1 125
Red (W) 71 4716 yards 68.5 117

The Boulders Golf Club & Resort complex features two outstanding 18-hole courses. Both courses are very well maintained, and the scenery is incredible. Boulder's South Course is exactly the type of desert course people come to the Phoenix-Scottsdale resort corridor to play. A round of golf on the South kicks off on the par-4 first hole, which measures 421 yards from the blue tees, which is quickly followed by a short par 3, measuring 150 yards from the blue tees. Things get long on the fifth hole, a 545-yard par 5, which is just a warm-up for the 11th hole, a par 5 that measures 601 yards from the blue tees. It doesn't get much easier to finish: The 18th is a par 5 that measures 513 yards from the blue tees.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 446 Reviews
5 stars:
305
4 stars:
104
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

413 out of 446 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great desert course"


u955534425's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a beautiful course and nice challenges. Rocks can either be a hindrance or a blessing, as in the case of my pinball luck on the first hole that landed me a bogey with a one putt :-).

Downsides were that this is a private resident course open to the public and the rangers were riding us for the first 9 even though we had 4 players and were close behind the group in front of us. They put 2somes and 3somes behind us who were riding us. Finally split us up but not effective because then we just ended up on top of the 4some in front of us. Very annoying and stressful for us vacationers who wanted to just relax and enjoy the $100 price tag. Also not enough water stations on the south course for it being a desert course. All in all would still play it again if the price was right.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course



jimgriffeth's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



weiser95's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive to Carefree Arizona"


u000005869276's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition and the views from every hole are scenic and awesome. For a desert course the preservation and variation of the cacti are special. For those of us who remember the Flintstones it feels like you’re playing in Bedrock which is a good thing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



nlentz100's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful spot and course"


QueensTom's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Boulders is well-worth a visit. Beautiful surroundings, and a well-manicured course, with

carry off tees demanded. Pace of play (4:30) pretty good, and a good level of marshal attention to pace.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hit'em Straight"


RandyBMC's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Awesome course to play, but make sure your game in on. If it isn't, take extra golf balls because the desert will swallow them up. Course is in great shape. Always know where the valley is, as the greens will slope down to it. Windy day, but fun and challenging also.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"The Boulders"


u000003207581's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First-rate challenging golf experience! Highly recommended for 12 handicap or better players.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Too frequent tee times"


kedwards457's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is always slow. I have played 4 times and same experience. Wait on every tee box...no rythm. Ranger says everything moving well. I disagree.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Enjoyable Round"


u270886981's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy the layout of both The Boulders courses. Fairways were good. Greens were not up to their regular standards. Only reasonable when significantly discounted.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Boulders North"


walterzjr's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Boulders has a friendly staff including the starter, rangers, and beverage cart personnel. The driving range, short game area and practice green were near the first tee.

The yardage map was useful in determining club selection and layups. Be sure to get one at the starters shack as the carts do not have GPS.

Our foursome liked the layout with the somewhat wide fairways and challenging green complexes. I thought the greens were a little slower than I expected and there were some patchy areas.

There were ice and water stations throughout the course, The south 18 does not come back to the clubhouse after nine but the north course does after the front nine.The north course seemed to be more manageable as far as distance for women compared to some others. It nice to play the Boulders when staying in the Cave Creek/Carefree area since it is so convenient. I like both courses and will play here again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


jbevans's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Scenic course and the condition of the course from tee to green was perfect. A treat to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Thank you!"


u000005967916's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a wonderful day. We have been wanting to play at The Boulders for a long time. We weren’t dissapointed. Great course. Beautiful views and wonderful conditions. We will be back again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course a definite must play"


john6369653's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course wastop if the line. We loved it was a little cold and still enjoyed our round. A definite must play course especially if you get a hot deal like we did for $105. Highly recommend


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Course conditions a little rough"


Kathleen9684693's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways had clumps of wet grass everywhere, making play messy. Greens were sorely used - patches created rough surface. Despite rainy weather, course was being watered (?!) making fairway play very squishy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Disappointing details for amount charged"


rdp5536's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was challenging but in very good shape, problem was other details. Had to wait for space to hit balls to warm up on the range. Do not return to clubhouse on the South course, saw the cart girl stationary by the 9th hole but not again until the 15th hole. Front tire on the cart was bald. Parking break on the cart did not lock well and had to be stepped on many times to lock. Sprinkler heads on the par 5 were not marked which made determining lay-up distances difficult. Did not expect any of these cases when playing a course and paying this rate. Shared concerns with staff at clubhouse after round but no follow up from management.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



u000002834439's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u083705829's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Clearly a private course with it ‘s condition and service. Found that members alternate daily between the two courses."


u000002605141's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played as a 2 some and still the pace of play was good.

Very enjoyable golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed